January 23, 2014

Salon Klimbim

Feeding vegetarian tigers – entertaining utopian sensibilities

Program of events

Salon Klimbim presents a range of performances on utopian ice. No intellectual dress code applies, no Frontex patrols the borders of contemporariness, and no gatekeepers will be watching over this utopia. Instead, there will be politics and party, dance and folly, screenings and seduction, intervention and agitation, in short: movements and entertainments.

Participating performers:
Ayreen Anastas / Rene Gabri, Elke Auer / Esther Straganz, Zanny Begg, Mariam Ghani, Miguel A. López: Guiseppe Campuzano, Die Schefin, Alexander Nikolic, Bert Theis, Schon-Schön-Girls, Tanz durch den Tag, Vitali Lesan, John Barker, Sexy Deutsch, BAM of the Jungle Brothers, Christoph Schäfer, Susiklub, Franz Kapfer, Krõõt Juurak, Proll Positions, Melodien für Millionen, Maja Osojnik, Hermann Seiwald / gabarage, GOLEM, Pedro G. Romero / Archivo F.X.: Marco de Ana, Niño de Elche, Martín Acosta / Chiara Cirillo, Zsófi Pirók, Laia Fabre, Stephan Voglsinger, Brigitte Langer et.al.

Curated by Fahim Amir in correspondence with Ines Doujak and Oliver Ressler

Utopian Pulse – Flares in the Darkroom, curated by Ines Doujak and Oliver Ressler, features Salon Klimbim as its first public appearance. In the upcoming months Utopian Pulse will present a series of banners mounted on the Secession leading to a sequence of exhibitions in September 2014. These will truly be flares in the darkroom which reject the self-interested mantra of capitalism’s useful idiots, that the very notion of utopia leads straight to the Gulag. Utopia, rather, is the assertion of the unrealized in and against the real.

Funded by the Austrian Science Fund (FWF) AR 183-G21

Program:
SEE-FOR-YOURSELF (2010)
INSTALLATION, ongoing In his work SEE-FOR-YOURSELF (2010), Franz Kapfer connects the V2, the German “miracle weapon”, symbolizing the Nazi policy of aggression, conquest, and terror, to a kind of emblem of petty bourgeois garden design – the thuja cypress, or arborvitae. And thus associates it with a stage set of an impregnable “Alpine fortress”.

A TALK ILLUSTRATED BY HAND
COMMENT, ongoing
Christoph Schäfer’s contribution pursues the question of the right to a city – newly urgent in light of the Gezi protests in Istanbul – by graphical and theoretical means: Which options does the spatialization of conflicts open up for emancipatory movements? And why does this shift have consequences for the social movements in “core Europe” as well?

GOLEM
BAR PERFORMANCES, 6:30–10pm
Classic American bar culture paired with the forgotten knowledge of some ancestors will be the topic of a seemingly endless sequence of performances by GOLEM, dressed in an extravagant wardrobe and hung with precious jewels from Jonathan Johnson’s last collection “Life after Death”. Champagne for the pain!

MELODIEN FÜR MILLIONEN
DJ, 30 min
The DJ duo “Melodien für Millionen” has a fetish for German-language cover versions and a penchant for Italian and French mass-market pop. Their utterly charming sets soothe nostalgic yearnings: if you remember, you were there!

THE RED TAPES (1977-79)
MOVIE, 10 min
Mariam Ghani presents excerpts from her ongoing research – “What we left unfinished” – into the incomplete projects of the Afghan radical left, as expressed in films produced and abandoned by the Afghan communist state. She blends fictional and documentary sources to show both the violent birth and the utopian early days or at least intentions of the Afghan communist project. Features singing, dancing, sheep, and gunplay.

TAKE THE SQUARE (2012)
MOVIE, 8 min
Selections from a film by Oliver Ressler based on discussions conducted with activists from 15M in Madrid, the Syntagma Square movement in Athens, and Occupy Wall Street in New York. Re-enacting the format of the working group, activists discuss issues of organization, horizontal decision-making processes, the importance and function of occupying public spaces, and how social change can occur.

