Vija Celmins, Starfield, 2010, mezzotint. Copyright the artist , Cortesy Matthew Marks Gallery

About the VS American Foundation

The Vienna Secession incorporated the Vienna Secession American Foundation, Inc. in reaffirmation of the institution’s long-standing ties to the United States of America. The Vienna Secession American Foundation is exempt from federal income tax under IRC Section 501 (c) (3) and its donors in the United States may deduct their contributions pursuant to IRC Section 170.

The Vienna Secession has consistently worked to introduce American contemporary and modern art to the Austrian public. Examples include exhibitions of U.S. artists Jasper Johns, Sol LeWitt (1988), Brice Marden (1992), Mike Kelley and Paul McCarthy (1998), Mary Heilmann (2003), Robert Irwin (2013), Laura Owens (2015), Vija Celmins (2015), Vincent Fecteau (2016) and Alex da Corte and Rebecca Quaytman (upcoming 2017). Thus, the Vienna Secession has ensured the recognition and timely reception of American art in Central Europe, to the benefit of U.S. artists, U.S. art galleries and U.S. collectors.

The Vienna Secession American Foundation enables the institution’s extensive network in the U.S. to contribute financially to the continued excellence of the Vienna Secession’s art program, in particular with respect to the continued dissemination of significant American contemporary art, and furthermore to offer substantial support for the maintenance of the iconic art nouveau building.

Board of Directors: Herwig Kempinger (Secession President)
Donna Eacho, Stephen Harnik, Richard Grubman, Laurence Yansouni

Vija Celmins, Starfield, 2010, Mezzotinto, Courtesy: die Künstlerin und Matthew Marks Gallery

Über die VS American Foundation

Die Wiener Secession hat die Vienna Secession American Foundation, Inc. gegründet, um ihre seit langem bestehenden Verbindungen zu den Vereinigten Staaten von Amerika auf eine neue Grundlage zu stellen. Die Vienna Secession American Foundation ist gemäß IRC Section 501 (c) (3) von der Einkommenbesteuerung auf Bundesebene ausgenommen; Spender in den Vereinigten Staaten können ihre Beiträge gemäß IRC Section 170 steuerlich geltend machen.

Die Wiener Secession bemüht sich seit langem, der österreichischen Öffentlichkeit regelmäßig zeitgenössische und moderne Kunst aus Amerika vorzustellen, etwa mit Ausstellungen der amerikanischen Künstler Jasper Johns, Sol LeWitt (1988), Brice Marden (1992), Mike Kelley und Paul McCarthy (1998), Mary Heilmann (2003), Robert Irwin (2013), Laura Owens (2015), Vija Celmins (2015), Vincent Fecteau (2016), Alex da Corte und Rebecca Quaytman (geplant, 2017). Die Secession verhilft so amerikanischer Kunst zu frühzeitiger Bekanntheit und Anerkennung in Mitteleuropa, wovon amerikanische Künstler, Galerien und Sammler profitieren.

Die Vienna Secession American Foundation ermöglicht es dem ausgedehnten Netzwerk, das die Institution in den USA aufgebaut hat, auch in Zukunft das hochkarätige Ausstellungsprogramm der Wiener Secession und insbesondere die Verbreitung wichtiger amerikanischer Kunst finanziell zu unterstützen sowie einen entscheidenden Beitrag zur Erhaltung des ikonischen Jugendstilgebäudes zu leisten.

Vorstand: Herwig Kempinger (Präsident der Secession)
Donna Eacho, Stephen Harnik, Richard Grubman, Laurence Yansouni