Patricia L. Boyd
Patricia L. Boyd, Hold, Kunstverein München, Munich, 2021, Courtesy the artist, photo: Constanza Meléndez

Patricia L. Boyd

November 18, 2022 – February 5, 2023

Patricia L. Boyd’s work often addresses the interrelationship between techniques of presentation and institutional dynamics, using spatial interventions to alter a viewer’s perception of the exhibition rooms and their movement within them. She works across a range of mediums, including sculpture, photography, writing and video.

A recursive structure underlies much of her work, including her series Wall Pieces (2017 – ongoing), wherein the provenance of previous works are reintegrated into their present display. For Wall Pieces, the artist uses discarded cooking fat to create negative casts of parts of an office chair and turntable that are then embedded into existing or sometimes newly built gallery walls. At the end of the exhibition, the casts are removed together with the section of white wall surrounding them, to which they remain permanently connected.

Programmed by the board of the Secession
Curated by Annette Südbeck

Patricia L. Boyd, born in 1980 in London, lives and works in New York and London. Her work was included in Other Mechanisms, a group exhibition at the Secession curated by Anthony Huberman in 2018, and has since had highly acclaimed solo exhibitions at the Münchener Kunstverein (2020), Front Desk Apparatus, New York (2019), Christian Andersen, Kopenhagen (2019), and Cell Project Space, London (with Rosa Aiello, 2019).

Patricia L. Boyd
Patricia L. Boyd, Hold, Kunstverein München, München, 2021, Courtesy die Künstlerin, Foto: Constanza Meléndez

Patricia L. Boyd

18. November 2022 – 5. Februar 2023

Patricia L. Boyd thematisiert in ihrem Werk häufig die Wechselbeziehungen zwischen Präsentationstechniken und institutionellen Dynamiken, indem sie räumliche Eingriffe vornimmt, welche die Wahrnehmung und Bewegung der Betrachter*innen in den Ausstellungsräume verändern. Sie arbeitet mit einer Reihe von Medien, darunter Skulptur, Fotografie, Schreiben und Video.

Vielen ihrer Arbeiten liegt eine rekursive Struktur zugrunde, da die Herkunft der Arbeiten in ihre aktuelle Zurschaustellung erneut integriert wird. Dies gilt etwa für die Werkserie Wall Pieces (2017 – fortlaufend), für welche die Künstlerin zunächst Negativabgüsse von Teilen eines Bürostuhls und eines Plattentellers aus ausrangiertem Speisefett anfertigt, die dann in bestehende oder teilweise neu gebaute Galeriewände eingelassen werden. Am Ende der Ausstellung werden die Abgüsse zusammen mit dem sie umgebenden Stück weißer Wand entfernt, um mit diesem dauerhaft verbunden zu bleiben.

Programmiert vom Vorstand der Secession
Kuratiert von Annette Südbeck

Patricia L. Boyd, geboren 1980 in London, lebt und arbeitet in New York und London. Sie war bereits 2018 in der von Anthony Huberman kuratierten Gruppenausstellung Other Mechanisms in der Secession zu sehen und hatte seitdem vielbeachtete Einzelausstellungen im Münchener Kunstverein (2020), Front Desk Apparatus, New York (2019), Christian Andersen, Kopenhagen (2019) und Cell Project Space, London (mit Rosa Aiello, 2019).