December 11, 2012

An evening for Eduard F. Sekler

Honorary member

The Secession is pleased to welcome the internationally active architect and art historian Eduard F. Sekler (born 1920 in Vienna) as a new honorary member of the Association of Artists, dedicating an evening in the Hauptraum to this much-traveled expert who has always maintained a presence in Austria. During the event, Eduard F. Sekler will speak about his personal and professional links with the Secession. The eulogy will be delivered by the architecture expert Otto Kapfinger.
 

Eduard F. Sekler
was born, two years after the founding of the Republic of Austria, in Vienna’s 9th District (Alsergrund) where he grew up. In the troubled and financially unstable period following World War I, his father was glad, in the summer of 1926, to accept a job on the French Riviera, allowing the young Eduard to play on the beach at Menton and stare in wonder at the passing ships. On their return, the boy’s teacher complained to his mother that he was a good pupil, but that he told too many lies about ships. The fact that he was merely recounting what he had actually seen shows what an impression this Mediterranean experience must have made on him.

Fourteen years later, having completed secondary school, Eduard had to spend time as a trainee in a shipyard, as this was a requirement for enrolling on the shipbuilding course at Vienna’s Technical University. Can the sun of Menton have cast such a long shadow, or did his inspiration come from a later stay in the major port city of Hamburg?

Following his conversations with the chief engineer at the shipyard, Eduard realized that in a small, landlocked country like Austria, building houses promised a better future than building ships. In November 1941, he enrolled in the architecture department of the construction faculty at Vienna’s Technical University. Alongside technical subjects, the course also included classes in drawing, painting and model making, as well as architectural and art history. There were also many opportunities to learn directly from academic teachers via invitations to work on their personal projects. As well as being employed by various professors as a draftsman, Eduard Sekler assisted one professor who was the architect-in-chief of Vienna Cathedral to perform surveys and prepare preliminary measures on sections of the building that required structural work. The most important work of this kind came from a professor who gave him a salaried post as research assistant at the Technical University until the end of his studies.

Having obtained his diploma in architecture with distinction on 3 August 1945, Eduard was unexpectedly awarded a British Council scholarship for a year in England, where he attended courses at the School of Planning and Regional Research and at the Warburg Institute in London, where, having gained an extension of the grant, he completed a PhD in art history in 1948. But this stay in Britain also had many other positive consequences for Sekler: he saw examples of the latest architecture, learned new planning approaches, met important experts in the field, and became acquainted with members of the CIAM (International Congress for Modern Architecture).

It became clear that from now on, twin professional activities would shape Eduard’s life: on the one hand, the artistic and technical design of buildings and their execution, including measures needed to preserve architectural heritage, and on the other, academic research, publishing and teaching. One good example is the church on the Leopoldsberg, an important Vienna landmark: Sekler began restoring the badly bomb-damaged structure in 1946; the following year, in the first issue of the Public Monuments Office’s house magazine, he published an essay documenting his research on the church’s original state. Since then, he has had many opportunities to work with the Public Monuments Office.

In 1948-1949, Sekler (later cooperating with Herbert Prehsler) began his work on social housing in Vienna with a small project in Siebenhirten, featuring a bas-relief by Wander Bertoni on the street facade. At the time, Sekler collaborated with Bertoni on several other projects, including the Freiheitssiedlung housing project of 1950-1954, where Bertoni created a ceramic fountain in particularly fitting colours as a centrepiece for the main garden square.

Other buildings, exhibitions and town planning projects: in 1956-60, renovation of “Alt Erdberg”, development plan of the central building and detailed planning of a housing project with more than 200 units (with Prehsler and Valentin); in 1957, “Gedächtnismal der Altschotten” in Schottenhof; in 1960, conversion and interior of the Austrian Cultural Institute in New York (with C. Auböck); in 1964-68, housing project (four blocks) in Vienna’s 21st district, Wagramerstrasse/Lenkgasse, telephone exchange for Vienna’s 19th district, Neustift am Walde; in 1968-69, “Creative Austria, 20th Century” exhibition at Philadelphia Civic Center and other venues. Working in the United States became easier for Sekler after 1955, when he started teaching at Harvard University. For ten years, he was also director of the Carpenter Center for the Visual Arts.

