Anna Daučíková
Anna Daučíková, installation view Expedition for Four Hands and Accompaniment, 2019, commisioned by KW-Institute for Contemporary Art

Anna Daučíková

September 16 – November 6, 2022

Anna Daučíková is a pioneer of feminist-queer art in Slovakia and the Czech Republic; as a professor first in Bratislava and after 2011 in Prague, she remains today among the most influential personalities and forward thinkers in the area of queer theory and practice.

After completing her studies at the Academy of Fine Art Bratislava (1972–1978), Anna Daučíková moved to Moscow, where she first dealt with abstract and numerical painting and recently, with photographic documentation of everyday life during the late phase of the Soviet Union. In 1991 she returned to Bratislava and, as co-founder of the feminist magazine Aspekt, she was significantly involved in making feminist and queer discourses visible in the Slovak art scene. During this time, she explored, in collaboration with other women artists, feminist approaches in the medium of performance at a number of festivals.

Her artistic practice includes various media, from painting and drawing to photography, performance, installation, and moving images. In recent decades, in addition to her many years of teaching at several art academies, she has focused on video work. After a period of exploring the potentials of queering, desire, and non-normative sexuality, she turned to the video essay, bringing in social issues such as poverty, post-Soviet trauma, and memory. The video works of recent years transport queer statements, whereby the artist’s own body and body movements are accompanied by a voiceover narrative.

Programmed by the board of the Secession
Curated by Jeanette Pacher

Anna Daučíková, born in 1950 in Bratislava, lives and works in Prague and Bratislava.

Anna Daučíková
Anna Daučíková, Ausstellungsansicht Expedition for Four Hands and Accompaniment, 2019, in Auftrag gegeben von KW-Institute for Contemporary Art

Anna Daučíková

16. September – 6. November 2022

Anna Daučíková ist eine Pionierin feministisch-queerer Kunst in der Slowakei und in Tschechien und als Professorin zunächst in Bratislava und seit 2011 in Prag eine bis heute einflussreiche Persönlichkeit und Vordenkerin im Bereich queerer Theorie und Praxis.

Nach Abschluss ihres Studiums an der Kunstakademie Bratislava (1972–1978) zog Anna Daučíková nach Moskau, wo sie sich zunächst mit abstrakter und numerischer Malerei und zuletzt mit der fotografischen Dokumentation des Alltagslebens in der Spätphase der Sowjetunion auseinandersetzte. 1991 kehrte sie nach Bratislava zurück und war als Mitbegründerin der feministischen Zeitschrift Aspekt maßgeblich an der Sichtbarmachung feministischer und queerer Diskurse in der slowakischen Kunstszene beteiligt. Während dieser Zeit erkundete sie in Zusammenarbeit mit anderen Künstlerinnen auf einer Reihe von Festivals feministische Ansätze im Medium der Performance.

Ihre künstlerische Praxis umfasst verschiedene Medien, von Malerei und Zeichnung bis hin zu Fotografie, Performance, Installation und Bewegtbild. In den letzten Jahrzehnten stand neben ihrer langjährigen Lehrtätigkeit an verschiedenen Kunstakademien die Videoarbeit im Mittelpunkt. Nach einer Phase des Erkundens der Potenziale des Queerings, des Begehrens und der nicht-normativen Sexualität wandte sie sich dem Videoessay zu und brachte gesellschaftliche Themen wie Armut, post-sowjetisches Trauma und Erinnerung ein. Die Videoarbeiten der letzten Jahre transportieren queere Statements, wobei der eigene Körper und die Körperbewegungen der Künstlerin von einer Voiceover-Erzählung begleitet werden.

Programmiert vom Vorstand der Secession
Kuratiert von Jeanette Pacher

Anna Daučíková, geboren 1950 in Bratislava, lebt und arbeitet in Prag und Bratislava.