Edi Hila, Witness, 2017, Courtesy the artist & Kontakt Collection

Edi Hila

September 18 – November 8, 2020

Edi Hila’s pictures of the past thirty years bear witness to the wrenching changes that societies in post-communist Europe have been going through. More particularly, they explore the history of Albania.

The artist’s career has taken a highly unusual course shaped by political upheavals and ideologies. His painting Planting Trees (1972), an optimistic depiction of workers in a forestation program, was found in violation of the prescribed aesthetic of socialist realism for its expressionistic style. The young artist was barred from painting and sentenced to reeducation through forced labor. With his creative development brought to a sudden halt, he focused on drawing for many years, secretly capturing his immediate surroundings and the toil of the working class.

Unlike his many compatriots who left the country after the collapse of the communist regime—numerous pictures illuminate their hasty departure and the life of Albanians in the diaspora—Hila did not emigrate, choosing to stay as an acute observer of everyday life and its changes. Pictures of squares and boulevards devoid of people often offer indirect clues to Albania’s development by tracing its impact on architecture and urban planning. The Penthouses cycle shows the grotesque loft conversions that are fashionable among the newly wealthy winners of the abrupt switch from one economic system to another. In a new series titled 1944, Hila recalls the early days of the communist dictatorship: interiors of abandoned homes refer to the forced displacement of entire families and the deportation of victims of political persecution to labor camps. The works exemplify Hila’s gift for translating humanity’s fateful entanglements, as in political systems, into a visual idiom that is both symbolic and movingly poetic.

Edi Hila was born in Shkodra in 1944 and lives and works in Tirana. He is currently in Berlin on a DAAD fellowship until the summer of 2020.

Edi Hila, Witness, 2017, Courtesy the artist & Kontakt Collection

Edi Hila

18. September – 8. November 2020

Edi Hilas Bilder der letzten 30 Jahre zeugen von den tiefgreifenden Veränderungen, die die Gesellschaften im postkommunistischen Europa erlebt haben. Sie erzählen insbesondere von der spezifischen Geschichte Albaniens.

Die Laufbahn des Künstlers verlief alles andere als gewöhnlich und ist maßgeblich von politischen Wirren und Ideologien geprägt. Sein 1972 gemaltes Bild Planting Trees, ein optimistisches Bild, das ArbeiterInnen beim Pflanzen von Bäumen zeigt und in expressionistischem Gestus gemalt ist, wurde als nicht konform mit der Ästhetik des sozialistischen Realismus eingestuft, der junge Künstler mit Berufsverbot belegt und zu Umerziehungszwecken zu Zwangsarbeit verurteilt. Seine künstlerische Entwicklung stagnierte und für viele Jahre konzentrierte er sich auf heimlich angefertigte Zeichnungen, die sein unmittelbares Umfeld und das Schaffen der arbeitenden Klasse reflektierten.

Anders als viele seine Landsleute, die nach dem Zusammenbruch des kommunistischen Regimes das Land verließen – zahlreiche Bilder des Künstlers thematisieren diese Flucht und Diaspora –, ist Hila nicht ausgewandert, sondern ein genauer Beobachter des Alltagslebens und der Veränderung geblieben. Menschenleere Bilder von Plätzen und Boulevards zeigen die Entwicklung Albaniens oft indirekt, anhand der Spuren in Architektur und Stadtplanung. Der Bilderzyklus Penthouses zeigt groteske Dachausbauten, wie sie bei den neureichen Gewinnern des Systemwechsels in Mode sind. In der neuen Werkserie mit dem Titel 1944 ruft Hila den Beginn der kommunistischen Diktatur in Erinnerung: Interieur verlassener Häuser verweisen auf die Vertreibung ganzer Familien und die Deportation politisch Verfolgter in Arbeitslager. Auch hier zeigt sich wieder, wie Hila die schicksalhafte Verstrickung des Menschen etwa in politische Systeme in eine symbolische und gleichzeitig poetische Sprache übersetzt.

Edi Hila, 1944 in Shkodra geboren, lebt und arbeitet in Tirana. Bis Sommer 2020 ist er DAAD-Stipendiat in Berlin.