Selected publications:
A bibliography has been published in Form, Modernism, and History, Essays in Honor of E. F. Sekler (Harvard University Press, 1996) and Das Bauwerk und die Stadt (Verlag Böhlau, 1994); for later years see: ÖZKD, LXD 2011, Heft 1/2.
Die Architektur und die Zeit, 1988
Josef Hoffmann, Das architektonische Werk, monograph and catalogue of works, 1982 (English edition 1985, French edition 1986, Italian edition 1991)
The Genesis of the Carpenter Center for the Visual Arts (with W. Curtis), 1978
The Sukothai Historical Park Project, 1978
Wren and his Place in European Architecture, Le Corbusier at Work, 1956

The American Institute of Architects honoured Sekler with the following words: “With his architect’s eye and his historian’s insight, he has helped several generations of students to share his vision of the special place that architecture occupies in the life of society. As an inspired and inspiring teacher, he taught us that our future is safeguarded by careful study of the past.”

International activities between 1970 and 2000, mostly on behalf of UNESCO:
Sekler was commissioned to head a group of experts to draw up a master plan for preservation of cultural heritage for the Kathmandu Valley in Nepal, which Sekler wrote. Projects in Bhutan (for Austria ), India, Japan, Thailand and Turkey. Co-founder and first director of the Kathmandu Valley Preservation Trust, an organisation that has been preserving valuable historical buildings from decay for over 20 years.

Eduard F. Sekler, December 2, 2012
 

“Eduard F. Sekler’s great achievement is to have maintained a presence in Austria in spite of his international tasks and his teaching work at Harvard University. With his high quality contribution to social housing and to the critical literature of the post-war period, his activities have kept him at the forefront of events in the field.” (Gerfried Sperl)
 

Otto Kapfinger
born 1949, lives in Vienna as a freelance architecture expert; 1967-72: studied architecture at Vienna Technical University; 1970: co-founded the experimental group “Missing Link”; 1978-92: member of the board of the Austrian Architectural Association and the editorial staff of UmBau magazine; until 1984: projects and buildings with Adolf Krischanitz; 1980-84: member of the board of the Vienna Secession; 1981-91: architecture correspondent for Die Presse and Spectrum; 1984-90: lecturer, Academy of Applied Arts, Vienna; 1997-99: visiting lecturer, University of Art and Design, Linz; 1997-2001: advisory board on design, City of Salzburg; author of many books and curator of exhibitions on 20th-century and contemporary architecture in Austria.

11. Dezember 2012

Ein Abend für Eduard F. Sekler

Verleihung der Ehrenmitgliedschaft

Mit dem 1920 in Wien geborenen und international tätigen Architekten und Kunsthistoriker Eduard F. Sekler freut sich die Secession, ein neues Ehrenmitglied in der KünstlerInnenvereinigung begrüßen zu dürfen. Dem weit gereisten und dabei stets in Österreich präsent gebliebenen Experten wird ein Abend im Hauptraum der Secession gewidmet. Eduard F. Sekler wird bei diesem Anlass auch über seine persönlichen und beruflichen Beziehungen zur Secession sprechen. Die Laudatio auf das neue Ehrenmitglied der Secession hält der Architekturwissenschafter Otto Kapfinger.
 

Eduard F. Sekler
wurde zwei Jahre nach dem Beginn der Republik Österreich in der Stadt Wien im neunten Bezirk (Alsergrund) geboren und aufgezogen. In der unruhigen und finanziell schwierigen Zeit nach dem ersten Weltkrieg war sein Vater froh, 1926 eine berufliche Sommerarbeit in der französischen Riviera zu übernehmen, und so kam es, dass der kleine Eduard im Sand des Mittelmeerstrandes von Menton spielen und die vorbeifahrenden Schiffe bestaunen konnte. Nach der Rückkehr kritisierte sein Volksschullehrer der Mutter gegenüber, dass der Bub ein guter Schüler sei, aber zu viele Lügen über Schiffe erzähle. Da er nur erzählte, was er erlebt hatte, beweist, wie stark das mediterrane Erlebnis gewesen sein muss.

