September 11, 2015

Ephemeropteræ 8: Emily Roysdon feat. Morgan Bassichis

Performance

TBA21 Augarten, Scherzergasse 1A, A-1020 Vienna
 

Emily Roysdon is engaged in a series of live events that jump out from her text Uncounted. Over the past few months collaborators have included Gregg Bordowitz, Sharon Hayes, JD Samson, Nick Hallett, Malin Arnell, MPA, Katinka Marac, Rory Pilgrim, and Frederique Bergholtz. For this event she has invited Morgan Bassichis to join her. UNCOUNTED (performance 5) deals with fabrication of time “beyond the will to measure” (to quote one of the roots of Emilys text—Gertrude Stein). Roysdon meditates over movements and images, shapes (triangles and waves) and different modes of its performativity. Roysdon asks around: “What is time if not activism?”

UNCOUNTED (performance 5) is linked to Roysdons Wiener Secession exhibition Comedy of Margin Theatre (opening September 10) and will make use of the costumes on display there.

A joint event of TBA21 and Secession
 

Emily Roysdon is a New York and Stockholm-based artist and writer. Her working method is interdisciplinary and recent projects take the form of performance, photographic installations, print making, text, video, curating and collaborating. Roysdon developed the concept “ecstatic resistance” to talk about the impossible and imaginary in politics. The concept debuted with simultaneous shows at Grand Arts in Kansas City, and X Initiative in New York. She is editor and co-founder of the queer feminist journal and artist collective, LTTR. Her many collaborations include costume design for choreographers Levi Gonzalez, Vannesa Anspaugh and Faye Driscoll, as well as lyric writing for The Knife, and Brooklyn based JD Samson & MEN.
Recent solo projects include commissions from Tate Modern, London; Secession, Vienna; PARTICIPANT, INC (NY); If I Can’t Dance, Stedelijk Museum, Amsterdam; The Kitchen (NY)…. Roysdon’s work has been exhibited at the MOMA and MoMA PS1 (NY); The Whitney Museum (NY); Moderna Museet (Malmö); Sydney Biennale; New Museum (NY); ICA (Boston); Künstlerhaus Stuttgart; Manifesta 8, Murcia, Spain; Museo Tamayo, Mexico City; Power Plant, Toronto; and Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofia, Madrid. In 2012 Roysdon was a finalist for the Future Generation Art Prize, exhibiting in Kiev and the Venice Biennale.

Morgan Bassichis is a writer and performer living in New York. Morgan has performed at Artists Space, Dixon Place, La MaMa E.TC., PARTICIPANT INC, Recess, the Shandaken Project, and the Whitney Museum of American Art. Morgan’s plays include When the Baba Yaga Eats You Alive and The Witch House. Morgan’s essays have appeared in the Radical History Review, Captive Genders, and other edited volumes. Morgan is a 2014-2015 Queer/Art/Mentorship fellow and a 2015 Process Space Artist with the Lower Manhattan Cultural Council.

11. September 2015

Ephemeropteræ 8: Emily Roysdon feat. Morgan Bassichis

Performance

TBA21 Augarten, Scherzergasse 1A, 1020 Wien
Emily Roysdon entwickelt eine Serie von Live-Events, deren Ausgangspunkt ihr Text UNCOUNTED ist. Mitwirkende in den letzten Monaten waren Gregg Bordowitz, Sharon Hayes, JD Samson, Nick Hallett, Malin Arnell, MPA, Katinka Marac, Rory Pilgrim und Frederique Bergholtz. Für diesen Abend im Augarten hat Roysdon Morgan Bassichis einladen, mit ihr aufzutreten. UNCOUNTED (performance 5) handelt von der Herstellung der Zeit „jenseits des Wunsches zu messen“ (um eine der Quellen von Emilys Text zu zitieren – Gertrude Stein). Roysdon denkt über Bewegungen und Bilder nach, über Formen (Dreiecke und Wellen) und unterschiedliche Arten ihrer Performativität. Sie stellt die Frage: „Was ist Zeit, wenn nicht Aktivismus?“

UNCOUNTED (performance 5) entsteht im Zusammenhang mit Roysdons Ausstellung Comedy of Margin Theatre in der Secession. Die dort ausgestellten Kostüme werden in der Performance verwendet.

Eine Kooperationsveranstaltung der TBA21 und der Secession
Die Künstlerin und Schriftstellerin Emily Roysdon lebt in New York und Stockholm. Sie arbeitet interdisziplinär, aktuelle Projekte entstehen in der Form von Performance, fotografischer Installation, Druck, Text, Video, kuratieren und kollaborieren. Roysdon entwickelte das Konzept des „ekstatischen Widerstandes“, um über das Unmögliche und Fingierte in der Politik zu sprechen. Das Konzept wurde bei zeitgleichen Ausstellungen in Kansas City (Grand Arts) und New York (X Initiative) vorgestellt. Sie ist Herausgeberin und Mitgründerin des queer-feministischen Magazins und KünstlerInnenkollektivs LTTR. Ihre zahlreichen Kollaborationen umfassen das Kostümdesign für die Choreographen Levi Gonzalez, Vannesa Anspaugh und Faye Driscoll sowie das Verfassen von Texten für The Knife und JD Samson & MEN aus Brooklyn.
Zu ihren aktuellen Einzelprojekten zählen Auftragsarbeiten für die Tate Modern, London, die Secession, Wien; PARTICIPANT, INC (NY); If I Can’t Dance, Stedelijk Museum, Amsterdam und The Kitchen (NY). Roysdons Arbeiten wurden ausgestellt im MOMA und MoMA PS1 (NY); Whitney Museum (NY); Moderna Museet (Malmö); Sydney Biennale; New Museum (NY); ICA (Boston); Künstlerhaus Stuttgart; Manifesta 8, Murcia, Spain; Museo Tamayo, Mexico City; Power Plant, Toronto, und Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofia, Madrid. 2012 war Roysdon Finalistin für den Future Generation Art Prize und stellte in Kiew und an der Biennale von Venedig aus.

Die Schriftstellerin und Performerin Morgan Bassichis lebt in New York. Ihre Performances fanden im Artists Space, Dixon Place, La MaMa E.TC., PARTICIPANT INC, Recess, Shandaken Project und dem Whitney Museum of American Art statt. Zu Morgans Stücken zählen „When the Baba Yaga Eats You Alive“ und „The Witch House“. Ihre Essays erschienen unter anderem in Radical History Review und Captive Genders. 2014/15 ist Morgan ein Queer/Art/Mentorship fellow und 2015 Process Space Artist am Lower Manhattan Cultural Council.