May 10

Fate of Alien Modes, Filmmuseum

Film program

Filmmuseum Vienna

10 May 2003
2pm
Noël Burch, What Do Those Old Films Mean (GB 1985, color, sound, 3 of 6 parts à 25min)
The six-part television series describes the development of film language in six different countries (America, Denmark, Germany, England, France and Russia) from respectively different historical, social, political and filmic perspectives.

Followed by a discussion with Noël Burch

4.30pm
Noël Burch/Thom Andersen, Red Hollywood (USA 1995, color, sound, 121min)
This documentary film deals with the history of leftist and communist directors, who were victims of the so-called “witch hunt” in Hollywood of the McCarthy era.

11 May 2003
2pm
Derek Jarman, The Last of England (GB 1987, color, sound, 87min)
One of the most important British experimental films of the 80’s, which breaks all the rules of conventional narratives and makes use of a subversive image language. It focuses on a critical depiction of the situation of the society and the social breakdown of England in the late 80’s.

4.30pm
Nagisa Oshima, Koshikei (Death by Hanging) (J 1968, b/w, sound, 117min)
Oshima tells the story of a young Korean, who is condemned to death for an alleged rape. In this psycho-drama, which is arranged as a complex process of emerging consciousness, the Korean symbolically embodies the state and the revolts of the Japanese Lumpen Proletariat at that time.

1 June 2003
4pm
Ulrike Ottinger, Freak Orlando (BRD 1981, color, sound, 126min)
“A ‘Histoire du Monde’ comprising mistakes, incompetence, hunger for power, fear, madness, cruelty and everyday life using the example of freaks from the beginnings to today as a small world theater in five episodes.” (U.O.)

6.30pm
Morgan Fisher, Standard Gauge (USA 1984, color, sound, 35min)
Standard Gauge is an autobiographical account. The film material that Fisher collected over the course of time is composed of diverse 35mm strips – the standard format of the Hollywood industry. Among other themes, the film deals with production format: 35mm material that has been disposed of is projected as a 16mm film.

7.15pm
Shirley Clarke, The Cool World (USA 1963, color, sound, 95min)
A collaboration between Clarke and the Afro-American author Carl Lee. The film is based on a novel by Warren Miller about young people from Harlem and is exemplary for Clarke’s social-critical works.

9.30pm
Isaac Julien, BaadAsssss Cinema (GB 2001, color, sound, 75min)
This documentary film deals with the genre of Blaxploitation and its most important protagonists (Melvin VanPeebles, Pam Grier, Fred Williamson, Gloria Hendry …). It analyses the confrontation that this genre conducts with stereotypes, black urban myths and a whole series of themes – from slavery to the civil rights movement.

Followed by a discussion with Isaac Julien
 

Film program put together by Mark Nash

10. Mai

Fate of Alien Modes, Filmmuseum

Filmprogramm

Filmmuseum Wien

10. 5. 2003
14 Uhr
Noël Burch, What Do Those Old Films Mean (GB 1985, Farbe, Ton, 3 von 6 Teilen à 25min)
Die sechsteilige Fernsehserie beschreibt die Entwicklung der Filmsprache in sechs verschiedenen Ländern (Amerika, Dänemark, Deutschland, England, Frankreich und Russland) unter jeweils verschiedenen historischen, sozialen, politischen und filmischen Perspektiven.

Im Anschluss Gespräch mit Noël Burch

16.30 Uhr
Noël Burch/Thom Andersen, Red Hollywood (USA 1995, Farbe, Ton, 121min)
Dieser Dokumentarfilm beschäftigt sich mit der Geschichte linker und kommunistischer Regisseure, die im Hollywood der McCarthy-Ära Opfer der sogenannten „Hexenjagd“ wurden.

11. 5. 2003
14 Uhr
Derek Jarman, The Last of England (GB 1987, Farbe, Ton, 87min)
Einer der wichtigsten britischen Experimentalfilme der 80er Jahre, der alle Regeln konventioneller Erzählungen bricht, und sich einer subversiven Bildersprache bedient. Sein Hauptgewicht liegt auf einer kritischen Darstellung des gesellschaftlichen Zustands und des sozialen Niedergangs Englands am Ende der 80er.

16.30 Uhr
Nagisa Oshima, Koshikei (Tod durch Erhängen) (J 1968, s/w, Ton, 117min)
Oshima erzählt die Geschichte eines jungen Koreaners, der wegen einer angeblichen Vergewaltigung zum Tode verurteilt wird. In diesem Psycho-Drama, das als komplexer Bewusstwerdungsprozess angelegt ist, verkörpert der Koreaner symbolisch den Zustand und die Revolte des damaligen japanischen Lumpen-Proletariats.

1. 6. 2003
16 Uhr
Ulrike Ottinger, Freak Orlando (BRD 1981, Farbe, Ton, 126min)
„Eine Irrtümer, Inkompetenz, Machthunger, Angst, Wahnsinn, Grausamkeit und Alltag umfassende ‚Histoire du Monde‘ am Beispiel der Freaks von den Anfängen bis heute als kleines Welttheater in fünf Episoden erzählt.“ (U.O.)

18.30 Uhr
Morgan Fisher, Standard Gauge (USA 1984, Farbe, Ton, 35min)
Standard Gauge ist ein autobiografischer Bericht. Das Filmmaterial, das Fisher im Laufe der Zeit sammelte, setzt sich aus unterschiedlichsten 35mm-Streifen zusammen – dem Standardformat der Hollywoodindustrie. Der Film behandelt unter anderem das Thema des Produktionsformats: entsorgtes 35mm-Material wird als 16mm-Film projiziert.

19.15 Uhr
Shirley Clarke, The Cool World (USA 1963, Farbe, Ton, 95min)
Eine Zusammenarbeit von Clarke und dem afro-amerikanischen Autor Carl Lee. Der Film basiert auf einem Roman von Warren Miller über Jugendliche aus Harlem und steht exemplarisch für Clarkes gesellschaftskritische Arbeiten.

21.30 Uhr
Isaac Julien, BaadAsssss Cinema (GB 2001, Farbe, Ton, 75min)
Dieser Dokumentarfilm beschäftigt sich mit dem Blaxploitation-Genre und dessen wichtigsten ProtagonistInnen (Melvin VanPeebles, Pam Grier, Fred Williamson, Gloria Hendry …). Er analysiert die Auseinandersetzung, die dieses Genre mit Stereotypen, schwarzen urbanen Mythen und einer ganzen Reihe von Themen – von der Sklaverei bis zur Civil-Rights-Bewegung – führt.

Im Anschluss Gespräch mit Isaac Julien
 

Filmprogramm zusammengestellt von Mark Nash