14 Jahre später, nach seiner im Gymnasium abgeschlossenen Matura, musste Eduard als Praktikant in einer Werft arbeiten, da dies Voraussetzung war, um an der Technischen Hochschule (TH, heute Technische Universität) in Wien zum Studium Schiffbau zugelassen zu werden. Kann die Sonne Mentons einen so starken langen Schatten bis hierher geworfen haben, oder kam die Inspiration vom späteren Aufenthalt in der großen Hafenstadt Hamburg?

Nach Gesprächen mit dem technischen Leiter der Werft musste Eduard allerdings einsehen, dass im kleinen Binnenland Österreich nicht der Schiffbau, sondern der Bau von Gebäuden ihm eine bessere Zukunft versprechen würde. Im November 1941 inskribierte er daher an der TH Wien in der Fakultät für Bauwesen, Abteilung Architektur. Im Studienplan fand er neben den technischen Fächern Kurse in Zeichnen, Malen und Modellieren sowie in Architektur- und Kunstgeschichte. Außerdem ergaben sich zahlreiche Möglichkeiten, direkt von den akademischen Lehrern zu lernen, falls man zur Mitarbeit an einem ihrer persönlichen Projekte eingeladen wurde. Eduard Sekler wurde zum Beispiel nicht nur von verschiedenen Professoren als Zeichner beschäftigt, sondern war auch Gehilfe bei der Untersuchung und Vorbereitung erster Maßnahmen an baufällig gewordenen Gebäudeteilen bei einem Professor, der Wiener Dombaumeister war. Die wichtigste gelegentliche Beschäftigung kam schließlich von dem Professor, der, so lange Eduard noch nicht fertig studiert hatte, ihm an der TH eine Anstellung mit Gehalt als „wissenschaftliche Hilfskraft” gab.

Nachdem Eduard am 3. August 1945 die Diplomprüfung in Architektur mit Auszeichnung bestanden hatte, bekam er unerwartet ein British Council Stipendium für ein Jahr in England. Er ging zu einem Kurs an die School of Planning and Regional Research sowie an das Warburg Institut in London, wo er nach Verlängerung des Stipendiums 1948 mit einem PhD in Kunstgeschichte (Art History) das Studium abschloss. Der Aufenthalt in England hatte aber auch zahlreiche andere positive Folgen für Sekler. Er konnte Beispiele modernster Architektur und neuartiger Planung kennen lernen, bedeutende Fachleute treffen und mit Mitgliedern von CIAM (Internationale Kongress für moderne Architektur) bekannt werden.

Es wurde klar, dass hinfort zwei berufliche Tätigkeiten Eduards Leben gemeinsam bestimmen würden: einerseits künstlerischer und technischer Entwurf von Bauten sowie deren Ausführung, einschließlich denkmalpflegerischer Notwendigkeiten, andererseits wissenschaftliche Forschung, Publikation und Lehre.

Als gutes Beispiel kann die historische Kirche auf dem Leopoldsberg dienen, die ein wichtiges Element im Stadtbild Wiens ist. Sekler begann die Restaurierung des schwer bombengeschädigten Bauwerks 1946. Im folgenden Jahr veröffentlichte er im ersten Heft der vom Denkmalamt herausgegebenen Zeitschrift für Denkmalpflege einen Aufsatz, der seine Forschung zur Restaurierung des Originalzustands dokumentierte. Seit damals gab es immer wieder Anlässe mit dem Denkmalamt zusammen zu arbeiten.

1948-1949 startete Sekler – in weiteren Jahren mit Herbert Prehsler – sein Engagement im Wiener sozialen Wohnbau mit einer kleinen Anlage in Wien-Siebenhirten, die auf der Straßenfassade ein Basrelief von Wander Bertoni hatte. Mit ihm arbeitet Sekler noch mehrmals zusammen, zum Beispiel 1950-1954 in der Freiheitssiedlung in Wien, wo Bertoni einen farbig besonders gelungenen keramischen Brunnen als Mittelpunkt in den grün bepflanzten Hauptplatz stellte.