ADJUSTING THE BLEACH FOR AN UTOPIAN RICH  (2014)
SHORT CONCERT, 10 min
Maja Osojnik solo on electronic devices, cassette recorders, and a Paetzold bass recorder using “accidental sounds” from different private recordings that were made for specific purposes but came out unintentionally distorted, overdriven, phase shifted, unusable due to digital mistakes. These unforeseen rejected sounds now make the perfect reality.

RECONSTRUCTING A MEMORIAL PLAQUE
INAUGURATION, SPEECH, 8 min
The original plaque for Gavrilo Princip, secretly installed in Sarajevo in 1930 and later stolen and lost by the Nazis, stated that at this historic site “freedom was proclaimed.” Alexander Nikolic will unveil the memorial plaque solemnly with a speech: not a sad act of state but a festive inauguration.

DAWGMATICS
DJ/MC SET, 9 min
BAM, a member of the New York-based hip hop formation “The Jungle Brothers,” played an important part in the pacifist Afro-centric hip hop movement of the 1980s (The Native Tongues). Peace signs replaced outstretched middle fingers, invocations of Mother Earth instead of tons of bling. With their more accessible positions, which stood out against the gestures of militant political resistance and the inversion of capitalism practiced by their peers on the West Coast, the Native Tongues brought new audiences to hip hop, and formal innovations like the integration of jazz into hip hop had considerable influence on the subsequent evolution of black popular music.

UTOPIA BACKWARDS (2014)
LECTURE, 10 min
A re-imagining of a magic lantern performance exploring utopia in the antipodes. Zanny Begg’s series of animated slides will focus on utopia as it has been historically understood in Australia.

UTOPIA HAS JUST LEFT THE BUILDING
VIDEO, 6 min
PERFORMANCE, 5 min
In Milan she had just left but desire brought her back and we occupied a space for her, the Isola Art Centre. The cops and developers hated her, evicted her, but she is back, in Isola Pepe Verde by the Garibaldi station. Presented by Bert Theis, artivist & subcurator, Isola Art Center.

ENTRADAS: HUGO BALL; VICENTE ESCUDERO; EMMY HENNINGS; LA CRIOLLA; LA GALERIE DES MONSTERS. ¡Rompen guitarras!, ¡gargantas rotas!, ¡bailes quebrados!
DANCE, 20 min
Arqueología de algunas piezas históricas del campo del flamencos entre 1915 y 1935, pertenecientes al Archivo F.X. Una propuesta de Pedro G. Romero con Marco de Ana, Niño de Elche, Martin Acosta&Chiara Cirillo, Laia Fabre, Zsófi Pirók, Cristina Sandino, Stefan Voglsinger y Brigitte Langer.

A STAND-UP ROUTINE FOR ANIMALS
PERFORMANCE, 8 min
Krõõt Juurak will demonstrate her research project about animal humor and present its results with Alex Bailey. As animals are good to think with, they may be also good to laugh with: animal jokes for animals.

SONG IN THE DARK (2014)
SONG AND DANCE ROUTINE, 7 min
A sequence by Ines Doujak and John Barker, with help from Matthew Hyland. Two giants from the Rabelaisian world appear at Salon Klimbim to back a masterless voice with a song of grievous, unforgiving joy. Maja Osojnik uses them as instruments to compose the music. Vitali Lesan is the mask builder and also performs.

LUSTY LIGERS AND SPASTIC FIBERS (OR ON KNISMESIS AND GARGALESIS)
SEQUENCE OF MICRO RAVES, 4 min, and ongoing
Elke Auer & Esther Straganz produce a choreography of utopian feelings where touch results in involuntary spasms, goose bumps, laughter, tears, and tickling. A ridiculous chaos of joy and irritation will of course include also voodoo lilies and titillation, bastards, tickle-swarms, wet objects, and vibrant affects.

