May 10

Fate of Alien Modes, Secession

Film program

every Tuesday / Thursday / Saturday

10am
Chantal Akerman, Hôtel Monterey (B/USA 1972, color, silent, 65min)
In Akerman’s first full length feature film, the camera becomes an “actor” moving in long shots and extended camera pans through the empty rooms of the New Yorker hotel of the same namesimultaneously a study of architecture and of a mental space.

11.15am
Babette Mangolte, The Camera: Je or La Caméra: I (USA 1977, b/w and color, sound, 88min)
Mangolte, who photographed Akerman’s Hôtel Monterey, reflects in this film on her experience as camerawoman and the process of image production: “The film is literally the film camera.” (B.M.).

1pm
Elisabeth Subrin, Shulie (USA 1997, b/w and color, sound, 36min)
As a filmic “doppelganger” of an existing documentary film about the feminist Shulamit Firestone from 1967, Shulie investigates questions of sex, race and class in the 60’s and today.

2pm
Harun Farocki/Ingemo Engström, Erzählen (D 1975, b/w, sound, 58min)
Erzählen sketches the autobiographical situation of the authors, which is marked by the search for possibilities for an interdisciplinary praxis. Part of the experimental narrative structures are the “appearances” of various people, which are interwoven like “letters” in the simultaneously real and fictive diary.

3.15pm
Noël Burch/André S. Labarthe, Rome is Burning / Portrait of Shirley Clarke (F 1996, b/w, sound, 55min)
An interview with the filmmaker Shirley Clarke takes place in January 1968 in New York. Among the interviewers and guests, one recognizes Noël Burch, Jacques Rivette, Jean-Jacques Lebel, Yoko Ono. The camera wanders from hand to hand, thus showing the work as a “mise-en-abyme” of cinema itself.

4.30pm
Isaac Julien, Looking for Langston (GB 1989, b/w, sound, 40min)
The film is an homage to the homosexual black poet Langston Hughes, dealing with the theme of the twofold outsider and presenting the “Harlem Renaissance” as a heyday of homoeroticism between blacks and whites.

every Wednesday / Friday / Sunday

10am
Malcolm Le Grice, Blackbird Descending (GB 1977, color, sound, 110min)
Blackbird Descending investigates experiences of different phenomena, using the techniques of repetition and shifting to transform the banality of everyday life into a mysterious drama of potentially possible occurrences.

12 noon
Jean-Marie Straub/Danièle Huillet, History Lessons (I/D 1972, color, sound, 85min)
The film is based on the unfinished work “The Business of Mr. Julius Caesar” and tells of the relationships between economy and democracy, capitalism and imperialism.

1.45pm
Michael Snow, Rameau’s Nephew (CAN 1974, color, sound, 285min)
Michael Snow’s treatment of Diderot’s dialectical masterpiece places the subjectivity of language at the center of the discussion. “To me it’s a true ‘talking picture’ “, writes Snow. The film builds on the smallest units of film (frame) and language (syllable).

10. Mai

Fate of Alien Modes, Secession

Filmprogramm

jeweils Dienstag / Donnerstag / Samstag

10.00
Chantal Akerman, Hôtel Monterey (B/USA 1972, Farbe, stumm, 65min)
In Akermans erstem Langspielfilm wird die Kamera zur „Darstellerin“, die sich in langen Einstellungen und ausgedehnten Kamerafahrten durch die leeren Räume des gleichnamigen New Yorker Hotels bewegt – gleichzeitig Studie der Architektur und eines psychischen Raumes.

11.15
Babette Mangolte, The Camera: Je or La Caméra: I (USA 1977, s/w und Farbe, Ton, 88min)
Mangolte, die Akermans Hôtel Monterey fotografierte, reflektiert in diesem Film ihre Erfahrung als Kamerafrau und den Prozess der Bildproduktion: „Im wörtlichen Sinne ist der Film die Filmkamera.“ (B.M.)

13.00
Elisabeth Subrin, Shulie (USA 1997, s/w und Farbe, Ton, 36min)
Als filmischer „Doppelgänger“ eines existierenden Dokumentarfilms über die Feministin Shulamit Firestone aus dem Jahr 1967 untersucht Shulie Fragen von Geschlecht, Rasse und Klasse in den 60er Jahren und heute.

14.00
Harun Farocki/Ingemo Engström, Erzählen (D 1975, s/w, Ton, 58min)
In Erzählen wird die autobiografische Situation der AutorInnen skizziert, die von der Suche nach Möglichkeiten einer interdisziplinären Praxis geprägt ist. Teil der experimentellen Erzählstrukturen sind „Auftritte“ verschiedener Personen, die wie „Briefe“ in das zugleich wirkliche und fiktive Tagebuch eingeflochten werden.

15.15
Noël Burch/André S. Labarthe, Rome is Burning / Portrait of Shirley Clarke (F 1996, s/w, Ton, 55min)
Im Januar 1968 findet in New York ein Interview mit der Filmemacherin Shirley Clarke statt. Unter den Fragestellern und Gästen erkennt man Noël Burch, Jacques Rivette, Jean-Jacques Lebel, Yoko Ono. Die Kamera wandert von Hand zu Hand und zeigt so die Arbeit als „mise-en-abyme“ des Kinos selbst.

16.30
Isaac Julien, Looking for Langston (GB 1989, s/w, Ton, 40min)
Der Film ist eine Hommage an den homosexuellen schwarzen Dichter Langston Hughes, behandelt das Thema des doppelten Außenseiters, und stellt die „Harlem Renaissance“ als Blütezeit der Homoerotik zwischen Schwarzen und Weißen dar.

jeweils Mittwoch / Freitag / Sonntag

10.00
Malcolm Le Grice, Blackbird Descending (GB 1977, Farbe, Ton, 110min)
Blackbird Descending untersucht Erfahrungen unterschiedlicher Phänomene und transformiert mittels der Techniken von Wiederholung und Verschiebung die Banalität des täglichen Lebens in ein mysteriöses Drama potentiell möglicher Ereignisse.

12.00
Jean-Marie Straub/Danièle Huillet, History Lessons (I/D 1972, Farbe, Ton, 85min)
Die Arbeit basiert auf dem unvollendeten Werk „Die Geschäfte des Herrn Julius Cäsar“ von Bertolt Brecht und erzählt von den Beziehungen zwischen Ökonomie und Demokratie, Kapitalismus und Imperialismus.

13.45
Michael Snow, Rameau’s Nephew (CAN 1974, Farbe, Ton, 285min)
Michael Snows Bearbeitung von Diderots dialektischem Meisterwerk stellt das Problem der Subjektivität von Sprache in den Mittelpunkt der Diskussion. „To me it’s a true ‚talking picture'“, schreibt Snow. Der Film baut auf den kleinsten Einheiten von Film (Kader) und Sprache (Silbe) auf.