October 1

Salon Fluchthilfe

Kuratiert von Zanny Begg

Program of events

Opening:  October 1, 2014, 7pm
Performance by Mindj Panther
Talks by Katarzyna Izabela Winiecka and Barat Ali Batoor

October 2, 2014, 4pm:
Lecture Who are Ezidi Kurds?, Sherko Jahani Asl (The Silent University, Sweden)
This lecture will provide a background on the dramatic situation for the Ezidi people who are currently being massacred by Islamist extremists in Northern Iraq. This lecture will uncover the “forgotten” Ezidi people, their culture, history and religion.
Sherko Jahani is a political refugee from Mahabad, Iranian Kurdistan. He is a journalist, writer, human rights activist, Kurdish Language Teacher and photographer.

October 4, 2014, 4pm
Artist talk by Barat Ali Batoor
Batoor was born in Pakistan in 1983 in a family that was driven out of Afghanistan by the civil war. He returned to Afghanistan for the first time after September 11, 2001. Batoor started photographing in 2002 and launched his first solo exhibition in 2007. His works are published in journals such as The Washington Post, Wall Street Journal and Afghanistan Times. For this exhibition he will include The Unseen Road to Asylum, documentation of his own attempted journey to Australia by boat.

October 7, 2014, 6pm
The refugee protest movement mobilization in Austria and the EU
A forum organised by Marissa Lôbo (activist and artist; maiz – Autonomes Zentrum von & für Migrantinnen) and Marina Gržinic (artist and professor at the Academy of Fine Arts in Vienna)

Speakers:
Khan Adalat (refugee and activist)
Ilker Ataç (political scientist at the University of Vienna)
Clifford A. Erinmwionghae (migrant and activist)
Njideka Stephanie Iroh (poet and erformer; PAMOJA – The Movement of the Young African Diaspora)
Ines Mahmoud (political activist/poet; Refugee Protest Camp Wien)
Gin Müller (dramaturge, performer and activist)

This forum will discuss how in the period after the Fall of the Berlin wall and 9/11 capitalist discourse has shifted from protection of human rights into a policy of bare life, seclusions and deportations of refugees and asylum seekers. The refugee movement in Vienna in 2012 showed a power of self-mobilization and self-articulation. The self-organized refugee protest movement, that was supported immediately by many activists and students from the Academy of  Fine Arts  in Vienna, has been put under harsh  pressure and  criminalization procedures. After almost 2 years here it is again another possibility to speak in public providing an analysis what was done and what is to be done.

1. Oktober

Salon Fluchthilfe

Kuratiert von Zanny Begg

Veranstaltungsprogramm

Eröffnung: 1. Oktober 2014, 19 Uhr
Performance von Mindj Panther
Gespräche mit Katarzyna Izabela Winiecka und Barat Ali Batoor

2. Oktober 2014, 16 Uhr
Lecture Wer sind die Jesiden?, Sherko Jahani Asl (The Silent University, Schweden)
Die Lecture soll zum einen über die dramatische Situation der Jesiden, die im Nordirak von islamistischen Extremisten gezielt verfolgt werden, informieren und zugleich ein „vergessenes“ Volk, dessen Kultur, Geschichte und Religion in den Blickpunkt rücken.
Sherko Jahani ist ein politischer Flüchtling aus Mahabad, dem iranischen Teil Kurdistans. Er arbeitet als Journalist, Publizist, Menschenrechtsaktivist, Kurdischlehrer und Fotograf.

4. Oktober 2014, 16 Uhr
Künstlergespräch mit Barat Ali Batoor
Barat Ali Batoor wurde 1983 in Pakistan in eine Familie hineingeboren, die im Zuge des Bürgerkrieges aus Afghanistan vertrieben worden war. Nach dem 11. September 2001 kehrte er zum ersten Mal nach Afghanistan zurück. 2002 begann er zu fotografieren, 2007 zeigte er seine erste Einzelausstellung. Seine Arbeiten werden in Magazinen wie The Washington Post, Wall Street Journal oder Afghanistan Times abgedruckt. Im Rahmen von Salon Fluchthilfe präsentiert er The Unseen Road to Asylum, die Dokumentation seiner eigenen Flucht nach Australien per Boot.

7. Oktober 2014, 18 Uhr
Die Mobilisierung der Refugee-Protest-Bewegung in Österreich und in der EU
Ein Forum organisiert von Marissa Lôbo (Aktivistin und Künstlerin; maiz – Autonomes Zentrum von & für Migrantinnen) und Marina Gržinic (Künstlerin und Professorin an der Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien)

SprecherInnen:
Khan Adalat (Flüchtling und Aktivist)
Ilker Ataç (Politikwissenschaftler an der Universität Wien)
Clifford A. Erinmwionghae (Migrant und Aktivist)
Njideka Stephanie Iroh (Schriftstellerin und Performerin; PAMOJA – The Movement of the Young African Diaspora)
Ines Mahmoud (politische Aktivistin und Schriftstellerin; Refugee Protest Camp Wien)
Gin Müller (Dramaturg_in, Performer_in und Aktivist_in)

Im Zentrum des Forums steht die Frage, wie sich der kapitalistische Diskurs – in Folge des Falls der Berliner Mauer und nach 9/11 – vom Schutz der Menschenrechte hin zu einer Politik der Abschottung und Abschiebung von Flüchtlingen und Asylsuchen gewandelt hat. Die Wiener Refugee Bewegung zeigte 2012 ein kraftvolles Gegenbeispiel der Selbstmobilisierung und Selbstartikulation. Der selbstorganisierte Flüchtlingsprotest, der von vielen Studierenden der Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien unterstützt wurde, war schnell mit einem immensen politischen Druck sowie Tendenzen der Kriminalisierung konfrontiert. Nach zwei Jahren gibt es nun eine weitere Möglichkeit der öffentlichen Diskussion und Analyse – dessen, was war, und dessen, was in Zukunft getan werden muss.