SPEECH, 5 min
Christoph Schäfer will possibly give a spontaneous talk.

SYNCHRONIC IRONING PERFORMANCE, 5 min
A secret meeting of the World Tuntathlon Association agreed: absolute handbag and high heel obligation, unlimited alcohol abuse, and wigs for everyone. Apart from that, everyone is invited to this alternative sports event. The winners of the 2011 and 2012 competitions, The Fabulous Schon-Schön-Girls, grant us the privilege of watching their unmatched presentation in synchronic ironing.

MELODIEN FÜR MILLIONEN
DJ, 30 min
The DJ duo “Melodien für Millionen” has a fetish for German-language cover versions and a penchant for Italian and French mass-market pop. Their utterly charming sets soothe nostalgic yearnings: if you remember, you were there!

PERFORMANCE, 13 min
MOVIE, 1 min
Miguel A. López will present a screening of the video LA PINCHAJARAWIS by Giuseppe Campuzano, followed by Die Schefin reenacting his/her TRANSVESTITE MANIFESTO.

TANZ DURCH DEN TAG
DJ, 60 min
The event collective specializes in the reanimation of dead times – like Sundays – and spaces – like formerly public sites – and offers resistance to the pressure of turbo-commercial dance venues. Add the focus on issues of social policy, and the collective has a legitimate claim to the heritage of the counter- cultural spaces of the past.

SEXY DEUTSCH
DJ, 60 min
Sexy Deutsch liked her shows dirty, wet, and bass-heavy. At Salon Klimbim, the DJ collective will announce its dissolution and resurrection under a different name. Their main reason for the new moniker, ZEN, is their hope for greater commercial success: “We’d love to offer you something, anything really, to help, but we’ve got nothing in ZEN.”

SUSIKLUB
DJ, 60 min
Susiklub has come a long way in the seven years since its founding: what started without bouncers but with lots of warm beer and deliberately eschewed luxuries like bathrooms, enough room, and ventilation could not but find its way to Salon Klimbim. The motto for their performance quotes William Blake’s “Marriage of Heaven and Hell”: Expect Poison from Standing Water.

AYREEN ANASTAS AND RENE GABRI
TALK, 10 min
Ayreen Anastas and Rene Gabri will give a performative lecture about the utopian dimensions immanent in a horizon of the common(s).

23. Januar 2014

Salon Klimbim

Von vegetarischen Tigern und utopischen Unterhandlungen

Veranstaltungsprogramm

Salon Klimbim bittet zu einem Performance-Reigen auf utopischem Eis. Hier herrscht kein Dress-Code des Denkens, kein Frontex der Zeitgenossenschaft und auch keine Utopie-Polizei, sondern Politik und Party, Tanz und Tollheit, Film und Verführung, Intervention und Agitation, kurz: Unterhandlungen und Unterhaltungen.

Mitwirkende:
Ayreen Anastas / Rene Gabri, Elke Auer / Esther Straganz, Zanny Begg, Mariam Ghani, Miguel A. López: Guiseppe Campuzano, Die Schefin, Alexander Nikolic, Bert Theis, Schon-Schön-Girls, Tanz durch den Tag, Vitali Lesan, John Barker, Sexy Deutsch, BAM of the Jungle Brothers, Christoph Schäfer, Susiklub, Franz Kapfer, Krõõt Juurak, Proll Positions, Melodien für Millionen, Maja Osojnik, Hermann Seiwald / gabarage, GOLEM, Pedro G. Romero / Archivo F.X.: Marco de Ana, Niño de Elche, Martín Acosta / Chiara Cirillo, Zsófi Pirók, Laia Fabre, Stephan Voglsinger, Brigitte Langer u.a.

