Charlotte Prodger
Charlotte Prodger, SaF05, 2019 (video still), 39’00", © Charlotte Prodger, Courtesy the artist, Hollybush Gardens, London and Kendall Koppe, Glasgow

Charlotte Prodger

September 16 – November 6, 2022

For more than 20 years, in addition to photography, sculpture, and texts, various forms of film and video have been the focus of Charlotte Prodger’s work, which deals with questions of gender politics, individuality, and freedom. The basis of her critical attitude towards social norms is a rootedness in queer culture. In her work, she presents the effects of prevailing structures and social norms on humans. She is concerned with free spaces and unencumbered pre-forms of social life that allow the individual to develop unhindered.

Prodger has followed, in real time as it were, the rapid progress in the field of video technology up to the advent of smartphone cameras and in recent years she has filmed almost exclusively with her smartphone, which has become a physical extension of the body for her. She is fascinated with its potential as prosthesis, as a connection between body and machine, as a nexus of the individual to the world through social media. The relationship of technology with the society that produces it as well as the inseparable relationship between form and content are the foundations for Prodger, whose work combines autobiographical topics with material from paleontology, anthropology, sociology, and art history.

Prodger’s films are always based on personal research and are correspondingly subjectively colored. In her films and texts, the audience can experience intimate aspects of her life in brutal detail. Like an archaeologist, her work reveals a long tradition of queer culture. In contrast to this are the minimalist sculptural elements that she creates for her film presentations. They signify an objective, deterministic attitude and accentuate the work’s own contrast between personal development and structural restriction in a binary social system. In her work, these contradictions are combined in impressive images of subtle-sensual quality.

Prodger won the renowned Turner Prize in 2018.

Programmed by the board of the Secession
Curated by Bettina Spörr

Charlotte Prodger, born in 1974 in Bournemouth, GB, lives and works in Glasgow.

Charlotte Prodger
Charlotte Prodger, SaF05, 2019 (Video Still), 39’00", © Charlotte Prodger, Courtesy die Künstlerin, Hollybush Gardens, London und Kendall Koppe, Glasgow

Charlotte Prodger

16. September – 6. November 2022

Seit über 20 Jahren stehen neben Fotografie, Skulptur und Texten vor allem unterschiedliche Formen von Film und Video im Mittelpunkt der Arbeit von Charlotte Prodger, die darin Fragen zu Genderpolitik, Individualität und Freiheit behandelt. Basis ihrer kritischen Haltung gegenüber gesellschaftlichen Normen bildet die Verwurzelung in der Queerkultur. Sie reflektiert in ihrem Werk die Auswirkungen herrschender Strukturen und sozialer Normen auf den Menschen. Es geht ihr um Freiräume und unbelastete Vorformen des gesellschaftlichen Lebens, die es dem Individuum gestatten, sich ungehindert zu entfalten.

Den rasanten Fortschritt im Bereich der Videotechnologie bis hin zum Aufkommen der Smartphone-Kameras hat Prodger gewissermaßen in Echtzeit verfolgt und in den letzten Jahren hat sie fast ausschließlich mit ihrem Smartphone gefilmt, das für sie zu einer physischen Erweiterung des Körpers wurde. Sie ist fasziniert von seinem Potential als Prothese, als Verbindung von Körper und Maschine, als Verbindung des Individuums zur Welt durch soziale Medien. Die Beziehung von Technologie mit der sie hervorbringenden Gesellschaft sowie das untrennbare Verhältnis von Form und Inhalt sind Grundlagen für Prodger, die in ihren Werken Autobiografisches mit Themen aus Paläontologie, Anthropologie, Soziologie und Kunstgeschichte miteinander verbindet.

Prodgers Filme gehen immer von persönlichen Recherchen aus und sind entsprechend subjektiv gefärbt. Das Publikum erfährt in ihren Filmen bzw. Texten schonungslos intime Details aus ihrem Leben. Einer Archäologin gleich, legt ihr Werk die Sicht auf eine lange kulturelle Tradition von Queerkultur frei. Im Gegensatz dazu stehen die minimalistischen skulpturalen Elemente, die sie für die Präsentation ihrer Filme schafft. Sie stehen für eine objektive, deterministische Haltung und akzentuieren den dem Werk eigenen Gegensatz zwischen persönlicher Entfaltung und struktureller Einschränkung in einem binär geprägten gesellschaftlichen System. In ihrem Schaffen verbinden sich diese Widersprüche in eindrücklichen Bildern von subtil-sinnlicher Qualität.

2018 gewann Prodger den renommierten Turner Prize.

Programmiert vom Vorstand der Secession
Kuratiert von Bettina Spörr

Charlotte Prodger, geboren 1974 in Bournemouth, GB, lebt und arbeitet in Glasgow.