Jean-Frédéric Schnyder
Jean-Frédéric Schnyder, Hans Schnyder 1959 - JF 2020 nach Winston Churchill, 2020, oil on canvas, 30 x 42 cm, Courtesy the artist and Galerie Eva Presenhuber, Zurich / New York

Jean-Frédéric Schnyder

November 18, 2022 – February 5, 2023

Since the late 1960s, the Swiss conceptual artist Jean-Frédéric Schnyder has created a vast oeuvre of paintings, photographs, sculptures, objects, and installations. In his art practice he remains radically open, one result of which is a fully discontinuous body of work. However, looking at Schnyder’s painterly work since the beginning of the 1970s, one discovers surprising continuities and ruptures at the same time.

In each new series of works, which at the same time represents an experimental set-up, the artist concentrates meticulously on the chosen theme. His interest in the painterly process itself motivated him, for example, to explore vedute painting and to translate it into multi-part series of plein air paintings: the series of Bernese vedutes consisting of 128 small-format paintings (early 1980s) or the series on Lake Thun realized in the mid-1990s, which comprises 38 small-format paintings.

Schnyder orients his choice of themes and motifs on existing and common practices, plays them consistently and skillfully through – still life, nude, landscape, the three most common motifs in art history, for example – while the works remain stylistically highly heterogeneous. Instead of perpetuating the archetype of romanticized Swiss Alpine images, it rather represents images of humanly cultivated, self-made landscape – for example, when highways and roads are foregrounded. The artist works in his studio with figurative-abstract motifs and styles. For a series of flower paintings – another classic motif – he applies a pixel system that recalls an early digital aesthetic as well as color field painting of the beginning of the 20th century.

For his sculptural installation Hüter der Schwelle (guardians of the threshold) the artist has made 22 lamps from banana boxes, which had previously been used as moving boxes. The cut-out holes create the impression of faces; at the same time, they evoke the association with the banal, practical function of carrying handles. The idea of recycling comes into play in another ongoing work, when Schnyder, the painter, pieces together into a huge patchwork canvas the color-soaked rags into which he wipes his brushes, as most recently in the exhibition Stop Painting in Venice in 2020.

Schnyder has exhibited internationally since the end of the 1960s, including the legendary exhibitions When Attitude Becomes Form, at Kunsthalle Bern (1969), documenta 5 (1972) and documenta 7 (1982); in 1993 he represented Switzerland at the Venice Biennale. His exhibition at the Secession is his first institutional solo show in Austria.

Programmed by the board of the Secession
Curated by Jeanette Pacher

Jean-Frédéric Schnyder, born 1945 in Basel, lives and works in Zug, Switzerland.

Jean-Frédéric Schnyder
Jean-Frédéric Schnyder, Hans Schnyder 1959 - JF 2020 nach Winston Churchill, 2020, Öl auf Leinwand, 30 x 42 cm, Courtesy der Künstler und Galerie Eva Presenhuber, Zurich / New York

Jean-Frédéric Schnyder

18. November 2022 – 5. Februar 2023

Seit Ende der 1960er-Jahre hat der konzeptuell arbeitende Schweizer Künstler Jean-Frédéric Schnyder ein breites Oeuvre geschaffen, das Malereien, Fotografien, Skulpturen, Objekte und Installationen umfasst. In seiner künstlerischen Praxis ist er stets radikal offengeblieben. Ein Resultat seiner radikalen Offenheit ist ein Werk voller Diskontinuitäten. Betrachtet man Schnyders malerisches Werk seit dem Beginn der 1970er-Jahre, so entdeckt man zugleich überraschende Kontinuitäten und Brüche.

In jeder neuen Werkserie, die zugleich eine Versuchsanordnung darstellt, konzentriert sich der Künstler akribisch auf das gewählte Thema. Sein Interesse für den Prozess der Malerei selbst hat ihn etwa motiviert, sich mit der Vedutenmalerei auseinanderzusetzen und in mehrteiligen Serien von Plein-Air-Bildern umzusetzen: die aus 128 kleinformatigen Bildern bestehende Serie der Berner Veduten (Anfang der 1980er-Jahre) oder die Mitte der 1990er-Jahre realisierte Serie am Thunersee, die 38 kleinformatige Gemälde umfasst.

Schnyder orientiert sich bei der Wahl seiner Themen und Motive an bestehenden und gängigen Praktiken, spielt diese konsequent und gekonnt durch – Stillleben, Akt, und Landschaft, die drei häufigsten Motive der Kunstgeschichte etwa –, während die Arbeiten stilistisch höchst heterogen bleiben. Anstatt den Archetyp romantisierter Schweizer Alpenbilder zu perpetuieren, repräsentiert er vielmehr Bilder menschlich kultivierter, sich zu eigen gemachter Landschaft – wenn er Autobahnen in den Vordergrund rückt beispielsweise. Im Atelier arbeitet der Künstler mit figurativen wie abstrakten Motiven und Stilen. Für eine Reihe von Blumenbildern – ein weiteres klassisches Motiv – wendet er ein geometrisch abstraktes Pixelsystem an, das an frühe digitale Ästhetiken ebenso erinnert wie an die Farbfeldmalerei des beginnenden 20. Jahrhunderts.

Für seine skulpturale Installation Hüter der Schwelle hat der Künstler 22 Lampen aus Bananenschachteln, die davor als Umzugskartons benutzt wurden, gefertigt; die ausgeschnittenen Löcher erzeugen den Eindruck von Gesichtern, zugleich wecken sie die Assoziation an eine banale, praktische Funktion, nämlich als Tragegriffe zu dienen. Der Recyclinggedanke kommt schließlich in einer weiteren, fortlaufenden Arbeit zum Tragen, wenn Schnyder, der Maler, die farbgetränkten Lappen, in die er seine Pinsel wischt, zu einer riesigen Patchwork-Leinwand zusammenstückelt und ausstellt, wie zuletzt in der Ausstellung „Stop Painting“ in Venedig 2020.

Internationale Ausstellungstätigkeit seit Ende der 1960er-Jahre, u.a. in der legendären, von Harald Szeemann kuratierten Ausstellung When Attitude Becomes Form in der Kunsthalle Bern (1969), bei der documenta 5 (1972) und documenta 7 (1982); 1993 repräsentierte er die Schweiz auf der Venedig Biennale. Seine Ausstellung in der Secession ist die erste institutionelle Einzelausstellung in Österreich.

Programmiert vom Vorstand der Secession
Kuratiert von Jeanette Pacher

Jean-Frédéric Schnyder, geboren 1945 in Basel, lebt und arbeitet in Zug, Schweiz.