Kuratiert von Fahim Amir in Korrespondenz mit Ines Doujak und Oliver Ressler

Salon Klimbim ist der erste öffentliche Auftritt von Utopian Pulse – Flares in the Darkroom, kuratiert von Ines Doujak und Oliver Ressler. Darauf folgen monatliche Leuchtsignale in der Form von Transparenten auf der Fassade der Secession. Diese sind Wegmarken bis zur Verwirklichung einer Ausstellungsserie im September 2014. Utopian Pulse als Ganzes wird utopische Projektionen schaffen, um dem eigennützigen Credo der nützlichen Idioten des Kapitalismus – dass der Begriff der Utopie allein schon gradewegs in den Gulag führt – eine nachhaltige Absage zu erteilen. Utopie ist etwas anderes: die Behauptung des nicht Verwirklichten im und gegen das Wirkliche.

Gefördert vom Austrian Science Fund (FWF) AR 183-G21

Programm:
SEE-FOR-YOURSELF
INSTALLATION, laufend
In seiner Arbeit SEE-FOR-YOURSELF (2010) verbindet Franz Kapfer die deutsche NS-„Wunderwaffe“, die V2-Rakete, ein Symbol der nationalsozialistischen Aggressions-, Eroberungs- und Terrorpolitik, mit einer Art Emblem kleinbürgerlicher Gartengestaltung – der Thuja-Zypresse, auch Lebensbaum genannt, und verknüpft sie so mit einer Bühnengestaltung für eine uneinnehmbare „Alpenfestung“.

A TALK ILLUSTRATED BY HAND
KOMMENTAR, laufend
In Christoph Schäfers Beitrag wird die Frage nach dem Recht auf Stadt – besonders im Lichte der Gezi-Proteste in Istanbul – zeichnerisch und theoretisch weitergedacht: Welche Optionen ergeben sich aus der Verräumlichung der Konflikte für emanzipatorische Bewegungen? Und warum hat das auch Konsequenzen für die sozialen Bewegungen in „Kerneuropa“?

GOLEM
BAR-PERFORMANCES, 18.30–22 Uhr
Die Verbindung klassischer amerikanischer Barkultur mit dem vergessenen Wissen einiger VorfahrInnen ist das Thema dieser scheinbar endlosen Reihe von Performances, die GOLEM in extravaganten Kostümen und mit wertvollen Juwelen aus Jonathan Johnsons letzter Kollektion „Life after Death“ hinlegt. Champagner für den Schmerz!

MELODIEN FÜR MILLIONEN
DJ, 30 min Mit einem Faible für deutschsprachige Fassungen sowie einem Hang zum Italo-französischen Schlager lindert das DJ-Duo Melodien für Millionen auf höchst charmante Weise nostalgische Sehnsüchte: Wer sich erinnert, war dabei!

THE RED TAPES (1977–79)
FILM, 10 min
Mariam Ghani präsentiert Auszüge aus ihren Forschungen – „What we left unfinished“ – zu den unvollendeten Projekten der radikalen Linken in Afghanistan, wie sie in Filmen zum Ausdruck kommt, die die Behörden des kommunistischen Afghanistan hinterlassen haben. Fiktionales und Dokumentarisches vermischen sich zu einer Darstellung der utopischen Frühzeit oder zumindest utopischen Absichten des afghanischen kommunistischen Experiments. Zeigt Gesang, Tanz, Schafe und Schießereien.

TAKE THE SQUARE (2012)
FILM, 8 min
Ausschnitte aus einem Film von Oliver Ressler auf der Grundlage von Diskussionen mit AktivistInnen von 15M (Bewegung 15. Mai) in Madrid, der Syntagma-Platz-Bewegung in Athen und Occupy Wall Street in New York. Unter Rückgriff auf das Format der Arbeitsgruppe diskutieren AktivistInnen Organisationsfragen, horizontale Entscheidungsprozesse, die Bedeutung und Funktion der Besetzung öffentlicher Räume und wie gesellschaftlicher Wandel möglich ist.

