Rana Hamadeh
Rana Hamadeh, The Destiny Project/The Soft Measure Fables, 2020-202X, video still

Rana Hamadeh

middle of September – beginning of November 2021

Rana Hamadeh undertakes artistic research in discursive projects that grow and evolve over several years and take manifest form in theatrical performances, sound compositions, interactive audiovisual installations, and system designs as well as pedagogical setups. In thematic terms, her work is dedicated to an ongoing scrutiny of the epistemologies and technologies of justice, examining tropes of violence that find their genealogies in both spectacular and mundane instances in history and contemporary culture.

Since 2016, Hamadeh has been developing an “operatic practice,” experimenting with writing and composing and testing out models for collective thinking and study. Her works are rooted in interdisciplinary research and operate at the interfaces of various fields such as theater, theosophy, epidemiology, legal theory, translational practices, and technology. Constantly shifting and reframing the theoretical and aesthetic categories that she engages with, Hamadeh deliberately trespasses the logic of classificatory systems by pursuing the implications of different and even contradictory arguments and unfolding expansive webs of associations and constructs.

Hamadeh often reuses the titles of her works, realizing different media formats at successive exhibition venues. Her opera project The Ten Murders of Josephine (2017–18) grew to encompass a reading circle, a theatrical performance, and a series of sound-based exhibitions. The series of works journeyed across a web of narratives that explored the conditions of “validity” within legal discourse and probed the concept of testimony and testimonial subjecthood in relation to histories of property, labor, and documentality. To adapt her 50-minute composition to the form of a sprawling installation, she designed an ensemble of cacophonous interactive acoustic zones extending through several exhibition rooms. The score interwove texts, interviews, chants, telephone conversations with live machine translations, and interventions; the operatic register throws into sharp relief the harrowing violence beneath the surface of the legal administrative jargon.

In her most recent venture, The Destiny Project / Soft-Measure Fables, Hamadeh revisits Sophocles’ famed tragedy Oedipus Rex. Rather than re-narrating the distressing misfortunes of Oedipus, king of Thebes, whose grievous journey of self-discovery unfolds at the height of the Theban plague, the work conducts a reading of the play itself—that is, a reading of Sophocles’ “figuration of tragedy.” In its endeavor to think through what constitutes tragedy, the work follows the play’s dramatic construct, examining its inner workings as an extended “technology of endurance.” In this project, Hamadeh is particularly interested in the notion of destiny and in the journey of privatization of grief. In a first stage, she created three computer-generated film sequences that suggest a videogame, visualizing scenarios that are as dreamlike as they are sinister, the action propelled by cogwheels and prostheses.

Rana Hamadeh was born in Beirut in 1983 and lives and works in Rotterdam.

Rana Hamadeh
Rana Hamadeh, The Destiny Project/The Soft Measure Fables, 2020-202X, Videostill

Rana Hamadeh

17. September – 7. November 2021

Rana Hamadeh entwickelt im Zuge ihrer künstlerischen Forschung langjährige diskursive Projekte, die sie in Form von Theaterperformances, Sound-Kompositionen, interaktiven audiovisuellen Installationen, Systementwürfen und pädagogischen Anordnungen umsetzt. Thematisch ist ihr Werk einer eingehenden Untersuchung erkenntnistheoretischer und technologischer Aspekte der Rechtspraxis sowie der Bildsprachen von Gewalt gewidmet, die ihren Ursprung in spektakulären wie auch alltäglichen Phänomenen der historischen und zeitgenössischen Kultur haben.

Seit 2016 entwickelt Hamadeh eine „Opernpraxis“, die mit verschiedenen Formen des Schreibens und Komponierens experimentiert und Modelle für kollektives Denken und Lernen erprobt. Ihre Werke gründen auf interdisziplinären Recherchen und agieren an den Schnittstellen verschiedener Felder wie Theater, Theosophie, Epidemiologie, Rechtstheorie, Übersetzungspraktiken und Technologie. Die theoretischen und ästhetischen Kategorien, mit denen sie sich beschäftigt, werden von ihr unentwegt verschoben und neu formuliert; bewusst durchbricht Hamadeh die Logik klassifizierender Systeme, indem sie verschiedenen, auch widersprüchlichen Argumentationen folgt und weitverzweigten Assoziationen und Konstrukten Raum gibt.

Häufig realisiert Hamadeh unter dem gleichen Titel an verschiedenen Stationen unterschiedliche mediale Formate. Ihr Opernprojekt The Ten Murders of Josephine (2017–18) umfasste zuletzt einen Lesezirkel, eine Theateraufführung und eine Serie von Ausstellungen mit Soundarbeiten. Die Werkreihe entfaltete ein Netz von Erzählungen, die die Bedingungen der „Gültigkeit“ innerhalb des Rechtsdiskurses und das Konzept der Zeugenschaft und der Subjektivität des Zeugnisses in Bezug auf die Geschichten von Eigentum, Arbeit und des Begriffs der Urkunde untersuchten. Für die räumliche Inszenierung des 50-minütigen Werks konzipierte sie ein mehrere Ausstellungssäle ausfüllendes Ensemble kakofoner interaktiver akustischer Zonen. Die Partitur verband Texte, Interviews, Gesänge, Telefonaufnahmen mit maschinell generierten Simultanübersetzungen und Interventionen, wobei das Opernhafte die erschütternde Gewalt unter der Oberfläche der Sprache von Recht und Verwaltung besonders hervortreten ließ.

In ihrem jüngsten Projekt The Destiny Project / Soft-Measure Fables widmet sich Hamadeh Sophokles’ berühmter Tragödie Oedipus Tyrannos. Statt das grauenvolle Schicksal des Königs von Theben, dessen schwere Reise der Selbstfindung sich auf dem Höhepunkt der Pest in Theben abspielt, nachzuerzählen, widmet sie sich dem Stück selbst und unternimmt eine Lektüre von Sophokles’ „Figuration der Tragödie“ als solcher. In Nachdenken über das Wesen der Tragödie folgt ihre Arbeit der dramatischen Konstruktion des Stücks und untersucht sein Innenleben als eine erweiterte „Technologie der Ausdauer“. Hamadehs besonderes Interesse gilt dabei dem Begriff der Bestimmung ebenso wie dem Weg der Privatisierung der Trauer. In einer ersten Stufe entstanden drei computergenerierte, an ein Videospiel erinnernde Filmsequenzen. Sie visualisieren ebenso traumhafte wie unheimliche Szenarien, in denen das Geschehen von Zahnrädern und Prothesen angetrieben wird.

Rana Hamadeh, 1983 in Beirut geboren, lebt und arbeitet in Rotterdam.