Bouchra Khalili, The Speeches Series, 2012-2013, video trilogy, Speeches – Chapter 1: Mother Tongue, 2012 (video still), Courtesy of the artist and Galerie Polaris, Paris, Commissioned for Intense Proximity, La Triennale, Palais de Tokyo, Paris, 2012

Bouchra Khalili

April 13 – June 17, 2018

The Moroccan-French artist Bouchra Khalili’s work addresses themes of migration and citizenship, community, subjectivity, minorities, and solidarity as well as (native) language, tradition, self-empowerment, and the art of storytelling. She subjects hegemonic narratives to critical scrutiny and establishes and pursues an “alternative historiography,” primarily in the media of video, photography, and installation art. For instance, she puts the focus on forms of resistance and its discourses rooted in the colonial past and upheld by minorities and marginalized groups.

In often technically complex installations, the artist engages with contemporary documentary practices, devising a lucid and formally precise visual idiom for a probing examination of the limitations of ethical as well as aesthetic conventions.

The Mapping Journey Project (2008–11) exemplifies this creative approach. The eight-channel video installation represents an attempt to sketch an alternative cartography of the Mediterranean world by tracing the clandestine routes of illegal migration. The artist asked illegal immigrants to show her the itineraries that had brought them to Europe on a political map of the Mediterranean region. The gesture of pointing is a defining element, underscoring the active part played by the protagonists, who comment on their journeys in their respective native languages and dialects. People who often live in the shadows in their new countries, whose voices go unheard, reclaim the authorship of their own stories.


Bouchra Khalili was born in Casablanca, Morocco, in 1975. She currently lives and works in Boston, Mass., as a Radcliffe Institute fellow at Harvard University.

Bouchra Khalili, Speeches - Chapter 1: Mother Tongue, 2012, Digital-Film, 23’, von The Speeches Series, Videotrilogie, 2012-2013, beauftragt für Intense Proximity, La Triennale, 2012. Ansicht auf Intense Proximity, La Triennale, Palais de Tokyo, Paris, 2012. Courtesy die Künstlerin und Galerie Polaris, Paris

Bouchra Khalili

12. April – 17. Juni 2018

Die marokkanisch-französische Künstlerin Bouchra Khalili beschäftigt sich mit Themen der Migration und Bürgerschaft, Gemeinschaft, Subjektivität, Minderheiten und Solidarität sowie mit (Mutter-) Sprache, Überlieferung, Selbstermächtigung und Erzählkunst. Sie hinterfragt hegemoniale Narrative kritisch und begründet und betreibt, vorwiegend mittels Video, Fotografie und Installation, eine „alternative Geschichtsschreibung“. Diese fokussiert beispielsweise auf Formen des Widerstands und dessen Diskurse, die auf die koloniale Vergangenheit zurückzuführen sind und von Minoritäten und Randgruppen vertreten werden.

In technisch oft komplexen Installationen setzt sich die Künstlerin mit der aktuellen Praxis des Dokumentarischen auseinander und treibt diese Entwicklungen mit ihrer klaren und formal präzisen Bildsprache sowohl ethisch als auch ästhetisch voran.

The Mapping Journey Project (2008–11) steht exemplarisch für diesen künstlerischen Ansatz. Die Achtkanal-Videoinstallation ist der Versuch einer alternativen Kartographierung der Mittelmeerregion, die anhand der heimlichen Reiserouten illegaler Migration gezeichnet wird. Die Künstlerin bat hierfür illegal Eingewanderte die Wege, die sie nach Europa genommen hatten, auf der politischen Landkarte des Mittelmeerraums zu zeigen. Die Geste des Zeigens ist ein bestimmendes Element und unterstreicht die aktive Rolle der ProtagonistInnen, die in ihren jeweiligen Muttersprachen und Dialekten ihre Reisen kommentieren. Sie, die im Einwanderungsland oft ein Schattendasein führen und deren Stimmen nicht gehört werden, haben hier die Autorschaft über ihre eigene Geschichte.

mehr

Bouchra Khalili, geboren 1975 in Casablanca (Marokko), lebt und arbeitet dank eines Radcliffe Institute Stipendiums der Harvard University gegenwärtig in Boston (Massachusetts).