ADJUSTING THE BLEACH FOR AN UTOPIAN RICH (2014)
KURZKONZERT, 10 min
Maja Osojnik gibt ein Solo mit elektronischen Geräten, Kassettenrekordern und einer Paetzold-Bassflöte unter Verwendung von „Fehlgeräuschen“ aus verschiedenen privaten Aufnahmen, die für bestimmte Zwecke gemacht wurden, aber wegen digitaler Fehler ungewollt verzerrt, übersteuert, phasenverschoben und deswegen unbrauchbar sind. Diese unvorhergesehenen und verworfenen Klänge ergeben jetzt die perfekte Realität.

ENTHÜLLUNG EINER GEDENKTAFEL
EINWEIHUNG, REDE, 8 min
Auf der Originalgedenktafel für Gavrilo Princip, die 1930 in Sarajewo angebracht, später von den Nazis gestohlen wurde und verlorenging, stand, dass an diesem historischen Ort „die Freiheit verkündet“ wurde. Alexander Nikolic wird die Gedenktafel mit einer feierlichen Ansprache enthüllen: kein trauriger Staatsakt, sondern eine festliche Einweihung.

DAWGMATICS
DJ/MC Set, 9 min
BAM war als Mitglied der New Yorker Hip-Hop-Formation The Jungle Brothers in den 1980ern ein wichtiger Protagonist des pazifistischen afrozentrischen Hip-Hop-Movement (The Native Tongues). Peace-Zeichen statt Mittelfinger, Anrufungen von Mother Nature statt tonnenschwere Goldketten. Durch ihre zugänglicheren Positionen, die sich von den militant politischen, Kapitalismus invertierenden Widerstandsgesten ihrer KollegInnen an der West Coast abhoben, erschlossen die Native Tongues eine neue Hip-Hop-HörerInnenschaft und entfalteten durch formale Innovationen wie beispielsweise die Integration des Jazz in den Hip Hop eine nicht zu unterschätzende Wirkung in der schwarzen Populärmusik.

UTOPIA BACKWARDS (2014)
VORTRAG, 10 min
Eine Re-Imagination einer Wunderlampen-Vorstellung von Zanny Begg, die die Utopie in den Antipoden untersucht.

UTOPIA HAS JUST LEFT THE BUILDING
VIDEO, 6 min, PERFORMANCE, 5 min
In Mailand war die Utopie gerade abgereist, aber die Sehnsucht hat sie zurückgebracht und wir haben einen Raum für sie besetzt, das Isola Art Centre. Die Bullen und die ImmobilienentwicklerInnen haben sie gehasst und zwangsgeräumt, aber sie ist wieder da, auf der Isola Pepe Verde am Bahnhof Porta Garibaldi. Präsentiert von Bert Theis, Aktivist & Subkurator am Isola Art Center.

ENTRADAS: Hugo Ball; Vicente Escudero; Emmy Hennings; La Criolla; La Galerie Des Monsters. ZERBERSTENDE GITARREN! ZERBRECHENDE KEHLEN! ZERREISSENDE TÄNZE!
TANZ, 20 min
Archäologie einiger historischer Stücke aus dem Feld des Flamenco zwischen 1915 und 1935 aus dem Archivo F.X.; dargeboten von Pedro G. Romero mit Marco de Ana, Niño de Elche, Martin Acosta & Chiara Cirillo, Laia Fabre, Zsófi Pirók, Cristina Sandino, Stefan Voglsinger und Brigitte Langer.

A STAND-UP ROUTINE FOR ANIMALS
PERFORMANCE, 8 min
Krõõt Juurak führt ihr Forschungsprojekt zum Humor bei Tieren vor und präsentiert mit Alex Bailey ihre Ergebnisse. Da man mit Tieren gut denken kann, kann man vielleicht auch gut mit ihnen lachen: Tierwitze für Tiere.

SONG IN THE DARK (2014)
GESANGS- UND TANZEINLAGE, 7 min
Eine Sequenz von Ines Doujak und John Barker mit Hilfe von Matthew Hyland. Zwei Riesen aus der Rabelaisschen Welt erscheinen im Salon Klimbim, um eine herrenlose Stimme und ihren Gesang von schmerzlicher und unerbittlicher Freude zu begleiten. Maja Osojnik benutzt sie als Instrumente und komponiert die Musik. Vitali Lesan baute die Masken und wirkt bei der Darbietung mit.

