August 16, 2022

Tuesday@Secession:
Stefan Reiterer with Georg Petermichl
Huda Takriti

Event series

For the seventh event of the Tuesday@Secession series we cordially invite you to an evening in the garden of the Secession. There will be contributions by Stefan Reiterer with Georg Petermichl as well as by Huda Takriti.

8 p.m. – Stefan Reiterer with Georg Petermichl

Stefan Reiterer and Georg Petermichl would like to tell you something really important:
I keep getting inquiries as to whether you can take in those that are supposedly used to freedom and that have been fed outside all summer, that perhaps don’t even belong to you, without them missing the freedom. They do like to climb trees, but they are all happy when they can get inside especially before winter starts, before winter sets in, when they feel the security and warmth of a home. They sleep for hours, they dream. And you can replace the trees for them with a board. So please with them, not to forget that. And take everyone you can, from the summer house or wherever, to live with you in the apartment. They will thank you for it.

Stefan Reiterer and Georg Petermichl have collaboratively created a Skydancer sculpture, which they gave the name Muli. Through air supply the larger-than-life sculpture expands and starts to dance. Like the animals of the same name, Muli is a hybrid. Skydancers are common as marketing tools in public space. Thanks to their height and fast movement they are supposed to catch the view of passers-by to make them aware of a shop. The sculpture Muli was made from tigered fabric and reflective materials in the workshop of the fashion label Ferrari Zöchling. Depending on the time of the day, Muli’s appearance changes. In daylight the tigered pattern is visible, which disappears when it’s dark. Then the silhouette is shaped by the reflective, glowing parts. The space in which Muli dances will be acoustically shaped by Juliana Lindenhofer with a DJ set from 11 p.m. In her artistic practice she addresses hybrid forms between human and non-human as bearer for new potentials.

Stefan Reiterer mit Georg Petermichl

Georg Petermichl & Stefan Reiterer, Muli, Aufblasbare Skulptur, 2022, Maße variabel, Video Still: Stefan Reiterer

 

10 p.m. – Huda Takriti
For this event, Huda Takriti has organised a screening programme of three video works. At first, they may seem disconnected but, further on, it becomes clear that the common thread between them is an unexpected turn of events – glitches, miscalculations and interruptions that contain the possibilities of openings for new opportunities and alternative interpretations.

In It Appeared as a Falling Star (2021), Lara Reichmann explores virtual simulations of our planet. With nearly 2,700 functional imaging satellites in space collecting data about the Earth – amongst which dozens are able to take orthographic photos with a resolution of 30 cm per pixel – we are able to receive near real-time information and imagery of the planet. Night and day, thousands of images of landscapes are superimposed on each other to simulate an up-to-date image of the Earth. Nevertheless, this hyperreal world is full of glitches and empty voids that are generated through these processes.

Julia Schmidt’s Tripoli, Lebanon (2017) explores the abandoned construction site of the Rachid Karami International Fair complex designed by Oscar Niemeyer. The construction of the fair stopped in 1975 due to the outbreak of the Lebanese Civil War. In Schmidt’s video, a singer and a musician were invited to perform in the dome, which was intended to be an experimental theatre. While filming, a group of boys entered the dome and took over the stage Schmidt had intended for the camera to capture. Her invitation might be interpreted as an attempt to bring the abandoned theatre to life, but, perhaps, this theatre has been claimed by groups of children long before her camera was present – it had its performers all along and the camera became their audience.

At the end of 2020, at the invitation of SCHUNCK Museum, artists Vijai Maia Patchineelam and Adrijana Gvozdenović documented the area of former salina in Ulcinj, Montenegro through film and analogue photographs. Their series show how the current state of landscape is inextricably linked to the political and economic changes in the region. In Water made to move (2021), the artists take us through how this artificial, human-made ecosystem came to existence through different rules and regulations. For the screening programme at Tuesday@Secession the artists are showing a re-edited version of this work – one that corresponds to the invitation to participate in this programme as an opportunity to revisit the material from the present moment.

