where do we go from here?, Exhibition view, Secession 2010, Photo: Wolfgang Thaler

where do we go from here?

Liliana Basarab, Vesna Bukovec, Petra Feriancová, Judit Fischer, Philipp Fleischmann, Nilbar Güreş, Marlene Haring, Nina Höchtl, Ana Hoffner, Käthe Ivansich, Dorota Kenderová, Johanna Kirsch, Eva Kot'átková, Gergely László, Roberta Lima, Marissa Lobo, Olivia Mihaltianu, Miklós Mécs, Christoph Meier, Anna Molska, Ciprian Mureşan, Jan Nálevka, Ioana Nemeş, Timea Anita Oravecz, Ekaterina Shapiro-Obermair, Katarina Šević, SZAF (Judit Fischer & Miklós Mécs), Adrien Tirtiaux, Jaro Varga, Anna Witt and others

Curated by Elisabeth Bettina Spörr

July 2 – August 29, 2010

where do we go from here? presents primarily new works, most of which were created specially for the exhibition, by around thirty artists. The exhibition is the latest in the “Junge Szene” series (at irregular intervals since 1984, most recently in 2003) in which the Secession offers young artists an institutional platform and international attention. Besides concentrating on “young” art, where do we go from here? emphasizes the presence of women artists and appeals in a globalized world for an awareness of Central Europe as a shared region, moving beyond tired old East/West antagonisms.