Emily Wardill
Emily Wardill, Night for Day, 2020, installation view Secession, photo: Iris Ranzinger

Emily Wardill

Night for Day

September 18 – November 8, 2020

Emily Wardill’s films, photographs, and objects probe the complexity of perception and communication, the question of how reality appears authentic to us, and the displacements of substance and form effected by the individual nature of the imagination. Her work has won acclaim for the sensual and psychologically fraught yet fractured narratives which she constructs. The films that she started making in the mid-2000s are typically defined by a narrative framework, but the plots as such tend to be secondary. The focus is on other aspects: the mechanics of storytelling, the relationship of imaginary space to language and the interplay between gesture and word.

In her exhibition at the Secession, Emily Wardill debuts her most recent film project, Night for Day (2020), an installation of film and sculptures that weave into one another, and the film I gave my love a cherry that had no stone (2016).

For Night for Day (2020), Wardill constructs a feigned mother-son relationship. Her source material is a series of extensive interviews with Isabel do Carmo, a revolutionary resistance fighter against the fascist regime in Portugal that fell in 1974, and two young men, Alexander Bridi and Djelal Osman, astrophysicists who run a startup in Lisbon that develops software enabling computers to recognize moving images. These different strands allow Wardill to, as she puts it, “think about what would happen if a communist revolutionary gave birth to a techno utopian, if gender as performativity was thought through the lens of women making the political decision to live clandestinely in Portugal for a large part of the twentieth century and if the ‘Last Woman’ were the fembot from The Tales of Hoffman.”

How can utopian visions be articulated between the poles of modernity, nostalgia, and technology? How do ideologies consciously or unconsciously find expression in people’s lives? How does the interaction between position, person, and body inform women’s performance, and what sets the latter apart? These questions run through the film as a guiding thread; the narrative structure, by contrast, remains fragmentary. Wardill collages her filmic material in a form that undercuts illusion, deliberately generating discrepancies between image and sound and operating with blanks. Among the fragments she integrates into this narrative are diaristic moments, filmed sequences with props from her studio, 3D footage of ruins, found footage from films in which humans pretend to be machines or dress up as machines and pretend to be animals, and quotes that range from Hannah Arendt, who talked already in the 1950s about the undemocratic principles of tech, to more contemporary writers on the architectural underpinnings of narrative in Hollywood.

As a kind of imaginary home for her mother-and-son couple, Wardill chose the architect António Teixeira Guerra’s family residence, which was completed just before 1974. She shot the material at the time he always chose to invite guests—the magic hour. The subtle play of the setting sun’s rays, the breaking-down of delineations between objects and their shadows, and the way the architecture seems to blend in with its environment are difficult to capture with the camera, and so it often appears that the camera is searching for light and clarity. In the interplay with the narrative, the film thus repeatedly also draws attention to the recording technologies themselves and their own struggle to accurately render reality.

For her installation at the Secession, Wardill weaves a sprawling web out of the video and the props she used in it: two suspended chairs, a witches ball that swings back and forth like a pendulum, cloths faded by sunlight, and a slide projector casting images of the moon into the room through the glass door. Roughly and perfunctorily painted walls underscore the impression of a sketch that is pretending to be a finished piece just as night was pretending to be day.

In the second film in the exhibition, I gave my love a cherry that had no stone (2016), a male dancer is seen wobbling and lurching through the twilit foyer of the Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation in Lisbon. His movements were shot by a camera person pretending to be a drone and a drone pretending to be immaterial. The camera glides through the modernist interior and takes on the nature of a figure in its own right. An empty white shirt appears as a third character, floating across the room and becoming embodied with air. The material and the invisible human presence or agency get mixed up in a space where time itself is able to make huge jumps backward and forward.

Emily Wardill was born in the UK and lives and works in Lisbon.

Emily Wardill
Emily Wardill, Night for Day, 2020, Still

Emily Wardill

Night for Day

18. September – 8. November 2020

Emily Wardill untersucht in ihren Filmen, Fotografien und Objekten die Komplexität von Wahrnehmung und Kommunikation, die Frage nach dem Wahrheitsgehalt der Realität und die Verschiebungen von Inhalt und Form durch die individuelle Natur der Vorstellungskraft. Ihre Werke sind bekannt für ihre sinnlichen, psychologisch aufgeladenen und zugleich gebrochenen Erzählungen. Die Filme, die sie seit Mitte der Nullerjahre dreht, sind zwar meistens durch einen narrativen Rahmen definiert, die Geschichten selbst treten jedoch eher in den Hintergrund. Stattdessen rücken andere Aspekte in den Fokus: die Mechanik des Erzählens, Sprache als plastisches Medium und das Wechselspiel von Geste und Wort.

