April 24, 2015

The metaphysical Store’s continuation with dress rehearsal, virginity, manners (sous les Dominos verts)

Concert with Marina Rosenfeld and Stefan Tcherepnin (New York)

Concert

Josef Strau invited the New York-based composers and performers Marina Rosenfeld and Stefan Tcherepnin to join him in Vienna for this concert evening. The longstanding exchange of ideas between the three is reflected in the elements and motifs of Strau’s exhibition at the Secession as well: the main text in the artist’s books Turtle Dreaming published in conjunction with the show is intended as a rapid “recording” and written account of the challenging new demands following Marina Rosenfeld’s invitation to Strau to pen an essay on her recent music for orchestra.

During their concert at the Secession, the three will perform compositions by Marina Rosenfeld and Stefan Tcherepnin, musical statements that respond to the space of the exhibition. The published essay and the exhibition display were deliberately left unfinished and fragmentary; the two composers’ music, by contrast, may be read as the proverbial finishing touch, bringing the act of production to a conclusion: the exhibition is completed in the audience’s listening experience.
 

Marina Rosenfeld
is a composer and artist based in New York. Her works combine performance, sound, and sculptural elements; she writes chamber music as well as compositions for large ensembles and pioneers new ways to unite music and visual art. Marina Rosenfeld performs as a pianist and, since the 1990s, as an experimental turntablist, working with collaborators ranging from Christian Marclay to Warrior Queen and the Merce Cunningham Dance Company. Rosenfeld’s work has been presented at numerous biennials and festivals and in museums including the Museum of Modern Art, the Stedelijk Museum, the Tate Modern, and Wien Modern. She also contributed work to the exhibition Art is: New Art: Reflections on Schönberg at the Arnold Schönberg Center, Vienna, in 2013.

Stefan Tcherepnin
was born in Boston in 1977 and lives and works in New York. Recent solo exhibitions include Hypocrisy Ladders, Real Fine Arts, New York (2014); Hello People, Freedman Fitzpatrick, Los Angeles (2014); POMOSHCH medelst dig hjälp mig?, New Jersey, Basel (2012).
 

An event of the Friends of the Secession

24. April 2015

The metaphysical Store’s continuation with dress rehearsal, virginity, manners (sous les Dominos verts)

Konzertabend mit Marina Rosenfeld und Stefan Tcherepnin (New York)

Konzert

Die New Yorker KomponistInnen und PerformancekünstlerInnen Marina Rosenfeld und Stefan Tcherepnin wurden von Josef Strau für diesen Konzertabend eingeladen. Ihr vorangegangener, langer gemeinsamer Austausch hat sich auch unmittelbar auf die Elemente und Motive von Straus Ausstellung in der Secession ausgewirkt: So versteht sich der Haupttext im Künstlerbuch Turtle Dreaming, das anlässlich der Schau erscheint, als eine schnelle „Aufzeichnung“ und Verschriftlichung der Herausforderungen, die mit der Einladung einhergingen, einen Aufsatz über Marina Rosenfelds neue Musik für Orchester zu schreiben.

Beim Konzert in der Secession werden Kompositionen von Marina Rosenfeld und Stefan Tcherepnin präsentiert, die in Form von musikalischen Statements auf den Raum der Ausstellung reagieren. Während der Text der Publikation und die Ausstellung in einem Zustand des bewusst Unterbrochenen und Fragmentarischen belassen wurden, kann die Musik der beiden KomponistInnen als der sprichwörtliche letzte Pinselstrich verstanden werden, mit dem der Akt der Produktion abgeschlossen wird: Die Ausstellung wird vollendet im Hörerlebnis des Publikums.
Marina Rosenfeld
Komponistin und Künstlerin, lebt in New York. Ihre Arbeiten vereinen Performance, Sound und skulpturale Elemente; sie komponiert sowohl für Kammermusik- als auch für große Ensembles und ist eine der VorreiterInnen der Verbindung von Musik und bildender Kunst. Marina Rosenfeld tritt sowohl als Pianistin als auch seit den 1990er-Jahren als experimentelle DJane auf, wobei ihre Kooperationspartner von Christian Marclay über Warrior Queen bis hin zur Merce Cunningham Dance Company reichen. Rosenfelds Arbeiten wurden auf zahlreichen Biennalen und Festivals und in Museen präsentiert; unter anderen im Museum of Modern Art, im Stedelijk Museum, in der Tate Modern und bei Wien Modern. 2013 nahm die Künstlerin an der Ausstellung Art is: New Art: Reflections on Schönberg im Arnold Schönberg Center Wien teil.

Stefan Tcherepnin
Künstler und Musiker, lebt und arbeitet in New York.
Seine jüngsten Soloausstellungen umfassen: Hypocrisy Ladders, Real Fine Arts, New York (2014); Hello People, Freedman Fitzpatrick, Los Angeles (2014); POMOSHCH medelst dig hjälp mig?, New Jersey, Basel (2012).
Eine Veranstaltung der Freunde der Secession