February 25, 2016

Sofie Thorsen: Spielplastiken

Book presentation

Sofie Thorsen Spielplastiken

Book presentation with Heike Eipeldauer and Sofie Thorsen

Sofie Thorsen’s publication puts the focus on an artistic phenomenon in postwar Vienna that has been granted little recognition to date—playground sculptures for children created by artists as part of the large-scale “percent-for-art” program initiated by the City of Vienna.

Since 2010 the artist has conducted a historical exploration into the typology of the play sculpture, which she has artistically transformed into several groups of works. Since most of these play sculptures have disappeared from the cityscape, Thorsen relies mostly on photographic archival materials, placing them in relation with international urban planning proposals by Egon Møller-Nielsen, Aldo Van Eyck, or Isamu Noguchi. From these materials she then makes photographs, collages, paper sculptures, and installations.

Combining artistic reflection and scientific study, the publication is the first to highlight the historic moment when art and the general public were brought together and analyses this moment as part of a Europe- and USA-wide discourse on urban planning, architecture and abstract sculpture, aesthetics and function as well as art and play.

 

Sofie Thorsen
Spielplastiken / Play Sculptures
152 pages, numerous images
Edited by Heike Eipeldauer and Sofie Thorsen
Texts: Heike Eipeldauer, Mari Laanemets, Peter Pakesch, Susan G. Solomon
Design: Martha Stutteregger
German/English
Verlag für Moderne Kunst
ISBN 978-3-86984-505-0
EUR 28,-

25. Februar 2016

Sofie Thorsen: Spielplastiken

Buchpräsentation

Sofie Thorsen Spielplastiken

Buchpräsentation mit Heike Eipeldauer und Sofie Thorsen

Sofie Thorsens Publikation rückt ein bislang kaum gewürdigtes künstlerisches Phänomen der österreichischen Nachkriegszeit in den Fokus – von Künstlern gestaltete Spielplastiken für Kinder, die in Wien im Rahmen eines groß angelegten „Kunst am Bau“-Programms entstanden.

In Form historischer Recherchen widmet sich die Künstlerin seit 2010 der Typologie der Spielplastik, die sie in verschiedenen Werkgruppen künstlerisch transformiert. Größtenteils aus dem Stadtbild verschwunden, geht Thorsen dabei von fotografischem Archivmaterial aus, setzt dieses mit internationalen Entwürfen von Egon Møller Nielsen, Aldo Van Eyck oder Isamu Noguchi in Beziehung und verarbeitet es zu Fotografien, Collagen, Papierskulpturen und Installationen.

In Verbindung von künstlerischer Reflexion und wissenschaftlicher Aufarbeitung beleuchtet die Publikation erstmals jenen historischen Moment des Aufeinandertreffens von Kunst und Öffentlichkeit und analysiert ihn als Teil eines Europa- und USA-weit geführten Diskurses zu Städteplanung, Architektur und abstrakter Skulptur, Ästhetik und Funktion sowie Kunst und Spiel.

 

Sofie Thorsen
Spielplastiken / Play Sculptures
152 Seiten, zahlreiche Abbildungen
Herausgeberinnen: Heike Eipeldauer und Sofie Thorsen
Texte: Heike Eipeldauer, Mari Laanemets, Peter Pakesch, Susan G. Solomon
Gestaltung: Martha Stutteregger
Deutsch / Englisch
Verlag für Moderne Kunst
ISBN 978-3-86984-505-0
EUR 28,-