Programme
It Appeared as a Falling Star, 2021, 5’15”
Lara Reichmann

Tripoli, Lebanon, 2017, 12’50”
Julia Schmidt

Water made to move, 2021–22, approx. 10’
Adrijana Gvozdenovic in collaboration with Vijai Maia Patchineelam

Huda Takriti

Julia Schmidt, Tripoli, Lebanon, 2017, HD Video, 12’50”, filmstill

 

Programmed by the board of the Secession
Curated by Christian Lübbert supported by Bettina Spörr

 

Biographies

Stefan Reiterer with Georg Petermichl

Juliana Lindenhofer works within sculpture, drawing and DJing. Her search for alternative anatomies and gestures of risk is strongly influenced by club aesthetics. Her work has recently been shown in Vienna at Wonnerth Dejaco, GOMO, and Galerie WAF. She contributed DJ sets at the exhibitions of Monica Bonvicini at Belvedere 21, and Tymek Borowski/Maruša Sagadin at Künstlerhaus Graz.

Ferrari Zöchling is the fashion label of Romana Zöchling founded in 2013. She studied at Hetzendorf fashion school and Kunstuniversität Linz. Twice a year she produces fashion collections, for which she collaborates with artists. Clarity in cut and shape, combined with eye-catching prints from collaborations with female artists, are their recognition value.

Georg Petermichl lives and works in Vienna. He studied Communication Studies and Photography in Vienna. He works everyday objects into his photographs as well as his sculptures to address processes and cultural norms that underly value attribution. Since 2018 he is a member of the Association of Visual Artists Vienna Secession.

Stefan Reiterer lives and works in Vienna. He graduated from the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna in 2012. In his work he reflects the presence of digital images and the translation process from analogue to digital through painting. He also works with painting that spatially extends and thus shapes its exhibition room. He is represented by the CRONE gallery and together with Axel Koschier he organises the artist-run-space new jörg.

Huda Takriti

Lara Reichmann deals with the representation of space, various bearers of the image, and the ways of seeing and perceiving the territory. Her recent projects have focused on digital interfaces, how the image of the world is communicated through them, and how a parallel (virtual) landscape is created through deviations, technical glitches and time lags. She studies TransArts at the University of Applied Arts Vienna.

Julia Schmidt is an interdisciplinary artist who works with video, installation, text and sound. She studies TransArts at the University of Applied Arts Vienna and her work has been shown at international institutions and festivals such as Kunsthalle Wien, Reaktor International Film Festival Vienna, Maximilians Forum Munich, Frame Out Festival Vienna, Museum of the Moving Image New York, Austrian American Short Film Festival New York, and Museu de Arte Brasileira São Paulo.

Adrijana Gvozdenović and Vijai Maia Patchineelam are artists who from time to time collaborate on each other’s projects. In 2014, they contributed to the publication What Are You Working On? / Vad Har Du På Gång? (published by Valeveil, Stockholm) with a text-based work exploring and exposing issues of interconnectedness in (artistic) work and personal (love) life. In 2015, they worked together on the travelogue video-performance Notes for a road movie: To and from Montenegro, which premiered at the Liechtenstein Pavilion during the 56th Venice Biennale. For this video, they travelled to the small city of Montenegro in the state of Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil, referring to the birthplace of Adrijana, the country Montenegro in Europe. The video Notes a road movie deals with issues such as national identity, memory, and belonging. In 2021 they worked on the project Water made to move, a video and photographic report from Solana Ulcinj in Montenegro. This year, Adrijana wrote an essay for the research seminar Descriptions Change, The Artist Job Description organised and published as part of Vijai’s recently defended Ph.D. in the Arts at Royal Academy of Fine Arts Antwerp / University of Antwerp. Both artists recently performed together during Autotheory gathering at Zsenne Artlab, Brussels.

