Anoka Faruqee, The Visible Spectrum, exhibition view, Secession 2017, Photo: Iris Ranzinger

Anoka Faruqee

The Visible Spectrum

April 6 – June 25, 2017

The American artist Anoka Faruqee’s abstract paintings are characterized by pulsating optical and chromatic effects. Patterns and motifs recur in her pictures as she adjusts and permutates them in apparently infinite variations in order to plumb the laws of painting. One of her central aims is to create a tension between atmospheric impressions of light and illusion and the material nature of color and paint.

In her exhibition at the Secession—her first institutional solo show in Europe—Faruqee presents selections from the Moiré Paintings, Circle Paintings, and Wave Paintings series, on which she has worked since 2012. In these works, the artist explores the optical pattern that appears where wave formations or magnetic fields interfere with each other; it can often be observed on computer screens. Critical to her methodical engagement with the phenomenon is that she conceives of pattern not as superficial decoration but as a physical structure built up of modular forms and colors. Her pictures are set apart by their subtly modeled shimmer and dynamic depth. The visually interwoven layers of the pattern are brought to iridescent life by elusive superimpositions of vantage points between movement and rest.

“I am interested,” the artist says, “in how the iteration of modular bits of information, the dissolution of figure and ground, the integration of color and form, and the use of multiple viewpoints and axes of symmetry provide a counter-history to the monocular vision of perspectival drawing and analogue photography.”*

more

Anoka Faruqee, born in 1972 in Ann Arbor (Michigan, USA), lives and works in New Haven (Connecticut, USA).

Anoka Faruqee, The Visible Spectrum, Ausstellungsansicht, Secession 2017, Foto: Iris Ranzinger

Anoka Faruqee

The Visible Spectrum

6. April – 25. Juni 2017

Die abstrakte Malerei der amerikanischen Künstlerin Anoka Faruqee ist gekennzeichnet durch pulsierende, optische und chromatische Effekte. Wiederkehrendes Motiv ihrer Bilder sind Muster und Texturen, die sie scheinbar unendlich justiert und durch kleine Permutationen variiert, um die Gesetzmäßigkeiten der Malerei auszuloten. Eines ihrer zentralen Anliegen ist dabei, eine Spannung zwischen atmosphärischen Lichteindrücken und Illusionen sowie der Materialität von Farbe zu erzeugen.

In der Secession, wo ihre erste institutionelle Ausstellung in Europa stattfindet, zeigt Faruqee eine Auswahl ihrer seit 2012 entstandenen Werkgruppen Moiré Paintings, Circle Paintings und Wave Paintings. Mit dem Moiré-Muster widmet sich die Künstlerin jenem optischen Phänomen, das durch Interferenzen in Wellenformationen und magnetischen Feldern und auf Computerbildschirmen entsteht. Wesentlich für ihre systematische Auseinandersetzung ist, dass sie das Muster nicht als an der Oberfläche haftendes Dekor, sondern als eine körperliche, aus modularen Formen und Farben aufgebaute Struktur versteht. Ihre Bilder zeichnen sich durch ein modelliertes Schimmern und eine große Dynamik der Tiefe aus. Die visuell miteinander verbundenen Schichten des Musters changieren durch die schwer zu erfassenden Überlagerungen von Blickpunkten zwischen Bewegung und Stillstand.

„Ich interessiere mich“, so die Künstlerin, „dafür, wie die Wiederholung modularer Informationseinheiten, die Auflösung von Figur und Grund, die Integration von Farbe und Form und die Verwendung mehrerer Blickpunkte und Symmetrieachsen eine alternative Geschichte zur Starrheit des Blicks in perspektivischer Zeichnung und analoger Fotografie erkennen lassen.“

mehr

Anoka Faruqee, geboren 1972 in Ann Arbor (Michigan, USA), lebt und arbeitet in New Haven (Connecticut, USA).