In der Secession zeigt Emily Wardill erstmals ihr neustes Filmprojekt Night for Day (2020), eine Installation, für die sie den Film und eine Reihe von Skulpturen miteinander verwebt, sowie den Film I gave my love a cherry that had no stone (2016).

Für Night for Day (2020) konstruiert Wardill eine vorgetäuschte Beziehung zwischen einer Mutter und einem Sohn. Als Ausgangsmaterial dienen ihr dabei ausführliche Interviews mit Isabel do Carmo, einer revolutionären Widerstandskämpferin zur Zeit des portugiesischen Faschismus vor 1974, und zwei jungen Männern, Alexander Bridi und Djelal Osman, die als Astrophysiker ein Startup in Lissabon betreiben, in dem sie versuchen, Computer so zu programmieren, dass sie bewegte Bilder erkennen. Wardill nutzt dies, um, wie sie selbst sagt, „darüber nachzudenken, was passieren würde, wenn eine kommunistische Revolutionärin einen Techno-Utopisten zur Welt bringt, wenn man Geschlecht als Performitivität aus der Perspektive von Frauen denken würde, die in Portugal die politische Entscheidung getroffen haben, für einen größeren Teil des 20. Jahrhunderts versteckt zu leben, und wenn die „letzte Frau“ der weibliche Bot aus Hoffmanns Erzählungen wäre.“

Wie lassen sich Utopien im Spannungsfeld von Moderne, Nostalgie und Technologie fassen? Wie drücken sich Ideologien bewusst oder unbewusst im Leben von Menschen aus? Was kennzeichnet die Performance von Frauen im Zusammenspiel von Stellung, Person und Körper? Während sich diese Fragestellungen wie ein roter Faden durch den Film ziehen, bleibt die Struktur der Erzählung bruchstückhaft. Wardill collagiert ihr filmisches Material in einer Form, die Illusion entgegenwirkt, gezielt Diskrepanzen zwischen Bild und Ton erzeugt und mit Leerstellen operiert. Die Fragmente, die sie in ihre Erzählung einbaut, umfassen tagebuchartige Momente, gefilmte Sequenzen mit Requisiten aus ihrem Studio, 3D-Bildmaterial von Ruinen, gefundenes Bildmaterial, das Menschen zeigt, die sich als Maschinen ausgeben oder als Maschinen verkleidet sind und sich als Tiere ausgeben, sowie Zitate von Hannah Arendt, die bereits in den 1950er-Jahren über die undemokratischen Grundlagen von Technologien sprach, bis hin zu zeitgenössischen Quellen über die architektonischen Strukturen in den Erzählungen Hollywoods.

Als eine Art imaginäres Heim von Mutter und Sohn wählt Wardill das kurz vor 1974 fertiggestellte Familienhaus des Architekten António Teixeira Guerra in Lissabon, wo sie zu jener Uhrzeit drehte, zu der er immer Gäste einlud – der magischen Stunde. Die Lichtspiele der untergehenden Sonne, die Auflösung der Grenze zwischen Objekten und ihren Schatten und die Art, wie die Architektur mit ihrer Umgebung verschmilzt, können von der Kamera nur schwer erfasst werden, sodass es oft den Anschein hat, dass die Kamera nach Licht und Klarheit sucht. Im Wechselspiel mit der Narration werden auf diese Weise immer auch die Technologie der Aufnahme und ihr eigenes Ringen um die Wiedergabe von Realität sichtbar.

Für ihre Installation in der Secession knüpft Wardill ein raumüberspannendes Netz aus dem Video und den darin verwendeten Requisiten: zwei hängenden Sesseln, einem Pendel, von der Sonne gebleichte Tücher und ein Diaprojektor, der durch die Glastür Bilder des Mondes von außen in den Raum wirft. Roh und schnell bemalte Wände unterstreichen die Energie einer Skizze, die vorgibt, ein abgeschlossenes Stück zu sein, genau wie die Nacht vorgab, Tag zu sein.

Im zweiten Film der Ausstellung, I gave my love a cherry that had no stone (2016), schwankt und torkelt ein männlicher Tänzer nachts durch das Foyer der Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation in Lissabon. Seine Bewegungen wurden mit einer Kamera, die vorgibt, eine Drohne zu sein, und einer Drohne, die vorgibt, immateriell zu sein, gefilmt. Die Kamera gleitet durch das modernistische Interieur und nimmt den Charakter eines eigenen Akteurs an. Als weitere Figur tritt ein körperloses weißes Hemd auf, das durch den Raum schwebt und sich zu einem Phantomkörper aufbläst. Materielles und Unsichtbares, menschliche Präsenz oder Handlungsfähigkeit geraten auf unheimliche Weise durcheinander in einem Raum, in dem die Zeit selbst weit in die Vergangenheit oder Zukunft springen kann.

Emily Wardill wurde in Großbritannien geboren und lebt und arbeitet in Lissabon.