Philipp Timischl, Problems, installation view, Halle für Kunst Lüneburg, Lüneburg 2016. Courtesy the artist and Halle für Kunst Lüneburg, Photo: Fred Dott

Philipp Timischl

middle of November 2018 – end of January 2019

Philipp Timischl’s expansive multimedia tableaus combine personal notes from the humdrum of daily life with found materials to build narrative structures. Balancing between documentation and fiction, between the private and public spheres, they play with intimacy and self-reference. Major themes in Timischl’s art include the lasting influence of our roots, exclusion, and queerness in relation to social classes as well as the power dynamics between art and its audience.

One recurring media element that has already emerged as a signature feature of the young artist’s growing oeuvre are hybrid towers combining a flat-screen monitor with a canvas mounted directly above it. With their conjunction of two image fields, these sculptures echo traditional forms in the history of art such as the diptych or collage. Timischl’s installations usually play out on several such towers. The seamless fusion of painting and technology extends to the motifs as well. The interplay between static and time-based digital images weaves dense textures, although the disparate visual material does not congeal into a single unified narrative, which is merely hinted at in the manner of vignettes.

A similar play with ambivalence is evident in the titles of Timischl’s exhibitions: consider Philipp, I have the feeling I’m incredibly good looking, but have nothing to say (21er Haus, Vienna, 2013), They were treating me like an object. As if I were some sextoy or shit. I don’t wanna see them again (Künstlerhaus, Halle für Kunst & Medien, Graz, 2014–15), or Hostile Habits Domestic Monuments, Class Drag (Galerie Layr, Vienna, 2017). Like many of the titles he chooses for his works, they quote a variety of sources including TV shows, books, movies, as well as conversations he happens to overhear in the street.

Philipp Timischl, born in 1989 in Graz (Austria), lives and works in Vienna.

Philipp Timischl, Problems, Ausstellungsansicht, Halle für Kunst Lüneburg, Lüneburg 2016. Courtesy der Künstler und Halle für Kunst Lüneburg, Foto: Fred Dott

Philipp Timischl

15. November 2018 – 15. Januar 2019

In seinen multimedialen raumgreifenden Tableaus entwickelt Philipp Timischl aus alltäglichen, privat wirkenden Aufzeichnungen und gefundenem Material narrative Strukturen. Zwischen Dokumentation und Fiktion, privaten und öffentlichen Sphären oszillierend, spielen sie mit Intimität und Selbstbezüglichkeit. Zu seinen grundlegenden Themen zählen Herkunft, Exklusion und Queerness in ihrem Bezug auf soziale Klassen ebenso wie die Machtdynamiken zwischen Kunst und Publikum.

Ein wiederkehrendes mediales Element, das bereits zu einem Markenzeichen des noch jungen Oeuvres geworden ist, sind die hybriden Türme aus einem Flachbildschirm und einer direkt darüber angebrachten Leinwand. Die aus zwei Bildfeldern bestehenden Skulpturen verweisen auf traditionelle kunsthistorische Formen wie das Diptychon oder die Collage. In seinen Installationen bespielt Timischl in der Regel simultan mehrere dieser Türme. Die nahtlose Verschmelzung von Malerei und Technologie umfasst auch die Motive. Aus dem Zusammenspiel von statischen und zeitbasierten digitalen Bildern entspinnen sich dichte Texturen. Das disparate Bildmaterial bildet allerdings keine einheitliche Erzählung, sondern deutet diese wie Vignetten stets nur an.

Ein ähnliches Spiel mit der Ambivalenz zeigt sich auch in den Ausstellungstiteln Timischls wie Philipp, ich hab das Gefühl, ich sehe wahnsinnig gut aus, aber ich hab nichts zu sagen (21er Haus, Wien, 2013), They were treating me like an object. As if I were some sextoy or shit. I don’t wanna see them again (Künstlerhaus, Halle für Kunst & Medien, Graz, 2014–15), oder Hostile Habits Domestic Monuments, Class Drag (Galerie Layr, Wien, 2017). Ebenso wie zahlreiche Werktitel entstammen die Sätze verschiedenen Quellen wie TV-Serien, Büchern, Filmen oder auch zufällig mitgehörten Gesprächen auf der Straße.

Philipp Timischl, geboren 1989 in Graz, lebt und arbeitet in Wien.