Huda Takriti is a transdisciplinary artist currently based in Vienna. Her work has recently been shown at mumok, Kunsthalle Wien, Afro Asiatisches Institut Graz, [.Box] Video Art Project Space Italy, Centre d’art Sa Quartera Spain, Addaya Centre for Contemporary Arts Spain, among others. In 2022, she received the Vordemberge Gildewart award and the Kunsthalle Wien Prize in 2020.

16. August 2022

Tuesday@Secession:
Stefan Reiterer mit Georg Petermichl
Huda Takriti

Veranstaltungsreihe

Zur siebten Veranstaltung der Reihe Tuesday@Secession laden wir herzlich zu einem gemeinsamen Abend in den Garten der Secession ein. Es werden Beiträge von Stefan Reiterer mit Georg Petermichl sowie von Huda Takriti zu sehen sein.

20 Uhr – Stefan Reiterer mit Georg Petermichl

 Stefan Reiterer und Georg Petermichl möchten Ihnen etwas wirklich wichtiges sagen:
Ich bekomm immer wieder Anfragen, ob man die, die die Freiheit angeblich gewöhnt sind, und die man den ganzen Sommer über draußen gefüttert hat, die einem vielleicht gar nicht gehören, hinein nehmen kann, ohne, dass sie die Freiheit vermissen. Sie klettern zwar gerne auf Bäumen rum, aber alle sind glücklich, wenn sie besonders vor Winterbeginn, vor Wintereinbruch ins Warme können, wenn sie die Sicherheit und die Wärme eines Zuhauses spüren. Sie schlafen stundenlang, sie träumen. Und die Bäume kann man ihnen durch ein Brett ersetzen. Also bitte bei denen, das nicht zu vergessen. Und nehmen sie alle, die sie nur können, vom Sommerhaus oder wo immer, zu sich in die Wohnung. Sie werden es ihnen danken.

In Zusammenarbeit von Stefan Reiterer und Georg Petermichl entstand eine Skydancer-Skulptur, der sie den Namen Muli gegeben haben. Durch Luftzufuhr breitet sie sich überlebensgroß im Raum aus und beginnt zu tanzen. Genau wie die gleichnamigen Tiere ist Muli ein Hybrid. Skydancer sind eigentlich als Werbemittel im öffentlichen Raum bekannt. Durch ihre Größe und schnelle Bewegung sollen sie den Blick der Vorbeikommenden auffangen und so auf ein dahinterliegendes Geschäft aufmerksam machen. Gefertigt wurde die Skulptur in der Werkstatt des Modelabels Ferrari Zöchling aus getigertem und reflektierendem Material. Je nach Tageszeit verändert Muli sein Erscheinungsbild, im Tageslicht ist die getigerte Musterung zu sehen, die bei Dunkelheit verschwindet, sodass die Silhouette von den reflektierenden Teilen bestimmt wird. Juliana Lindenhofer wird ab 23 Uhr mit einem DJ Set den Raum, in dem Muli sich bewegt, auditiv gestalten. In ihrer künstlerischen Praxis adressiert Lindenhofer hybride Formen zwischen Mensch und Nicht-Mensch als Träger neuer Potenziale.

Stefan Reiterer mit Georg Petermichl

Georg Petermichl & Stefan Reiterer, Muli, Aufblasbare Skulptur, 2022, Maße variabel, Video Still: Stefan Reiterer

 

22 Uhr – Huda Takriti

Für den Abend hat Huda Takriti ein Screening-Programm mit drei Videoarbeiten organisiert. Sie scheinen auf den ersten Blick nicht zusammenzuhängen, aber im Verlauf wird deutlich, dass der gemeinsame Nenner eine unerwartete Wendung der Ereignisse ist – Glitches, Fehlkalkulationen und Unterbrechungen, die Möglichkeiten für neue Chancen und alternative Interpretationen enthalten.

