Vija Celmins, installation view, Secession 2015, Photo: Stephan Wyckoff

Vija Celmins

November 20, 2015 – January 31, 2016

Vija Celmins has been known since the 1970s for memorable subjects—seas, deserts, nocturnal skies, spider webs—she renders in a variety of media. Celmins’s retrospective at the Secession is her first solo exhibition in Austria, for which she has selected over seventy works of graphic art from five decades; it surveys this strand of her oeuvre from work she created as a student in the early 1960s to several recent editions that have never been on public display.

Celmins uses images from photographs and found printed matter, stripping the sources of their original contexts and reassembling them in a new medium. The repetitive interpretation of a small number of motifs shifts attention from the image to the material for a probing examination of its specific qualities and effects. Printmaking thus occupies a central position among the many media Celmins works with, on a par with drawing, painting, and sculpture.

The prints, for which Vija Celmins scratches copper plates, incises wood surfaces, and draws on stones, illustrate her abiding interest in the various processes and making things by hand. Her exploration of traditional printmaking techniques and their potential is sustained by her outstanding skills. In the 1970s, she started with lithography, a planographic process that a strong affinity to drawing; starting in the early 1980s, she focused on intaglio processes: etching, mezzotint, and woodcutting. The most prolific genre in her printed oeuvre is the mezzotint, for which white areas are scraped out of the printing plate—the deeper the brighter—to produce a wide range of velvety halftones: an ideal technique for Celmins that allows her to translate her black-and-white photographic sources into subtly nuanced shades of gray.

more

Vija Celmins was born in Riga (Latvia) in 1938. At the end of World War II, her family fled the country, first to Germany and then to the United States. Celmins lived and worked in Los Angeles from 1962 to 1981 before moving to New York.

Vija Celmins, Ausstellungsansicht, Secession 2015, Foto: Stephan Wyckoff

Vija Celmins

20. November 2015 – 31. Januar 2016

Vija Celmins ist seit den 1970er-Jahren für ihre eingängigen Sujets – Meere, Wüsten, Nachthimmel und Spinnennetze –, die sie in diversen Medien umsetzt, bekannt. In ihrer ersten Einzelausstellung in Österreich zeigt die Künstlerin über 70 Arbeiten aus ihrem druckgrafischen Oeuvre. Die von Vija Celmins selbst zusammengestellte Retrospektive in der Secession umfasst fünf Jahrzehnte ihres Schaffens: von Radierungen aus ihrer Studienzeit in den frühen 1960er-Jahren hin zu einer Reihe neuer, bislang nicht gezeigter Editionen.

Vija Celmins’ Motive basieren auf Fotografien und gefundenen Drucksachen: Sie isoliert diese Vorlagen von ihrem Ursprungskontext und führt sie in einem neuen Medium wieder zusammen. Durch die wiederholte Interpretation weniger Motive verschiebt sie die Aufmerksamkeit vom Motiv auf das Material, das sie in seinen spezifischen Eigenheiten und auf seine Wirkung hin untersucht. Innerhalb der großen Band-breite an Medien, in denen Celmins arbeitet, kommt der Druckgrafik daher große Bedeutung zu: Sie steht gleichrangig neben Zeichnung, Malerei und Skulptur.

Die Drucke, für die Vija Celmins in Kupferplatten kratzt, Holz schneidet und auf Stein zeichnet, zeigen ihr großes Interesse an den verschiedenen handwerklichen Prozessen. Die Erkundung der traditionellen Drucktechniken und ihrer Möglichkeiten liegen in Celmins’ herausragenden zeichnerischen Fähigkeiten begründet. In den 1970er-Jahren begann sie mit dem der Zeichnung am nächsten stehende Flachdruckverfahren der Lithografie; am Beginn der 1980er-Jahre dominieren die Tiefdruckverfahren – Radierung, Mezzotinto und Holzschnitt. Die wohl häufigste Technik bei Celmins ist das Mezzotinto, bei dem die weißen Stellen aus der Druckplatte ausgeschabt werden: je tiefer, desto heller. Es erlaubt eine große Variation samtiger Halbtöne – ideal für Celmins, um aus ihren schwarz-weißen Vorlagen die farbigen Qualitäten der fein abgestuften Grautöne zu gewinnen.

mehr

Vija Celmins, geboren 1938 in Riga (Lettland), floh bei Kriegsende mit ihrer Familie über Deutschland in die USA. Von 1962 bis 1981 lebte und arbeitet sie in Los Angeles, seither in New York.