April 19

3rd FORMER WEST Research Congress, Part One

Beyond What Was Contemporary Art

Congress

Beyond What Was Contemporary Art, the first installment of the third in the series of FORMER WEST Research Congresses, offers a space to speculate about possibilities for art beyond the normalizing practices of what we have come to know as Contemporary Art.
Is it possible to think of Contemporary Art as art—or an art historical period even—emerging from 1989 and developing in parallel to other hegemonic formations such as global neoliberalism? Could it then be argued that, in sync with the current seismic shifts in society, politics, and economy, it now also faces if not a dead end then a number of challenges that take it to task? Is Contemporary Art, as an iconographic source of the political architecture of the world of the last two decades on its way out so to speak, together with the system that made it possible? What kind of challenges and possibilities might then lie before us in the space of art in times like ours? Can we speculate collectively on how to move beyond the present confines of Contemporary Art’s practices, and begin articulating what can appear from its “formerness?” What are our responses to—and proposals for—the times ahead?

Program:
The 3rd FORMER WEST Research Congress, Part One: Beyond What Was Contemporary Art takes place on 19 and 2 April 2012 at Secession, Vienna and the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna, respectively. Consequently, the Congress deliberations are reflected upon in an open session on 21 April 2012. The Congress is envisioned as a discursive platform where artists, researchers, and public intellectuals are offered a space to speculate about possibilities for art vis-à-vis the increasing forces of antagonism across the world and the emerging imaginaries that accompany them. A detailed schedule is available online at: www.formerwest.org. Part Two, shaped by these discussions, unfolds in autumn in Utrecht.

19 April 2012, 7pm–9pm, Secession, Vienna
Beginning from the “Formerness” of Contemporary Art

Opening the Congress is a keynote by Nancy Adajania (cultural theorist and curator, Mumbai) introducing the Congress’s focus on what lies beyond Contemporary Art, and the consideration of practitioners within and outside the field of art who risk their symbolic capital to explore new possibilities.

20 April 2012, 10am–7.55pm, Academy of Fine Arts Vienna
Organizing a Difference and Speculating Forward

On day two, CAMP (collaborative project and platform, Mumbai), Christian Höller (writer, Vienna), h.arta (artist collective, Timisoara), Ekaterina Degot (art historian and curator, Moscow), aaa / Atelier d’architecture autogérée (urban research collective platform, Paris), Jesko Fezer (artist and architect, Berlin), Ruth Sonderegger (philosopher, Vienna), and a keynote by Irit Rogoff (theorist and curator, London) examine how a difference gets organized among artistic, intellectual, and activist practices, and the new structures of research, production, and dissemination that arise. Touching on how new possibilities are constituted within and beyond Contemporary Art, the session considers small translocal models that might already be outside known forms of art institutions, self-organization, and aesthetic disciplines.

21 April 2012 11am–noon, Academy of Fine Arts Vienna
Open Forum: In Place of Conclusions

Led by Ruth Sonderegger (philosopher, Vienna), this session invites both Congress contributors and participants to revisit the positions, statements, conversations, questions, and doubts that stem from the speculations about what lies “beyond what was Contemporary Art” in order to attempt to map the concerns and urgencies ahead of us. Instead of summarizing a set of conclusions, it is offered as a site of anticipation, as well as of collective thinking and action.

The 3rd FORMER WEST Congress is part of a series of public forums aimed at rendering visible and furthering the artistic, curatorial, and academic research in which the project FORMER WEST is grounded. The Congress is developed by BAK, basis voor actuele kunst, Utrecht and co-curated by FORMER WEST research advisor Marion von Osten. It is realized in collaboration with the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna, and Secession, Vienna.

Program updates can be found on our website and Congress proceedings on 19 and 20 April can be followed via live stream and are archived on the FORMER WEST Digital Platform.

FORMER WEST
FORMER WEST is a contemporary art research, education, publishing, and exhibition project (2008–2014) aimed at a critical reinterpretation of our recent post-1989 histories and at speculating about our global future by casting new light on contemporary art in relation to developments in society and politics. It is realized with a dense international network of researchers and institutional partners. The project is initiated and developed by BAK, basis voor actuele kunst, Utrecht under the artistic directorship of Maria Hlavajova (artistic director BAK, Utrecht and FORMER WEST).

Part One of the Congress is realized in collaboration with the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna and Secession, Vienna and is generously supported by the Mondriaan Fund, Amsterdam; ERSTE Foundation, Vienna; and the Embassy of the Kingdom of The Netherlands in Vienna.

19. April

3. FORMER WEST Forschungskongress, Teil 1

Beyond What Was Contemporary Art

Kongress

Beyond What Was Contemporary Art ist der erste Teil des 3. FORMER WEST Forschungskongresses. Er bietet Raum für Spekulationen über die Möglichkeiten der Kunst jenseits der normativen Praxen, die man heute als Contemporary Art bezeichnet.
Wenn Contemporary Art als eine Kunst oder sogar historische Periode verstanden wird, die sich parallel zu anderen hegemonialen Formationen wie dem globalen Neoliberalismus seit 1989 entwickelt hat, dann ließe sich argumentieren, dass sie zusammen mit den aktuellen gesellschaftlichen, politischen und wirtschaftlichen Verschiebungen in eine Krise, wenn nicht eine Sackgasse geraten ist. Bedeutet das, dass Contemporary Art als ikonographische Fassade der politischen Weltarchitektur der vergangenen beiden Jahrzehnten mitsamt dem System, das sie ermöglicht hat, zu Ende gehen wird? Welche künstlerischen Herausforderungen und Möglichkeiten liegen vor uns? Lässt sich gemeinsam denken, wie bestehende normalisierte und normalisierende Praktiken überwunden werden könnten? Können wir bereits artikulieren, was von ihrer Formerness, ihrer Ehemaligkeit sichtbar wird? Wie auf das, was kommt, reagieren? Welche Alternativen gibt es?

