September 30, 2019

Danny Dorling in conversation with Gabu Heindl

The Spatial Dimension of the Distribution of Property and Resources

Whose Freedom? - Event series

Why is there always deep poverty near to great riches, but not necessarily such widespread poverty in those places where a small group of people are not extremely rich? What role do housing markets and policies play? Why do so many of our maps of human society appear fractal in their nature? And what happens when we start to look for social patterns in time as well as space? In what ways does history repeat? These are just a few of the questions that Danny Dorling raises in this third event of the secession’s series Wessen Freiheit?. In conversation with the Viennese architect and urbanist Gabu Heindl, possible synergies and contradictions of critical geography and approaches to radical democracy are brought into focus.

 

Danny Dorling is a geographer and currently holds the Halford Mackinder Professorship in Geography at St Peter­­­’s College of the University of Oxford. With a group of colleagues he helped create the website www.worldmapper.org which shows who has most and least in the world. His work concerns issues of housing, health, employment, education, wealth and poverty. His recent books include, co-authored texts The Atlas of the Real World: Mapping the way we live (2008) and Bankrupt Britain: An atlas of social change (2011).

Gabu Heindl is a Vienna-based and internationally active architect, urbanist, theorist and lecturer. Her studio specializes in projects on public space, exhibition design, public buildings, collective housing, and urbanism. Current research focus: radically democratic approaches in architecture and urban planning. Numerous contributions in books and journals. Most recent, co-authored publication: Building Critique. Architecture and its Discontent (2019).

 

In the context of the event series Whose freedom?
In Englisch

30. September 2019

Danny Dorling im Gespräch mit Gabu Heindl

The Spatial Dimension of the Distribution of Property and Resources

Veranstaltungsreihe Wessen Freiheit?

Warum gibt es immer tiefe Armut in der Nähe von großem Reichtum, aber nicht unbedingt ebenso weit verbreitete Armut an Orten, an denen eine kleine Gruppe nicht extrem reicher Menschen zu finden ist? Welche Rolle spielen dabei Wohnungsmärkte und Wohnbaupolitik? Warum erscheinen so vieler unserer Karten menschlicher Gesellschaft in ihrer Natur fraktal? Was passiert, wenn wir beginnen, in Zeit und Raum nach sozialen Mustern zu suchen? Auf welche Weise wiederholt sich Geschichte? Dies sind nur einige der Fragen, die Danny Dorling im Rahmen der dritten Veranstaltung der Reihe Wessen Freiheit? adressiert. Im Gespräch mit der Wiener Architektin und Urbanistin Gabu Heindl rücken zudem mögliche Synergien und Widersprüche von kritischer Geographie und Ansätzen radikaler Demokratie in den Fokus.

 

Danny Dorling ist Geograph und hat derzeit die Halford Mackinder-Professur für Geographie am St. Peter’s College der University of Oxford inne. Mit KollegInnen hat er die Website www.worldmapper.org mit aufgebaut, die dokumentiert, wer am meisten und am wenigsten auf der Welt hat. Seine Arbeit beschäftigt sich mit den Themen Wohnen, Gesundheit, Beschäftigung, Bildung, Wohlstand und Armut. Zu seinen wichtigsten – in Ko-Autorschaft herausgegebenen – Publikationen gehören The Atlas of the Real World: Mapping the way we live (2008) und Bankrupt Britain: An atlas of social change (2011).

Gabu Heindl ist eine international tätige Architektin, Stadtplanerin und Lehrende an praxisbasierter Theorie und theoriebasierter Praxis mit Sitz in Wien. Seit 2007 Architekturbüro mit Schwerpunkt auf öffentliches Bauen, öffentlichen Raum und kollaborative Bauvorhaben. Aktueller Forschungsfokus: radikaldemokratische Aspekte in Architektur und Stadtplanung. Zahlreiche Beiträge in Büchern und Zeitschriften, zuletzt: Herausgabe in Ko-AutorInnenschaft: Building Critique. Architecture and its Discontent (2019).

 

Im Rahmen der Veranstaltungsreihe Wessen Freiheit?
Gespräch auf Englisch