Sophie Thun, Orientalischer Hamam & Sauna E-Fit, 18.07.2019, FL, 2019, Courtesy the artist and Sophie Tappeiner, Copyright Kunst-Dokumentation.com

Sophie Thun

Stolberggasse

April 30 – June 21, 2020

Sophie Thun’s photographs inquire into the conventions governing the representation of the female body and the construction of the self, examining the interdependence between the illusionary space of the picture and the real space of the viewer. Most of her works depict the artist herself, visualizing the relationship she defines between her body and the space around her. Her pictures always also render the photographic process visible. Experimenting with photograms, double exposures, and analog montage techniques, the artist addresses the medium’s mechanics as well as the habits of seeing bound up with them.

The site-specific photographic intervention While Holding (passage closed) (Y110,8M17,4D+59F8m18,142CA3T69,2b100i240) (2018) exemplifies the complexity of Thun’s art. Loosely affixed to the wall, the photograph is a life-size depiction of the artist holding a photograph that in turn shows her striking a similar pose. The work hints at discourses of illusionism and copy and original that also inform the representation of the specific space: Thun makes the site of its exhibition the point of departure for her production, letting the gallery setting appears in its double function as a scene of creation and presentation. The nested and multiple self-portrait establishes a multifaceted interplay between space, body, and representation.

One defining characteristic of Thun’s self-portraits is that she is holding her camera’s cable release in hand. The deliberate inclusion of the equipment reads as a trace of the creative process, but it also represents an instrument of control. By underscoring her active involvement in the genesis of the picture and subverting the history of the depiction of the (naked) female body as an object, Thun engenders a moment of resistance. This aspect is evident, for example, in her most recent series, After Hours (2019), which is based on pictures Thun shot at her lodgings while traveling for various bread-and-butter jobs. For the elaborate compositions, she cuts up the negatives of two shots and then reassembles them in such fashion that the poses they capture relate to each other. The flagrant sexual overtones are intentional, yet the objectification of the female body and the potential for voyeuristic cathexis are defeated by the artist’s recognizable self-determination and the assertive gaze with which she fixes the beholder. Thun adds to the tension between these contrary tendencies by superimposing the white silhouettes of her hands, a framing visual layer that inserts itself between the poses on display and the viewer and performs a gesture between desiring caress and insistence on distance.

Sophie Thun was born in 1985 and lives and works in Vienna.

Sophie Thun, Orientalischer Hamam & Sauna E-Fit, 18.07.2019, FL, 2019, Courtesy the artist and Sophie Tappeiner, Copyright Kunst-Dokumentation.com

Sophie Thun

30. April – 21. Juni 2020

Sophie Thun hinterfragt in ihren Fotografien die Darstellungskonventionen des weiblichen Körpers und die Konstruktion des Selbst und untersucht die Wechselbeziehung zwischen dem illusionistischen Raum des Bildes und dem realen Raum der BetrachterInnen. Dargestellt ist zumeist die Künstlerin selbst und das Verhältnis, das sie zwischen ihrem Körper und dem Raum definiert. Außerdem ist in ihren Bildern stets der fotografische Prozess sichtbar. Indem die Künstlerin mit Fotogrammen, Doppelbelichtungen und analogen Montagetechniken experimentiert, thematisiert sie die Mechanismen des Mediums ebenso wie die daran geknüpften Sehgewohnheiten.

Die Vielschichtigkeit der Werke Thuns zeigt sich beispielhaft in der ortsspezifischen fotografischen Intervention While Holding (passage closed) (Y110,8M17,4D+59F8m18,142CA3T69,2b100i240) (2018). Die lose an der Wand hängende Fotografie zeigt die Künstlerin in Lebensgröße, wie sie eine Fotografie in Händen hält, auf der sie selbst in ähnlicher Pose zu sehen ist. Die darin anklingenden Diskurse von Illusion, Kopie und Original bestimmen auch die Darstellung des Raums: Thun macht den Ort, an dem das Werk ausgestellt wird, zum Ausgangspunkt ihrer Produktion. Der Galerieraum erscheint dadurch in einer doppelten Funktion als Entstehungs- und Präsentationsort und das räumlich verschachtelte, vielfache Selbstporträt etabliert ein komplexes Wechselspiel zwischen Raum, Körper und Repräsentation.

Ein charakteristischer Aspekt ihrer Selbstbildnisse ist, dass Thun den Fernauslöser der Kamera in der Hand hält. Die Inszenierung des Werkzeugs lässt sich als Spur des Schaffensprozesses lesen, stellt aber zugleich auch ein Instrument der Kontrolle dar. Thun unterstreicht damit ihre aktive Rolle und, indem sie die Geschichte der Darstellung des (nackten) weiblichen Körpers als Objekt unterläuft, erzeugt sie einen Moment des Widerstands. Beobachten lässt sich dies etwa in ihrer aktuellen Werkgruppe After Hours (2019). Diese beruht auf Bildmaterial, das Thun nach Erledigung diverser Auftragsjobs, für die sie unterwegs war, in ihrer jeweiligen Unterkunft aufgenommen hat. Im Zuge der komplexen Bildfindung zerschneidet sie die Negative zweier Aufnahmen und fügt sie so wieder zusammen, dass die dargestellten Posen aufeinander Bezug nehmen. Die sexuelle Aufladung ist dabei offensichtlich und gewollt; die Objektwerdung des weiblichen Körpers und die mögliche voyeuristische Teilhabe werden jedoch durch die oben beschriebene aktive Rolle der Künstlerin und durch ihren direkten selbstbewussten Blick, mit dem sie den BetrachterInnen begegnet, konterkariert. Thun steigert diese Spannung zusätzlich durch die weißen Schattenrisse der Hände, die sich als weitere rahmende Bildebene förmlich zwischen die dargestellten Posen und die BetrachterInnen schieben und zwischen begehrender Berührung und Abstandhalter oszillieren.

Sophie Thun, 1985 geboren, lebt und arbeitet in Wien.