Anne Speier, Die Schwestern Fleiß, 2018, exhibition view Secession 2018, photo: Secession, Courtesy the artist and Galerie Meyer Kainer

Anne Speier

September 14 – November 4, 2018

Many of Anne Speier’s works document the distensions and deformations that objects and figures undergo in order to both understand and transcend the limitations of the meaning ascribed to them, their potentials and interrelations. Yet the artist also subjects the media she works with to such stretching. Aesthetic qualities are one way to defy certain expectations; absurdity and otherness are another.

In her exhibition in the Secession’s sublevel gallery, Speier intertwines painting and sculpture in a kind of utopian architecture, short-circuiting its spatial premises with its metaphorical purport. The show examines the challenges that teachers and students at art schools face along images and installations that limn psycho-emotional topographies.
They counter the distrust of art education and the associated hierarchical understanding of aesthetic phenomena with an ambivalent desire for the responsibility that is needed for analyzing the objects in one’s environment and making something new out of them.

The point of departure is an empty space rendered in a series of industrially manufactured silkscreen prints on various media in colors determined by an algorithm. These elements serve to furnish the existing underground space with architectural components: exterior façades that address persistent stereotypes; niches in which scenes from a school production play out; roofs and additional basements. The middle of the room, the central and representative scene of the exhibiting institution, remains as a figurative blank space.

more

Anne Speier was born in Frankfurt am Main in 1977 and studied at Frankfurt’s Städelschule. She currently lives in Vienna, where she teaches in the Object Sculpture Studio at the Academy of Fine Arts.

Anne Speier, Die Schwestern Fleiß, 2018, Installationsansicht Secession 2018, Foto: Secession, Courtesy die Künstlerin und Galerie Meyer Kainer

Anne Speier

14. September – 4. November 2018

Die Arbeiten von Anne Speier dokumentieren häufig, wie sich Objekte und Figuren dehnen und verformen, um einerseits die Grenzen der ihnen zugeschriebenen Bedeutung, ihre Möglichkeiten und Beziehungen zueinander zu verstehen und andererseits über sie hinauszugelangen. Genauso dehnt die Künstlerin aber auch die Medien selbst, mit denen sie arbeitet. Ästhetik ist dabei ein Mittel, bestimmte Erwartungen auszuhebeln, Absurdität und Andersartigkeit sind ein anderes.

In ihrer Ausstellung im Untergeschoss der Secession verschränkt Anne Speier Malerei und Skulptur zu einer Form von utopischer Architektur, deren räumliche Bedingung mit ihrer metaphorischen Bedeutung kurzgeschlossen wird.

Die Ausstellung untersucht die Herausforderungen, vor die Lehrende und Studierende sich an einer Bildungsinstitution für Kunst gestellt sehen. Dazu folgt sie Bildern und Installationen, die als psycho-emotionale Topografien dem Misstrauen gegen die Kunstausbildung und damit der Hierarchisierung von Ästhetik einen ambivalenten Wunsch nach der Verantwortung entgegensetzen, die es braucht, um die umgebenden Dinge zu sezieren und daraus Neues schaffen zu können.

mehr

Anne Speier, geboren 1977 in Frankfurt am Main, studierte dort an der Städelschule und lebt derzeit in Wien, wo sie im Fachbereich für Objekt-Bildhauerei der Akademie der bildenden Künste unterrichtet.