Andere Bauten, Ausstellungen und städtebauliche Arbeiten folgten: 1956-60 Assanierung „Alt Erdberg”, Bebauungsplan der zentralen Baugruppe und Detailplanung einer Wohnhausanlage von mehr als 200 Einheiten (mit Prehsler und Valentin), 1957 Gedächtnismal der Altschotten in Wien Schottenhof, 1960 Umbau und Einrichtung des Österreichischen Kulturinstitutes in New York (mit C. Auböck), 1964-68 Wohnhausanlage (4 Blöcke), Wien 21, Wagramerstraße/Lenkgasse, Telefonwählamt Wien 19, Neustift am Walde, 1968-69 Ausstellung Creative Austria, 20th Century, Philadelphia Civic Center und andere Städte. Die Arbeiten in USA waren für Sekler leichter durchführbar, seit er 1955 an der Universität Harvard zu lehren begonnen hatte und auch 10 Jahre Direktor des Carpenter Center for the Visual Arts war.

Publikationen (Auswahl):
Eine Bibliographie findet sich in: Form, Modernism, and History. Essays in Honor of E. F. Sekler, Harvard University Press, 1996, und Das Bauwerk und die Stadt, Verlag Böhlau, 1994; für die nachfolgenden Jahre in: ÖZKD, LXD 2011, Heft 1/2.
Die Architektur und die Zeit, 1988
Josef Hoffmann. Das architektonische Werk, Monographie und Werkverzeichnis, 1982 (engl. 1985, frz. 1986, ital. 1991)
The Genesis of the Carpenter Center for the Visual Arts, 1978 (mit W. Curtis)
The Sukothai Historical Park Project, 1978
Wren and his Place in European Architecture. Le Corbusier at Work, 1956

Als das American Institute of Architects in seiner Ehrung Sekler würdigte, geschah es mit den folgenden Worten: „Mit seinem Auge eines Architekten und der Einsicht des Historikers hat er mehreren Generationen von Studenten geholfen teilzuhaben an seiner Vision von dem besonderen Platz, den die Architektur im Leben der Gesellschaft innehat. Als ein inspirierter und inspirierender Lehrer hat er uns gelehrt, dass durch ein sorgfältiges Studium der Vergangenheit unsere Zukunft gesichert wird.”

Internationales Engagement zwischen 1970 und 2000, meist im Auftrag der UNESCO:
Sekler erhielt den Auftrag, eine Expertengruppe zu leiten, die für Nepals Kathmandutal einen „Masterplan for Preservaton of Cultural Heritage” ausarbeitete, den Sekler verfasste. Arbeiten in Bhutan (für Österreich), Indien, Japan Thailand und der Türkei. Gründer (mit Kollegen) und erster Leiter des Kathmandu Valley Preservation Trusts, eine Organisation, die seit mehr als 20 Jahren wertvollste historische Bauwerke vor dem Verfall bewahrt.

Eduard F. Sekler, 2. Dezember 2012

„Eduard F. Seklers große Leistung ist, trotz seiner internationalen Aufgaben und seiner Lehrtätigkeit an der Universität Harvard, in Österreich präsent geblieben zu sein. Durch seinen qualitativ hoch stehenden Beitrag zum sozialen Wohnungsbau und zur kritischen Fachliteratur der Nachkriegszeit ist er in seinem Engagement stets mit in der ersten Reihe gestanden.“ (Gerfried Sperl)
 

Otto Kapfinger
geboren 1949, lebt in Wien als freiberuflich tätiger Architekturwissenschafter; 1967-72 Architekturstudium an der TH Wien; 1970 Mitbegründer der Experimentalgruppe „Missing Link”; 1978-92 im Vorstand der Österreichischen Gesellschaft für Architektur und in der Redaktion „Umbau”; bis 1984 Projekte, Bauten mit Adolf Krischanitz; 1980-84 im Vorstand der Wiener Secession; 1981-91 Architekturkritik in „Die Presse” und „Spectrum”; 1984-90 Lehrauftrag an der Hochschule für angewandte Kunst Wien; 1997-99 Gastprofessur an der Hochschule für Gestaltung Linz; 1997-2001 im Gestaltungsbeirat der Stadt Salzburg; Autor zahlreicher Bücher, Ausstellungen zur Architektur des 20. Jahrhunderts und der Gegenwart in Österreich.