Lieselott Beschorner
Lieselott Beschorner, Im Atem der Zeit [In the Breath of Time], installation view, Secession 2022, photo: Peter Mochi

Lieselott Beschorner

Im Atem der Zeit [In the Breath of Time]

June 29 – September 4, 2022

The title of Lieselott Beschorner’s exhibition, Im Atem der Zeit [In the Breath of Time], is a direct reference to the environment in which her work comes into existence. It is only in the now of our days, as in the then of past decades, that her ideas could have taken shape. Their time-bound nature notwithstanding, her art lays claim to a universality that elevates it above its topical concerns and ensures its relevance in the future.

Lieselott Beschorner has made art for over seven decades and been a member of the Vienna Secession for just as long. When she was admitted to the Association of Visual Artists in 1951, she was among the first women members: the Secession, which had been founded in 1897, had remained a male preserve until shortly after the war. Only a few years later, in 1954, Beschorner presented her first solo exhibition at the Secession, followed by shows in 1966 and 1972, and her work was included in group exhibitions on a regular basis until the mid-1970s. Around that time, the artist took up teaching at a vocational school (she would continue to do so for over thirty years); meanwhile, new tendencies emerged that vied for attention, and her art faded from the spotlight.

Undeterred, Beschorner kept making art with the means at her disposal, building an oeuvre that is as complex as it is eclectic: her output ranges from abstract paintings to expressively representational drawings and collages, from ceramics and textile works—including the body of work that is probably most widely known today, the Puppas—to her most recent sculptures, like the Behutete Kopffiguren [Hatted-Head Figures, 2014], and a vast trove of drawings on the ubiquitous subject of the virus, among them the cycle of Weinende Omnichronisten [Weeping Omnichroniclers, 2022]. A small cross-section of the results of this drawing practice, which continues to the present day, is represented in the exhibition as “wallpaper”. Gathered under the labels of Impuls- or Sekundenzeichnungen [Impulsive or Seconds Drawings], these sheets capture flashes of inspiration, melding gestural eruptions with experience and the artist’s masterful command of the line. Now almost completely blind, she has lost none of her flair for creating dynamic compositions that marry playful lightness to solid structure. Rational considerations are secondary in Beschorner’s oeuvre. She sees her art has a kind of gift that she channels, in an impulsive creative act, into the form of her works. “These works are me,” as she puts it. And just as the artist’s spirit directly informs her production, her fetish-like figures have an air of being inhabited by spirits. Fellow residents of the house, they act as facilitators of communication as well as protectors. The unifying theme that holds these diverse facets of her oeuvre together is the grotesque.

Many of Lieselott Beschorner’s works and techniques anticipated achievements of later generations of women artists, as in the art of Sarah Lucas or Annette Messager; her Puppas even antedate Louise Bourgeois’s ragdolls. The public had few opportunities to take note of her evolving art until a decade ago, when her work was showcased at MUSA. The Secession is excited to host her exhibition Im Atem der Zeit [In the Breath of Time]. Featuring recent creations as well as selected pieces from earlier periods of her oeuvre, it illustrates that Beschorner’s work has lost none of its vitality and still speaks powerfully to contemporary concerns.

Complementing the exhibition is the film Sekundenarbeiten (2021) by Christiana Perschon. This extraordinary portrait shows the artist making her so-called “impulse drawings,” for which she needs about as long as it takes to rewind the filmmaker’s 16mm Bolex. While the images of the artist at work in her studio are rendered in silent black-and-white, the recorded voice of Lieselott Beschorner is accompanied by a black screen.

Programmed by the board of the Secession

Curated by Berthold Ecker and Jeanette Pacher

In conjunction with the exhibition by Lieselott Beschorner a book will be published in August 2022.

Lieselott Beschorner, born 1927 in Vienna, lives and works in Vienna.

Lieselott Beschorner
Lieselott Beschorner, Im Atem der Zeit, Ausstellungsansicht, Secession 2022, Foto: Peter Mochi

Lieselott Beschorner

Im Atem der Zeit

29. Juni – 6. November 2022

Mit dem Titel ihrer Ausstellung Im Atem der Zeit stellt Lieselott Beschorner einen direkten Bezug auf ihr Umfeld her, aus dem heraus sich ihr Werk entwickelt. Nur im Jetzt unserer Tage wie im Damals der vergangenen Jahrzehnte konnten sich ihre Ideen auf die jeweils spezifische zeitgebundene Weise herausbilden. Dennoch beansprucht ihre Kunst eine Allgemeingültigkeit, die sie über die momentanen Bezüge hinaushebt und auch für die Zukunft bedeutsam macht.

