January 10, 2019

Salvatore Viviano, The One Work Gallery Diary

Book presentation

Salvatore Viviano (1980, IT) opened the One Work Gallery in Vienna in May 2014 and closed it in December 2017. During its three and a half years of fervent activity, the gallery exhibited and presented more than 50 artists. The gallery, as its name suggests, exhibited one work at a time.

The works were always visible through the big glass door, the light was always on, 24/7. The gallery had a double bed instead of an office, because comfort is mandatory.

Salvatore used to say: “I am an artist, and now I am also a gallery owner, gallery director, and gallery assistant. It’s kind of exhausting, especially because I have to deal with myself all the time. Actually, I should fire myself one day. No sooner said than done.”

A Diary, a bit Warhol, a bit Cartland, filled with stories, facts and visions about the three and a half years of an unconventional gallery’s life (the One Work Gallery), a world (the Art World) and an artist (Salvatore Viviano).

 

Salvatore Viviano
The One Work Gallery Diary 
Harpune Verlag

 

For the book presentation please use the entrance at the back of the building.

10. Januar 2019

Salvatore Viviano, The One Work Gallery Diary

Buchpräsentation

Salvatore Viviano (1980, IT) eröffnete die One Work Gallery in Wien im Mai 2014 und schloss sie im Dezember 2017. Während ihrer dreieinhalbjährigen intensiven Tätigkeit stellte die Galerie mehr als 50 Künstler aus. Die Galerie zeigte, wie der Name schon sagt, jeweils eine Arbeit.

Die Werke waren immer durch die große Glastür sichtbar, das Licht war rund um die Uhr an. Die Galerie hatte ein Doppelbett anstelle eines Büros, weil Komfort unverzichtbar ist.

Salvatore pflegte zu sagen: „Ich bin Künstler und jetzt bin ich auch Galerist, Galeriedirektor und Assistent der Galerie. Es ist ziemlich anstrengend, vor allem weil ich die ganze Zeit mit mir selbst zu tun habe. Eigentlich sollte ich mich eines Tages selbst feuern. Gesagt, getan.“

Ein Tagebuch, ein bisschen Warhol, ein bisschen Cartland, gefüllt mit Geschichten, Fakten und Visionen über das dreieinhalbjährige Leben einer unkonventionellen Galerie (die One Work Gallery), eine Welt (die Kunstwelt) und einen Künstler (Salvatore Viviano).

 

Salvatore Viviano
The One Work Gallery Diary
Harpune Verlag