Ed Ruscha, Went to Sleep..., 2011, acrylic on vellum, 39,4 x 39,4 cm. Courtesy the artist and Gagosian Gallery

Ed Ruscha

November 16, 2018 – January 20, 2019

Ed Ruscha has been one of the most influential American artists since the 1950s; his groundbreaking work has shaped our understanding of contemporary art. Disavowing the gestural painting of American abstract expressionism, he devised a creative practice between minimalism, Pop art, and conceptualism. Research, innovation, and experimentation as well as the emphasis on critical reason rather than emotional involvement define his style.

With works like Twentysix Gasoline Stations (1963) and Every Building on the Sunset Strip (1965), Ruscha put his stamp on the history of twentieth-century art. Taking sober-minded photographs and arranging them in indexical sequence in meticulously designed and self-published artist’s books, he compiled catalogues of life in Los Angeles and on the American West Coast that made him a pioneer of conceptual art. Ruscha’s paintings, which constitute the bulk of his oeuvre, stand out for their formal austerity and rigor and his abstention from gestural and expressive forms. The American West and Los Angeles are his primary sources of motifs, which usually appear in combination with painted words or sentences.

Besides Jasper Johns, Ruscha has mentioned Futurism and Dadaism as important points of reference in his work. The Futurists’ rejection of naturalism led them to champion the beauty of the world of technology and an idealized aesthetic of the machine, which they preferred over natural objects. Even more than the works of the Italian Futurists, Dadaist art appealed to Ruscha with its play with the absurd and paradoxical.

Making similar work around the same time, artists including John Baldessari, Douglas Huebler, Joseph Kosuth, Jan Dibbets, and John Hilliard who appeared on the scene in the late 1960s and were grouped together under the label conceptual art adopted Ruscha’s ostensibly banal procedures with their characteristic blend of irony and pseudo-scientific accuracy and refined them in various ways. With his conceptual approach to photography and choice of motifs rather than his demotion of the medium to a mere instrument of recording, he has also been an influential innovator in artistic photography.

Ed Ruscha, born in 1937 in Omaha (Nebraska), lives and works in Los Angeles.

Edward Ruscha, Went to Sleep..., 2011, Acryl auf Pergament, 39,4 x 39,4 cm. Courtesy der Künstler und Gagosian Gallery

Ed Ruscha

Mitte November 2018 – Mitte Januar 2019

Ed Ruscha prägte ab den 1950er-Jahren die Kunstentwicklung in den USA und mit ihr das aktuelle Verständnis von Gegenwartskunst entscheidend mit. In Abgrenzung von der gestischen Malerei des amerikanischen abstrakten Expressionismus entwickelte er seine künstlerische Praxis zwischen Minimalismus, Pop Art und Konzeptkunst. Recherche, Innovation und Experiment sowie kritische Distanz und eine rationale und nicht-emotionale Haltung prägen seinen Stil.

Ruscha hat sich mit Werken wie Twentysix Gasoline Stations (1963) und Every Building on the Sunset Strip (1965) in die Kunstgeschichte des 20. Jahrhunderts eingeschrieben. Mit sachlich aufgenommenen und in Künstlerbüchern, die er selbst konzipierte und herausgab, indexikalisch angeordneten Fotografien erstellte er Verzeichnisse des Lebens in Los Angeles und der amerikanischen Westküste. Die konzeptuellen Künstlerbücher machten ihn zu einem Vorreiter der Konzeptkunst. Ruschas Malerei, die den größten Teil seiner künstlerischen Praxis ausmacht, zeichnet sich durch formale Reduktion und Strenge aus sowie durch die Zurücknahme gestischer und expressiver Formen. Der amerikanische Westen und Los Angeles sind seine zentralen Motivquellen, meist verschränkt mit gemalten Worten und Sätzen.

Neben Jasper Johns nennt Ruscha Futurismus und Dadaismus als wichtige Bezugspunkte seiner Arbeit. In ihrer Abkehr vom Naturalismus propagierten die Futuristen die Schönheit der technischen Welt und die ästhetische Idealisierung der Maschinen, denen sie den Vorzug gaben vor den natürlichen Dingen. Mehr noch als von den italienischen Futuristen fühlte sich Ruscha von der dadaistischen Kunst und ihrem Spiel mit Absurdität und Paradox angesprochen.

Künstler wie John Baldessari, Douglas Huebler, Joseph Kosuth, Jan Dibbets und John Hilliard, die seit dem Ende der 1960er-Jahre unter dem Label Conceptual Art gemeinsam ausgestellt wurden, produzierten zeitgleich ähnliche Arbeiten und griffen die vordergründig banalen, zum Teil ironischen, zum Teil pseudowissenschaftlichen Verfahrensweisen Ruschas auf und entwickelten diese weiter. Nicht durch die Degradierung der Fotografie zum schlichten Aufzeichnungsinstrument, sondern über das konzeptionelle Vorgehen und die Wahl der Bildgegenstände wird Ruscha auch zu einem Wegbereiter künstlerischer Fotografie.

Ed Ruscha, geboren 1937 in Omaha (Nebraska), lebt und arbeitet in Los Angeles.