Lieselott Beschorner blickt auf gut 70 Jahre künstlerisches Schaffen und auf eine fast ebenso lange Mitgliedschaft in der Wiener Secession. Als sie 1951 in die Künstler*innenvereinigung aufgenommen wurde, war sie eine der ersten Frauen, denn bis in die unmittelbare Nachkriegszeit blieb die 1897 gegründete Secession eine reine Männerdomäne. Schon 1954 hatte sie dort ihre erste Ausstellung, in den Jahren 1966 und 1972 folgten zwei weitere und in Gruppenausstellungen waren ihre Arbeiten bis Mitte der Siebzigerjahre hier regelmäßig zu sehen. Als etwa zeitgleich die Künstlerin eine Lehrtätigkeit in einer Berufsschule aufnahm (für gut 30 Jahre) und sich neue Strömungen ins Blickfeld der Aufmerksamkeit drängten, wurde es ruhiger um sie.

Nichtsdestotrotz produzierte Beschorner unablässig weiter, mit den ihr jeweils zur Verfügung stehenden Mitteln, und schuf ein Werk, das höchst komplex und ebenso vielfältig ist: Von abstrakter Malerei über expressiv gegenständliche Zeichnungen und Collagen, Keramiken und Textilarbeiten – etwa ihre mittlerweile wohl bekannteste Werkgruppe der Puppas – reicht der Bogen bis hin zur jüngsten Phase mit Skulpturen wie den Behuteten Kopffiguren (2014) und einer gewaltigen Menge an Zeichnungen zum allgegenwärtigen Thema des Virus, darunter der Zyklus der Weinenden Omnichronisten (2022). Von den Ergebnissen dieser bis in die Gegenwart andauernde zeichnerische Praxis ist in der Ausstellung ein kleiner Querschnitt als „Tapete“ repräsentiert. Diese als Impuls- oder Sekundenzeichnungen zusammengefassten Blätter entstehen spontanen Eingebungen folgend aus einer eruptiven Gestik gepaart mit Erfahrung und meisterlicher Beherrschung der Linie. So ist es ihr gegeben, auch im Zustand der fast vollkommenen Erblindung spannungsreiche Kompositionen zu schaffen, die von spielerischer Leichtigkeit und gleichzeitig festem Bildbau geprägt sind. Im Oeuvre Beschorners steht das rationale Kalkül in zweiter Reihe. Sie betrachtet ihre Kunst gleichsam als Geschenk, das in Form der Werke wie in einem Schöpfungsakt impulsiv aus ihr hervorkommt. „Diese Werke bin ich“, so Beschorner. Und so wie der Geist der Künstlerin ganz direkt in ihre Produktion einfließt, haben auch ihre fetischartigen Figuren eine Anmutung, als wohnten Geister in ihnen. Sie sind die Mitbewohner des Hauses und bilden eine Kommunikations- wie auch Schutzebene. Derart unterschiedliche Aspekte verbinden sich im Oeuvre durch das Thema der Groteske.

Mit vielen ihrer Arbeiten und Arbeitsweisen nahm Lieselott Beschorner so manches Ergebnis späterer Künstlerinnengenerationen vorweg, etwa in den Werken von Sarah Lucas oder Annette Messager, und ihre Puppas gehen sogar den Puppen von Louise Bourgeois voraus. Erst vor gut einer Dekade wurde ihr Werk mit einer Ausstellung im MUSA in das öffentliche Bewusstsein zurückgeholt. Die Secession freut sich, mit der Ausstellung Im Atem der Zeit jüngste Arbeiten der Künstlerin zusammen mit ausgewählten Arbeiten aus früheren Schaffensperioden zu präsentieren und damit zeigen zu können, wie ungebrochen frisch und zeitgenössisch Beschorners Werk auch heute ist.

Ergänzend zur Ausstellung ist der Film Sekundenarbeiten (2021) von Christiana Perschon zu sehen. Dieses außergewöhnliche Porträt zeigt die Künstlerin im Atelier bei der Arbeit an ihren Impulszeichnungen. Für diese benötigt sie in etwa so lang bis die 16mm Bolex der Filmemacherin wieder aufgezogen werden muss. Während die schönen Schwarzweißbilder ohne Ton bleiben, hört man die Künstlerin zum Schwarzbild erzählen.

Programmiert vom Vorstand der Secession

Kuratiert von Berthold Ecker und Jeanette Pacher

 

Eine Publikation zur Ausstellung von Lieselott Beschorner erscheint im August 2022.

 

Lieselott Beschorner, geboren 1927 in Wien, lebt und arbeitet in Wien.