April 28, 2022

Open Studio: Laëtitia Badaut Haussmann

Open Studio

Welcome to a day of Open Studio, arranged on the occasion of the 2022 Artist Residency of the Secession in cooperation with our partner Hotel Beethoven Wien.
The artist Laëtitia Badaut Haussmann will be concluding her six-week residency and is inviting you to her studio space.

Schellinggasse 13, 1010 Vienna, 3rd Floor
With the kind support of never-at-home.at

 

Laëtitia Badaut Haussmann was born in 1980 and currently lives and works between Paris and London. A graduate of the École nationale supérieure d’arts de Paris-Cergy in 2006, she was awarded the AWARE (Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions) prize in 2017. She was part of the Pavillon residency program at the Palais de Tokyo in 2011–2012 and was a recipient of the Villa Kujoyama residency in Kyoto, Japan, in 2016. Badaut Haussmann is represented by Galerie Allen and teaches at Parsons Paris—The New School.

Laëtitia Badaut Haussmann’s art revolves around the notion of para-architecture. Her research is situated at the intersection of several fields including domesticity, psychology and feminism. Her practice is centred around the concept of design and its history as a social and political expression. She works with sculpture, installation, image, text, video, and sound, the exhibition being her main medium. Informed by a reflection on narrative forms, the relationship between analogies and macrostructures, her work functions as a succession of apparitions and reminiscences. Through it, she tackles questions essential to our epoch, in order to encourage emancipation and the appearance of new ways of thinking.

Her work has been the subject of several solo and group shows. Selection: Musée d’Art Moderne, Paris (2021), Fondation Pernod Ricard, Paris (2021), The Community, Pantin, France (2021), A Tale of a Tub, Rotterdam (2021), Centre Pompidou, Paris (2020), Beeler Gallery, Columbus, Ohio (2020), MACRO, Rome (2020), Converso, Milan (2019), MRAC, Sérignan, France (2019), Musée départemental d’art contemporain de Rochechouart, France (2018), Kettle’s Yard, Cambridge, UK (2018), MUSEION, Bolzano, Italy (2017), MUDAM, Luxembourg (2017), Centre Pompidou, Metz and Paris (2017), FUTURA, Prague (2017), @KCUA gallery, Kyoto (2016), Hepworth Wakefield, UK (2016), Benaki Museum, Thessaloniki (2014).

Her works are held in prestigious public collections such as the Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris; the Musée d’art contemporain de la Haute-Vienne, Rochechouart, France; the Fonds municipal d’art contemporain de la Ville de Paris; FRAC Champagne Ardenne, France; the Centre National des Arts Plastiques, Paris; the Musée des Arts Décoratifs, Paris; MAC/VAL, Val-de-Marne, France; MÉCA – Frac Nouvelle-Aquitaine, Bordeaux.

28. April 2022

Open Studio: Laëtitia Badaut Haussmann

Offenes Atelier

Herzlich willkommen zu einem Tag des offenen Ateliers, der anlässlich der Artist Residency 2022 der Secession in Kooperation mit unserem Partner Hotel Beethoven Wien veranstaltet wird.
Die Künstlerin Laëtitia Badaut Haussmann beendet ihre sechswöchige Artist Residency und lädt Sie zum Abschluss in ihr Atelier ein.

Schellinggasse 13, 1010 Wien, 3. Stock
Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von never-at-home.at

 

Laëtitia Badaut Haussmann (geb. 1980) lebt derzeit in Paris und London. Sie schloss ihr Studium an der École nationale supérieure d’arts de Paris-Cergy 2006 ab und gewann 2017 den Preis AWARE (Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions). Sie nahm 2011–2012 am Künstlerprogramm Pavillon des Palais de Tokyo teil und arbeitete 2016 im Rahmen eines Stipendiums in der Villa Kujoyama in Kyoto, Japan. Badaut Haussmann wird durch Galerie Allen vertreten und lehrt an Parsons Paris – The New School.

Laëtitia Badaut Haussmanns Werk dreht sich um die Vorstellung einer Para-Architektur. Ihre Forschungen bewegen sich an den Schnittstellen zwischen der Gestaltung von Innenräumen, Psychologie, Feminismus und anderen Feldern. Im Zentrum ihrer Praxis steht der Begriff des Designs und seine Geschichte als gesellschaftliche und politische Ausdrucksform. Sie arbeitet in den Medien Skulptur, Installation, Bild, Text, Video, Ton und vor allem Ausstellung. Ihre von Reflexionen auf Erzählformen und das Verhältnis zwischen Analogien und Makrostrukturen inspirierten Arbeiten bilden eine Folge von Erscheinungen und Erinnerungen. So verhandelt sie entscheidende Fragen unserer Zeit, um dazu zu ermuntern, im Handeln und Denken neue Wege zu beschreiten.

Ihre Werke waren in zahlreichen Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen zu sehen. Auswahl: Musée d’Art Moderne, Paris (2021), Fondation Pernod Ricard, Paris (2021), The Community, Pantin, Frankreich (2021), A Tale of a Tub, Rotterdam (2021), Centre Pompidou, Paris (2020), Beeler Gallery, Columbus, Ohio (2020), MACRO, Rom (2020), Converso, Mailand (2019), MRAC, Sérignan, Frankreich (2019), Musée départemental d’art contemporain de Rochechouart, Frankreich (2018), Kettle’s Yard, Cambridge, UK (2018), MUSEION, Bozen (2017), MUDAM, Luxemburg (2017), Centre Pompidou, Metz und Paris (2017), FUTURA, Prag (2017), @KCUA gallery, Kyoto (2016), Hepworth Wakefield, UK (2016), Benaki Museum, Thessaloniki (2014).

Ihre Arbeiten befinden sich in renommierten öffentlichen Sammlungen wie dem Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris, dem Musée d’art contemporain de la Haute-Vienne, Rochechouart (Frankreich), dem Fonds municipal d’art contemporain de la Ville de Paris, dem FRAC Champagne Ardenne (Frankreich), dem Centre National des Arts Plastiques, Paris, dem Musée des Arts Décoratifs, Paris, dem MAC/VAL, Val-de-Marne (Frankreich) und dem MÉCA – Frac Nouvelle-Aquitaine, Bordeaux.