Anthea Hamilton, reimagines Kettle’s Yard, 2016, exhibition view The Hepworth Wakefield. Courtesy the artist, Kettle’s Yard and The Hepworth Wakefield, Photo: Stuart Whipps

Anthea Hamilton

beginning of September – beginning of November 2018

The British artist Anthea Hamilton’s interdisciplinary interest in performance is evident in her three-dimensional arrangements, theatrical ensembles whose tableau-like quality makes them reminiscent of stage sceneries or film sets. Her sculptures, idiosyncratic constructions precariously balanced between emergence and collapse, function like props for stories that remain to be told.

The work of the artist, who was nominated for the Turner Prize in 2016, grows out of wide-ranging research, whether she explores strands in cultural history such as the roots of 1970s disco, art-historical references like Art Nouveau, Italian furniture design or ancient Japanese theatre, documentary photography or lichen. Each subject is studied closely and used as a lens through which to understand the world.

Asked about her sources of inspiration, Hamilton has frequently mentioned the French writer Antonin Artaud and his idea of a “physical knowledge of images.” It is this bodily response to an idea or an image that she wants us to experience when we encounter her work and its use of unexpected materials, scale and humour; like the off-kilter proportions of the various elements, they attest to the fine sense of humour that sustains her art. Many of her installations incorporate objects that caught her attention because of their tactile qualities or fascinating oddness. Other works grow out of autobiographical references and allusions to Hamilton’s own body; cut-outs of her legs have come to be regarded as a leitmotif in her oeuvre.

Anthea Hamilton, born in 1978 in London, lives and works in London.

Anthea Hamilton, reimagines Kettle’s Yard, 2016, Installationsansicht The Hepworth Wakefield. Courtesy die Künstlerin, Kettle’s Yard und The Hepworth Wakefield, Foto: Stuart Whipps

Anthea Hamilton

Anfang September – Mitte November 2018

Vor dem Hintergrund ihres interdisziplinären Interesses an Performance entwickelt die britische Künstlerin Anthea Hamilton räumliche Inszenierungen, die durch ihre Ausrichtung auf eine Schauseite an Bühnenbilder oder Filmsets erinnern. Ihre Skulpturen, eigenwillige Gebilde an der Kippe von Entstehung und Zusammenbruch, fungieren darin wie Requisiten für Geschichten, die erst erzählt werden müssen.

Den Arbeiten der 2016 für den Turner Prize nominierten Künstlerin geht stets eine tiefgehende Recherche voraus, unabhängig davon ob es sich um die Auseinandersetzung mit kulturellen Strömungen wie dem Phänomen Disco der 1970er-Jahre, um kunsthistorische Bezugspunkte wie den Jugendstil, italienisches Möbeldesign oder das traditionelle japanische Theater, Dokumentarfotografie oder um Flechten handelt, welche sie als eine Art Linse für das Verständnis der Welt begreift.

Als wichtige Inspirationsquelle zitiert Hamilton wiederholt den französischen Autor Antonin Artaud und seine Idee des „physischen Verständnisses von Bildern“. Es ist genau diese körperliche Erfahrung, die sie hervorrufen möchte, wenn man ihren Kunstwerken begegnet, die aus unerwarteten, unorthodox verwendeten Materialien bestehen, deren Größenverhältnisse überraschen und die letztlich von einem subtilen Humor getragen sind. Vielfach findet die Künstlerin Gegenstände, die dank ihrer haptischen Qualitäten oder ihres bestechenden Aussehens Eingang in ihre Installationen finden. Auch Autobiografisches und Verweise auf Hamiltons eigenen Körper sind wiederholt Gegenstand der Arbeiten, wobei Cut-Outs von ihren Beinen bereits als eines ihrer Leitmotive gelten.

Anthea Hamilton, geboren 1978 in London, lebt und arbeitet in London.