Daniel Dewar & Grégory Gicquel
Daniel Dewar & Grégory Gicquel, Oak dresser with harnessed oxen, 2019, Daniel Dewar & Grégory Gicquel, exhibition view Secession 2021, photo: Sophie Thun

Daniel Dewar & Grégory Gicquel

March 26 – June 20, 2021

At first glance, the artist duo Daniel Dewar and Grégory Gicquel’s works may seem like anachronisms in this era of the ascent of digital technology: the two have spent years experimenting with a wide range of materials and techniques that they first had to teach themselves and for which they sometimes even needed to make their own equipment such as weaving frames or wood-fired furnaces. They cut stone, carve wood, mold clay and ceramics, and take up artisanal techniques like embroidery and weaving. Both emphasize the importance of executing their works with their own means, using traditional and modern tools and reviving production processes rooted in various crafts that are being superseded by technical automation. They break with tradition by combining their media with incongruous motifs: the entrails, animal parts, or human limbs, for example, that seem to grow from massive oaken chests and cabinets make for a sight that is as amusing as it is disconcerting.

Humans, animals, and plants coalesce into a bizarre and sensual new creation in works that exude the conviction that the same lifeblood courses through all beings and manifests itself even in the cut and dressed wood or marble block. Displacing forms out of their original contexts and assembling them in fanciful hybrids, Dewar & Gicquel produce absurd objects—glimpses, like chimeras or the creatures of legend, of an alternate reality.

At the Secession, Dewar & Gicquel present altogether sixteen works, extending the series of oakwood sculptures they began in 2017. They are hybrids in several respects: between sculpture and furniture, between autonomous work of art and object of utility, between inanimate object and animate creature—human, animal, and plant. The massive oakwood objects are studded with intricately carved and meticulously executed grotesque figurative elements such as arms, noses, gourds, courgettes, and oxen and pig heads that seem to grow out of the chests, cabinets, and dressers. The artists describe their most recent sculptures as a “rendezvous of animals of different species and a range of vegetables (…) as mammalian fantasies and pastoral hallucinations.”

These works, some of which make their debut in the show, are complemented by a 2015 series of handmade ceramic sculptures that emulate off-the-shelf sanitary ware and introduce the discourse of specific materials as well as the varied artistic play with the commonplace and banal to the exhibition. The duo’s engagement with the codes, traditions, and conventions of art as well as their mischievous humor speak even from their most inconspicuous pieces.

Daniel Dewar was born in Forest of Dean (GB) in 1976 and lives and works in Brussels (BE).

Grégory Gicquel was born in Saint-Brieuc (FR) in 1975 and lives and works in Plévenon (FR).

Daniel Dewar & Grégory Gicquel
Daniel Dewar & Grégory Gicquel, Oak dresser with harnessed oxen, 2019, Ausstellungsansicht Secession 2021, Foto: Sophie Thun

Daniel Dewar & Grégory Gicquel

26. März – 20. Juni 2021

Das Werk des Künstlerduos Daniel Dewar und Grégory Gicquel scheint in einer Zeit zunehmender Digitalisierung auf den ersten Blick anachronistisch: Über die Jahre experimentierten die beiden mit einer Vielzahl von Materialien und Techniken, die sie zunächst autodidaktisch erlernten und für die sie teilweise auch die Arbeitsmittel wie Webrahmen oder holzbefeuerte Brennöfen herstellten. Sie hauen Stein, schnitzen Holz, formen Ton und Keramik und greifen auch handwerkliche Techniken wie Sticken und Weben auf. Dass sie ihre Werke selbst ausführen, unter Zuhilfenahme von traditionellen und modernen Werkzeugen, ist den beiden wichtig. Den Künstlern geht es dabei stets um Herstellungsverfahren, die ihren Ursprung in verschiedenen Handwerken haben, jedoch im Zuge der technischen Automatisierung immer weniger präsent sind. Den Bruch mit der Tradition stellen die beiden durch die Verbindung der Medien mit ihren Motiven dar: Massive Kästen und Schränke aus Eichenholz beispielsweise, aus denen Eingeweide, Tierteile oder menschliche Gliedmaßen hervorwachsen, amüsieren und irritieren gleichermaßen.

In ihren Werken verschmelzen Menschen, Tiere und Pflanzen zu einer bizarren und sinnlichen Einheit. Sie sind durchdrungen von der Idee, dass der gleiche Lebenssaft durch alle und alles fließt und sogar das gefällte, bearbeite Holz oder der behauene Marmorblock noch Zeugnis davon ablegen. Durch Kontextverschiebung und phantasievolle Kombinationen schaffen Dewar & Gicquel absurde Objekte, die wie Chimären oder Fabelwesen einer anderen Wirklichkeit angehören.

Dewar & Gicquel zeigen in der Secession insgesamt 16 Werke und setzen ihre 2017 begonnene Arbeit an Skulpturen aus Eichenholz fort, die in mehrfacher Hinsicht Hybride sind: zwischen Skulptur und Möbel, zwischen autonomem Kunstwerk und Gebrauchsgegenstand, zwischen unbelebtem Objekt und beseeltem Wesen wie Mensch, Tier und Pflanze. Die massiv gearbeiteten Eichenskulpturen sind mit grotesk erscheinenden, fein geschnitzten und ausgearbeiteten figurativen Elementen wie Armen, Nasen, Kürbissen, Zucchini, Ochsen- und Schweineköpfen übersäht, die aus den Kästen, Schränken und Kommoden herauszuwachsen scheinen. Die Künstler beschreiben ihre jüngsten Skulpturen als „Treffpunkt von Tieren unterschiedlicher Spezies und einer Vielfalt von Gemüsen (…) als Fantasien von Säugetieren und pastorale Halluzinationen“.

Gegenübergestellt werden diese zum Teil neu produzierten Werke einer Serie von handgefertigten Keramikskulpturen aus 2015, die handelsübliche Sanitärkeramiken nachahmen und die neben dem materialspezifischen Diskurs das wechselvolle Spiel der Kunst mit dem Gewöhnlichen und Banalen in die Ausstellung einführen. Die Auseinandersetzung mit künstlerischen Codes, Traditionen und Konventionen steckt ebenso wie schelmischer Humor im geringsten Werk des Künstlerduos.

Daniel Dewar, geboren 1976 in Forest of Dean (GB), lebt und arbeitet in Brüssel (BE).

Grégory Gicquel, geboren 1975 in Saint-Brieuc (FR), lebt und arbeitet in Plévenon (FR).