In It Appears as a Falling Star (2021) erkundet Lara Reichmann virtuelle Simulationen unseres Planeten. Mit fast 2.700 funktionalen Bildsatelliten im Weltraum, die Daten über die Erde sammeln – darunter dutzende, die orthografische Fotos mit einer Auflösung von 30 cm pro Pixel aufnehmen können –, sind wir in der Lage, nahezu in Echtzeit Informationen und Bilder des Planeten zu erhalten. Tag und Nacht werden Tausende von Landschaftsansichten übereinandergelegt, um ein aktuelles Bild der Erde zu simulieren. Diese hyperrealistische Welt ist dennoch voll von Glitches und Leerstellen, die bei diesem Prozess entstehen.

Julia Schmidts Tripoli, Lebanon (2017) erkundet die verlassene Baustelle der Rachid Karami International Fair-Anlage, die von Oscar Niemeyer entworfen wurde. Der Bau des Messegeländes kam 1975 aufgrund des Libanesischen Bürgerkriegs zum Erliegen. In Schmidts Video wurden ein*e Sänger*in und ein*e Musiker*in eingeladen, in der Kuppel, die als experimentelles Theater gedacht war, aufzutreten. Während der Dreharbeiten kam eine Gruppe Buben in das Theater und übernahmen die Bühne, die Schmidt mit der Kamera einfangen wollte. Ihre Einladung könnte als Versuch verstanden werden, das verlassene Theater zum Leben zu erwecken. Möglicherweise war dieses aber schon vorher von einer Gruppe von Kindern aneignet worden, lange bevor die Kamera präsent war – es hatte bereits seine Darsteller*innen und die Kamera wurde ihr Publikum.

Ende 2020 dokumentierten Vijai Maia Patchineelam und Adrijana Gvozdenović auf Einladung des SCHUNCK Museums das Gebiet der ehemaligen Saline in Ulincj, Montenegro in Film und analogen Fotografien. Ihre Serien zeigen wie der aktuelle Zustand der Landschaft untrennbar mit den politischen und wirtschaftlichen Veränderungen in der Region verbunden ist. In Water made to move (2021) zeigen uns die Künstler*innen wie dieses künstliche, von Menschen gemachte Ökosystem aufgrund verschiedener Vorschriften und Regulierungen entstand. Im Screening-Programm bei Tuesday@Secession zeigen die Künstler*innen eine neu überarbeitete Version, die mit der Einladung zum Programm korrespondiert und die Gelegenheit bietet, das Material aus der Gegenwart heraus neu zu betrachten.

Programm

It Appeared As a Falling Star, 2021, 5’15”
Lara Reichmann

Tripoli, Lebanon, 2017, 12’50”
Julia Schmidt

Water made to move, 2021–22, ca. 10’
Adrijana Gvozdenovic in Zusammenarbeit mit Vijai Maia Patchineelam

Huda Takriti

Julia Schmidt, Tripoli, Lebanon, 2017, HD Video, 12’50”, filmstill

 

Programmiert vom Vorstand der Secession
Kuratiert von Christian Lübbert mit Unterstützung von Bettina Spörr

 

Biografien

Stefan Reiterer mit Georg Petermichl

Juliana Lindenhofer arbeitet in den Bereichen Bildhauerei, Zeichnen und DJing. Ihre Suche nach alternativen Anatomien und Gesten eines Risikos ist stark von Clubästhetik beeinflusst. Zuletzt waren ihre Arbeiten in Wien bei Wonnerth Dejaco, GOMO und in der Galerie WAF zu sehen. Sie trug DJ Sets anlässlich der Ausstellungen von Monica Bonvicini im Belvedere 21 und für Tymek Borowski/Maruša Sagadin im Künstlerhaus Graz bei.

Ferrari Zöchling ist das 2013 gegründete Modelabel von Romana Zöchling. Sie studierte an der Modeschule Hetzendorf und der Kunstuniversität Linz. Zwei Mal pro Jahr bringt sie Kollektionen heraus, für die sie mit Künstler*innen zusammenarbeitet. Klarheit in Schnitt und Form kombiniert mit auffälligen Prints sind ihr Wiedererkennungswert.

