April 29, 2020

Sophie Thun

Online exhibition opening and start of the live stream

Opening

From May 30 until June 21, 2020, the Secession presents Stolberggasse, an exhibition by the Vienna-based artist Sophie Thun. Conceived specifically for digital dissemination, the show can be seen as a live transmission on the Secession’s website.

The dialectical interrelations between the scene of production and the work’s presentation, between the setting of the artist’s labor and the physical presence of the body, are recurrent themes in Sophie Thun’s photographic oeuvre. The places where she exhibits her work often serve her as points of departure for photographs that show how her body imprints its presence on them.

For her exhibition at the Secession, Thun further developed this approach and adapted it to the necessity of digital dissemination. The artist sets up her darkroom in the exhibition space, where, working in isolation, she makes photograms of all objects in her apartment in Vienna’s Stolberggasse. While visitors are barred from physically entering the Secession’s building, surveillance cameras installed in the gallery enable them to watch the action in real time on the website.

 

Live stream

29. April 2020

Sophie Thun

Ausstellungseröffnung im digitalen Raum und Freischaltung des Livestreams

Eröffnung

Vom 30. April bis 21. Juni 2020 zeigt die Secession die Ausstellung Stolberggasse der Wiener Künstlerin Sophie Thun, die in ihrer speziell für den digitalen Raum konzipierten Form als Live-Übertragung auf der Secessions-Website besucht werden kann.

Die Dialektik zwischen dem Ort der Produktion und der Präsentation des Werks, zwischen ihrer eigenen Arbeits­situation als Künstlerin und der physischen Präsenz des Körpers sind wiederkehrende Themen im fotografischen Werk von Sophie Thun. Häufig macht sie die Orte, an denen sie ihre Werke ausstellt, zum Ausgangspunkt ihrer Fotografien und zeigt, wie sich ihr Körper in diese einschreibt.

Für ihre Ausstellung in der Secession hat Thun diesen Ansatz weiterentwickelt und außerdem für den digitalen Raum adaptiert. Die Künstlerin richtet sich ihre Dunkelkammer im Ausstellungsraum ein, um alleine vor Ort Fotogramme von allen Gegenständen ihrer Wohnung in der Stolberggasse in Wien herzustellen. Während das Gebäude der Secession für Besucher*innen geschlossen bleibt, können diese mittels Überwachungskameras das Geschehen im Ausstellungsraum in Realzeit auf der Website verfolgen.

zum Livestream