Olga Chernysheva, Chandeliers in the Forest, installation view, Secession 2017, Courtesy the artist, Diehl Gallery, Berlin; Temnikova & Kasela Gallery, Tallinn, Photo: Jorit Aust

Olga Chernysheva

Chandeliers in the Forest

November 17, 2017 – January 28, 2018

Olga Chernysheva is known as a sensitive and perceptive observer and chronicler of the daily lives, mostly of people in Russia. In drawings, paintings, photographs, and videos, she translates the impact on people of changing economic and psychological realities into “poetic circumstances.”

For her exhibition Chandeliers in the Forest, Chernysheva has selected recent and older works from multiple series and in a variety of media that bring contemplative moments into focus in which inward states of mind manifest themselves in outward phenomena.

Chernysheva’s psychological approach is informed by both nineteenth-century Russian realism and Soviet avant-garde film. One important source of inspiration for the artist, who was trained as an animation filmmaker, are the movies of Sergei Eisenstein, Dziga Vertov, and Alexander Dovzhenko, who became famous for their innovative editing techniques and expressionist cinematic idiom. The drama and ideological slant of their works are alien to Chernysheva’s art, but the psychological expressiveness of the individual frame and the embrace of gestures and facial play as narrative devices suggest the influence of 1920s and 1930s cinema. Dovzhenko’s silent films, in particular, rely on close-ups and long uninterrupted takes to convey the dramatic tension of his scenes and the emotions involved through facial expressions or even landscape details.


Olga Chernysheva, born in 1962 in Moscow, lives and works in Moscow.

Olga Chernysheva, Chandeliers in the Forest, Ausstellungsansicht, Secession 2017, Courtesy die Künstlerin, Diehl Gallery, Berlin; Temnikova & Kasela Gallery, Tallinn, Foto: Jorit Aust

Olga Chernysheva

Chandeliers in the Forest

17. November 2017 – 28. Januar 2018

Olga Chernysheva ist als einfühlsame Beobachterin und scharfsinnige Chronistin vor allem des russischen Alltagslebens bekannt. In Zeichnungen, Gemälden, Fotografien und Videos übersetzt sie die Auswirkungen des wirtschaftlichen und gesellschaftlichen Wandels auf die Menschen in „poetische Verhältnisse“.

Für ihre Ausstellung Chandeliers in the Forest wählte Chernysheva neue und ältere Arbeiten aus verschiedenen Serien und aus unterschiedlichen Medien aus, die kontemplative Momente, in denen sich innere Befindlichkeiten äußerlich manifestieren, in den Blick rücken.

In diesem psychologischen Ansatz steht Chernysheva sowohl der Kunst des Russischen Realismus des 19. Jahrhunderts nahe wie auch dem Sowjetischen Avantgardefilm. Die als Animationsfilmemacherin ausgebildete Künstlerin bezieht sich in ihren Arbeiten unter anderem auf Sergei Eisenstein, Dziga Vertov und Alexander Dowschenko, die für innovative Montagetechniken und filmischen Expressionismus bekannt sind. Wenngleich Chernyshevas Werken die Dramatik und der ideologische Duktus dieser Filme aus den 1920er- und 1930er-Jahren fremd sind, so verbindet sie die psychologische Ausdruckskraft der Einzelbilder und die Wertschätzung von Gesten und Mimik als Mittel der Erzählung. Vor allem Dowschenko vertraute in seinen Stummfilmen Großaufnahmen und langen Einstellungen, um dramatische Szenen und Gefühle über die Mimik oder sogar Einzelheiten einer Landschaft unmittelbar lesbar zu machen.

mehr

Olga Chernysheva, geboren 1962 in Moskau, lebt und arbeitet in Moskau.