Georg Petermichl lebt und arbeitet in Wien. Er studierte Kommunikationswissenschaft und Fotografie in Wien. Sowohl in seine Fotografien als auch in seine Skulpturen arbeitet er Gegenstände des Alltags ein und adressiert Prozesse und kulturelle Normen, denen Wertzuschreibung zugrunde liegen. Seit 2018 ist er Mitglied der Vereinigung bildender KünstlerInnen Wiener Secession.

Stefan Reiterer lebt und arbeitet in Wien. 2012 schloss er sein Studium an der Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien ab. In seiner Arbeit reflektiert er die Präsenz virtueller Bildwelten und Übersetzungsprozesse analoger in digitale Bilder durch Malerei. Diese nutzt er auch für raumgreifende Installationen, die den Ausstellungsraum gestalten. Er wird von der Galerie CRONE vertreten und gemeinsam mit Axel Koschier organisiert er den artist-run-space new jörg.

Huda Takriti

Lara Reichmann beschäftigt sich mit der Repräsentation von Raum, unterschiedlichen Bildträgern und Wahrnehmungsmöglichkeiten der Landschaft. Ihre jüngsten Projekte konzentrieren sich auf digitale Schnittstellen und darauf, wie dadurch das Bild der Welt vermittelt wird, aber auch eine parallele (virtuelle) Landschaft durch Abweichungen, Grafikfehlern und Zeitverzögerungen entsteht.

Julia Schmidt ist eine interdisziplinäre Künstlerin, die mit Video, Installation, Text und Sound arbeitet. Sie studiert TransArts an der Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien. Ihre Arbeiten wurden in internationalen Institutionen und auf Festivals gezeigt wie der Kunsthalle Wien, Reaktor International Film Festival Wien, Maximilians Forum München, Frame Out Festival Wien, Museum of the Moving Image New York, Austrian American Short Film Festival New York und Museu de Arte Brasileira São Paulo.

Adrijana Gvozdenović und Vijai Maia Patchineelam arbeiten gelegentlich an gemeinsamen Projekten. 2014 trugen sie zur Publikation What Are You Working On? / Vad Har Du På Gång? (herausgegeben von Valeveil, Stockholm) eine textbasierte Arbeit bei, die Probleme bei Verflechtungen von (künstlerischem) Arbeiten und persönlichem (Liebes-)Leben ergründet und aufdeckt. 2015 arbeiteten sie gemeinsam an der Reisebericht-Video-Performance Notes for a road movie: To and from Montenegro, die bei der 56. Venedig Biennale im Liechtenstein Pavillon erstmals gezeigt wurde. Für dieses Video reisten sie bezugnehmend auf Adrijanas Geburtsland Montenegro in Europa zur Kleinstadt Montenegro im Bundesstaat Rio Grande do Sul, Brasilien. Das Video beschäftigt sich mit Themen wie nationaler Identität, Erinnerung und Zugehörigkeit. 2021 arbeiteten sie am Projekt Water made to move, einem filmischen und fotografischen Bericht über Solana Ulcinj in Montenegro. Dieses Jahr schrieb Gvozdenović einen Essay für das Forschungsseminar Descriptions Change, The Artist Job Description, organisiert und publiziert im Rahmen von Patchineelams kürzlich verteidigter Doktorarbeit an der Royal Academy of Fine Arts Antwerpen. Beide Künstler*innen haben kürzlich zusammen bei Autotheory bei Zsenne Artlab, Brüssel performt.

Huda Takriti ist eine transdisziplinäre Künstlerin, die zurzeit in Wien lebt. Ihre Arbeit wurde zuletzt u. a. im mumok, der Kunsthalle Wien, im Afroasiatischen Institut Graz, bei [.Box] Video Art Project Space Mailand, Centre d’art Sa Quartera Spanien, sowie im Addaya Centre for Contemporary Arts Spanien gezeigt. Takriti erhielt 2022 das Vordemberge Gildewart Stipendium und wurde 2020 mit dem Preis der Kunsthalle Wien ausgezeichnet.