Programm:
Beyond What Was Contemporary Art, Teil 1 des 3. FORMER WEST Forschungskongresses, findet am 19. und 20. April 2012 in der Secession, Wien und der Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien statt. Am 21. April 2012 werden die Themen des Kongresses dann in einer öffentlichen Session diskutiert. Der Kongress ist als diskursive Plattform geplant, auf der Kunstschaffende, WissenschaftlerInnen und PublizistInnen über die Möglichkeiten der Kunst angesichts der weltweit schärfer werdenden gegnerischen Kräfte und ihrer neuen Bildwelten nachzudenken. Die Programmdetails sind online auf www.formerwest.org einsehbar. Der auf den Diskussionen in Wien aufbauende Teil 2 findet im Herbst in Utrecht statt.

19. April 2012, 19 – 21 Uhr, Secession, Wien
Beginning from the „Formerness” of Contemporary Art

Den Kongress eröffnet eine Keynote von Nancy Adajania (Kulturtheoretikerin und Kuratorin, Mumbai). Sie stellt das Leitmotiv des Kongresses vor: Was kommt nach der Contemporary Art, und was geschieht mit den Kulturschaffenden, die ihr symbolisches Kapital aufs Spiel setzen, um nach neuen Möglichkeiten zu suchen

20. April 2012, 10 –19.55 Uhr, Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien
Organizing a Difference und Speculating Forward

Am zweiten Tag diskutieren CAMP (Projekt und Plattform, Mumbai), Christian Höller (Autor, Wien), h.arta (KünstlerInnenkollektiv, Timişoara), Ekaterina Degot (Kunsthistorikerin und Kuratorin, Moskau), aaa/ Atelier d’architecture autogérée (Stadtforschungskollektiv, Paris), Jesko Fezer (Künstler und Architekt, Berlin), Ruth Sonderegger (Philosophin, Wien) sowie eine Keynote von Irit Rogoff (Theoretikerin und Kuratorin, London), wie künstlerische, intellektuelle und aktivistische Praxen andere Produktions- und Verbreitungsstrukturen organisieren. Translokale Praktiken werden diskutiert, die allenfalls schon außerhalb der heute bekannten Kunstinstitutionen, Selbstorganisationsformen und ästhetischen Disziplinen angesiedelt sind.

21. April 2012, 11 – 12.30 Uhr, Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien
Open Forum: In Place of Conclusions

Moderiert von Ruth Sonderegger (Philosophin, Wien) lädt das Forum Beitragende und BesucherInnen gleichermaßen ein, jene Positionen, Statements und Diskussionen, aber auch Fragen und Zweifel zu erörtern, die sich aus den Spekulationen darüber, was „jenseits dessen, was Contemporary Art war“, ergeben. Ziel ist, die zukünftigen dringlichen Aufgaben zu skizzieren. Das Forum hält keine Schlussfolgerungen fest, sondern dient der Formulierung von Perspektiven, dem Gedankenaustausch und der gemeinsamen Aktion.

Der 3. FORMER WEST Kongress ist Teil einer Reihe öffentlicher Foren zur Sichtbarmachung und Förderung jener künstlerischen, kuratorischen und akademischen Forschungen, auf denen das Projekt FORMER WEST basiert. Der Kongress wird von BAK, basis voor actuele kunst, Utrecht organisiert und wurde von den Kuratorinnen mit der beratenden Forscherin von FORMER WEST, Marion von Osten, kuratiert. Der Kongress wird in Zusammenarbeit mit der Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien und der Secession, Wien veranstaltet.

Der Kongress kann online über einen Livestream mitverfolgt werden am 19. und 20. April, der hernach auf der FORMER WEST Digital Platform archiviert wird.

FORMER WEST ist ein transdiziplinäres Forschungsprojekt (2008- 2014) mit dem Ziel einer kritischen Neuinterpretation unserer Geschichten seit 1989 und des Denkens über die Zukunft der Welt. Damit wirft FORMER WEST ein neues Licht auf die Contemporary Art hinsichtlich der aktuellen Entwicklungen in Gesellschaft und Politik. Das Projekt wird von einem internationalen Netzwerk von ForscherInnen und institutionellen Partnern realisiert. Initiatorin und Entwicklerin ist BAK, basis voor actuele kunst, Utrecht, unter der künstlerischen Leitung von Maria Hlavajova (künstlerische Leiterin von BAK, Utrecht, und FORMER WEST).

Teil 1 des Kongresses wird in Zusammenarbeit mit der Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien und der Secession, Wien durchgeführt und großzügig unterstützt durch den Mondriaan Fund, Amsterdam, die ERSTE Stiftung, Wien, und die Botschaft des Königreichs der Niederlande in Wien.