LUSTY LIGERS AND SPASTIC FIBERS (OR ON KNISMESIS AND GARGALESIS)
FOLGE VON MIKRO-RAVES, 4 min und laufend
Elke Auer & Esther Straganz produzieren eine Choreographie utopischer Gefühle, bei der Berührung unwillkürliche Zuckungen, Gänsehaut, Gelächter, Tränen und Kribbeln auslöst. Ein lächerliches Chaos aus Freude und Nervenreizung, bei dem Voodoo-Lilien, Prickelndes, Bastarde, Kitzelschwärme, nasse Gegenstände und pulsierende Affekte natürlich nicht fehlen dürfen.

AYREEN ANASTAS UND RENE GABRI
KURZVORTRAG, 10 min
Ayreen Anastas und Rene Gabri halten einen performativen Vortrag über die utopischen Dimensionen, die dem Horizont des Gemeinwesens und -guts innewohnen.

SYNCHRONIC IRONING
PERFORMANCE, 5 min
Eine Geheimversammlung der Internationalen Tuntathlon-Union war sich einig: absolute Handtaschen- und High-Heel-Pflicht, unbegrenzter Alkoholmissbrauch, Perücken für alle. Abgesehen davon ist jeder eingeladen, bei diesem alternativen Sportwettkampf mitzumachen. Die Finalgewinner der Jahre 2011 und 2012, The Fabulous Schon-Schön-Girls, gewähren uns das Privileg, ihrer unübertroffenen Synchronbügel-Darbietung beizuwohnen.

MELODIEN FÜR MILLIONEN
DJ, 30 min
Mit einem Faible für deutschsprachige Fassungen sowie einem Hang zum Italo- & französischen Schlager lindert das DJ-Duo »Melodien für Millionen« auf höchst charmante Weise nostalgische Sehnsüchte: Wer sich erinnert, war dabei!

PERFORMANCE, 13 min
FILM, 1 min
Miguel A. López präsentiert das Video LA PINCHAJARAWIS von Giuseppe Campuzano. Anschließend wird Die Schefin sein/ihr TRANVESTITE MANIFESTO noch einmal zur Aufführung bringen.

TANZ DURCH DEN TAG
DJ, 60 min
Spezialisiert auf die Wiederbelebung von Totem, wie dem Sonntag oder ehemals öffentlichem Raum, widersetzt sich das Veranstaltungskollektiv dem Druck turbo-kommerzieller Tanzhütten. In Verbindung mit seiner gesellschaftspolitischen Themensetzung kann das Kollektiv zu Recht behaupten, das Erbe ehemals gegenkultureller Räume anzutreten.

SEXY DEUTSCH
DJ, 60 min
Sexy Deutsch mochte es bei ihren Auftritten dreckig, feucht und mit viel Bass. Das DJ-Kollektiv wird beim Salon Klimbim seine Auflösung und Neubenennung verkünden. Vom neuen Namen ZEN versprechen sich Sexy Deutsch vor allem einen größeren kommerziellen Erfolg: „Wir würden gerne irgend etwas anbieten, um euch zu helfen, aber im ZEN haben wir überhaupt nichts.“

SUSIKLUB
DJ, 60 min
Weit ist der Susiklub seit seiner Gründung vor sieben Jahren gekommen: Was ohne Türsteher, dafür aber mit viel billigem warmen Bier begann und konsequent Klo, Raumangebot und Lüftung eine Absage erteilte, konnte nur in den Salon Klimbim führen. Das Motto für ihre Darbietung ist William Blakes „Hochzeit von Himmel und Hölle“ entnommen: Expect Poison from Standing Water.

REDE, 5 min
Christoph Schäfer hält womöglich einen spontanen Kurzvortrag.