Ericka Beckman, You the Better, film installation, 1983/2015, Secession 2017, Photo: Iris Ranzinger

Ericka Beckman

Game Mechanics

July 6 – September 3, 2017

The American artist Ericka Beckman’s films and videos focus on games and sport competitions and their rules and structures, featuring the underlying playing fields as an allegory for the development and maintenance of socio-cultural norms. In her exhibition Game Mechanics, Beckman presents the film installation You the Better (1983/2015) and her most recent film Tension Building (2016) as well as drawings.

You the Better is one of Beckman’s early films, which are generally structured like games, developing their narrative out of themes such as accumulation, competition, and the organization of thoughts and memories by means of rules, symbols, and symbolic thinking. The film shows a team of uniformed players enacting the mechanics of a game of chance that generates points with the imperturbability of a machine. The protagonists, who cannot affect or predict its outcome, are not actors but act as players. They are spurred on by a song whose hysterical driving beat redoubles the implicit pressure to “perform,” in the economic and competitive sense of the word.

For the film installation in the last room of the Galerie, Beckman complements the projection with eight light boxes in the shape of a house, replicas of the original props that structure the gallery’s spatial depth and change colors in synch with the film’s rhythm. The motif of the house appears on several occasions in the film. At first it is a property unit in a subdivision, then it becomes part of the mechanics of the play and a target to hit and finally it functions as a scoreboard showing the accumulation of houses on one plot of land therefore not advancing the capitalistic motivation of the house.

more

Ericka Beckman, born in 1951 in Hempstead (New York, USA), lives and works in New York City.

Ericka Beckman, You the Better, Film Installation, 1983/2015, Secession 2017, Foto: Iris Ranzinger

Ericka Beckman

Game Mechanics

6. Juli – 3. September 2017

Die Film- und Videoarbeiten der amerikanischen Künstlerin Ericka Beckman thematisieren Spiele und sportliche Wettkämpfe sowie deren Regeln und Strukturen, wobei die zugrundeliegenden Spielfelder als Allegorie für die Entwicklung und Aufrechterhaltung soziokultureller Normen gefasst werden. In ihrer Ausstellung Game Mechanics zeigt Beckman die Film-Installation You the Better (1983/2015), ihren jüngsten Film Tension Building (2016) sowie Zeichnungen.

You the Better zählt zu den frühen Filmen Beckmans, die weitgehend wie Spiele strukturiert sind und ihre Narration aus Themen wie Akkumulation, Wettbewerb sowie der Organisation von Gedanken und Erinnerungen durch Regeln, Symbole und symbolisches Denken entwickeln. Im Film vollzieht ein Team uniformierter Spieler die Mechanik eines Glücksspiels, das wie eine Maschine Punkte produziert und in seinem Verlauf weder steuerbar noch vorhersagbar ist. Die handelnden Figuren sind keine DarstellerInnen, sondern agieren als Spielende. Angefeuert werden sie durch einen Song mit hysterischem Rhythmus, der die implizierte Forderung zu „performen“, im Sinne von etwas zu leisten und sich gegenseitig im Wettkampf zu übertreffen, zusätzlich unterstreicht.

Für die Installation des Films im letzten Raum der Galerie erweitert Beckman die Projektion durch acht Lichtkästen in Form eines Hauses, die als nachgebaute Requisiten den Raum in der Tiefe strukturieren und synchron zum Rhythmus des Films ihre Lichtfarbe wechseln. Das Motiv des Hauses taucht im Film wiederholt auf. Es erscheint zuerst als Eigenheim in einer Neubausiedlung, dann als Bestandteil der Mechanik des Spiels und zu treffendes Ziel und schließlich als Anzeigetafel, die die Anhäufung von Häusern auf einem Grundstück vermerkt und so die kapitalistische Motivation hinter dem Haus nicht voranbringt.

mehr

Ericka Beckman, geboren 1951 in Hempstead (New York, USA), lebt und arbeitet in New York City.